We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

East Cliff Cottage Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 200: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Booked this hotel on the 6th that weekend so I was chuffed there was availability so late & a very reasonably priced one at that. Andrew was very welcoming. We were instantly hit by the smell of log fires, mm lovely and cosy! Shown up to our room, and on the landing shown a cupboard full of speciality teas and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon B
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. I have noted your comments on the radiator - and will include instructions within the Welcome Information which we are re-writing during January. (Incidently, normally the radiators would remain at 'comfortably warm' throughout your stay - controlled by the programmable thermostat - but the batteries had failed, hence why it got too warm - batteries...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in Bournemouth. Very nice hotel and friendly owner. Room and Bathroom both comfortable and clean. Great location near to town. Also very good value for money. Would thoroughly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kinds comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Found this hotel on Hotels.com liked the reviews and the prices. I have to say we were not disappointed, from the welcome we received, to our departure this morning. Everything was excellent, in particularly, the comfortable bed and the superbly cooked breakfast. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble. We will definitely return on our next trip to Bournemouth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are pleased we were able to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely peaceful stay. Extremely comfortable beds and spacious room / ensuite. Service was excellent and wellcoming. Delicious breakfast and the young lady serving us was charming. Will definitely return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gigi m
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your kind comments about the waitress onto her. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Great location, friendly owners, clean, comfy beds, nice cooked breakfast but rooms do get cold. I've no doubt that if we'd asked the owners they would have turned the heating up. Would I go again, definitely. A good 3 star hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments. We do endeavour to keep the building as warm as possible, but you are correct, we will increase the heating if we are advised that a particular guest is cold. (We have a couple of electric heaters which we can use to supplement the central heating radiators, if necessary) We look forward to welcoming you...

Southall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

It was our 3rd year staying here for the Air show always felt welcomed by the lovely Andrew and his wife we can't wait to come back and stay there again for next year 😀 perfect location closed to everything and the breakfast cooked to perfection 😀and our lovely dog is always welcomed as well 🐶.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juditbecks
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to welcome your dog (oh, and the humans who come along with her too) We look forward to welcoming you back to the 2017 Show.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed for 8nights at East Cliffe and enjoyed the spacious superior room. It was extremely comfortable with lots of personal touches. Andrew and Kim were very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious cooked to order and lots of choice. We had a medical issue and Andrew was so kind and supportive we can't thank him enough....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you appreciated the little touches we have tried to bring to the Hotel. We are sorry that you had to visit the Hospital during your stay but glad that I was able to help. We look forward to welcoming you back for a slightly less eventful stay sometime.

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Arrived in Bournemouth and contacted Andy who is at the East Cliff Cottage Hotel to take up his last room available. (We had arrived in Bournemouth and originally booked in at the Royal Bath Hotel but checked in and out in 10 minutes as it was so poor) Thank goodness the East Cliff Cottage Hotel was there to save us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davies510
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such kind comments. The room you describe is one of our Superior Rooms, and we always get great comments when guests arrive and see it. We look forward to welcoming back on your next visit.

Marmaris, Turkey
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We were not booked into this hotel to start with ! We had arrived at original hotel only to walk out after 10mins, due to the marathon taking place we were unsure whether we would get another room anywhere. So we took to booking.com and found East Cliff Cottage, we phoned and we were lucky enough to get their last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. Luckily, due to a cancellation from one of the Marathon runners, I was able to accommodate you. We are pleased that we managed to 'redeem' your weekend and that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our breakfasts are always cooked to order and receive many good comments as a result. We look forward to...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We booked to stay here for three nights , unfortunately only managed to stay for two, the room was extremely hot with only one window for ventilation, also on a very busy road so was very noisy . On a plus side breakfast was very good , bedding and towels clean

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank darcy91
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us a review. It is a shame you had to leave early, particularly as you stayed during some of the hottest days of the summer. I am a little confused concerning your comment re. the busy road and the subsequent noise, because, as many previous reviews testify, we are very often praised on being so conveniently located...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 km away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#30 of 69 in Bournemouth
1,080 reviews
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 69 in Bournemouth
803 reviews
0.2 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#29 of 69 in Bournemouth
1,723 reviews
0.3 km away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#50 of 69 in Bournemouth
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
East Cliff Cottage Hotel is situated on the scenic East Cliff of Bournemouth just minutes from the beautiful beaches and vibrant town centre. Our combination of superior and standard rooms have been styled and characterised to provide you with every comfort possible with en-suite facilities complemented by hostess trays and flat screen TVs and wi-fi access. Our licensed restaurant offers quality home cooked food with an extensive menu to meet all tastes. The food is served by friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The bar is fully stocked with a selection of lagers, ales, spirits and minerals. Our regularly maintained garden is the perfect place to relax when the sun is out and can also be used for receptions, BBQs and family gatherings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about East Cliff Cottage Hotel

Address: 57 Grove Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $95 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — East Cliff Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your East Cliff Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from East Cliff Cottage Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from East Cliff Cottage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 3 was ours and was lovely but guess they all are”
 of 5 bubbles Davies510, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles omarsharif04, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Superior Double is Superb”
 of 5 bubbles K7538DTdarrenw, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Book early”
 of 5 bubbles druidfluid, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We had Room 1”
 of 5 bubbles TimKent_England, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay