We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Topaz Hotel

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Topaz Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Topaz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 246: English reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Booked the topaz hotel for 3 nights in the school holidays. We stayed in the family room, double bed and two singles with en suite. The room was a good size for us all the kids absolutely loved the room. Tea and coffee replenished every day. The hotel is in a great location at the top of the street there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

It was a very amazing so comfortable bed didn't want to leave the bed (ever!) it was cheap and better than expected!!Very comfy!!! And nice staff good staff, really close to town very clean and tidy!! Nice choice of coffee😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elliepersence
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Went to book a two night stay at this hotel for an anneversary trip to bournemouth. No answer from recpetion the first time but got a call back from a very rude man. Said i wanted to book a stay but when i announced i had an already pre-paid voucher he became even RUDER and announced that the hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aspencer266
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

0 out of 5. Booked for 4 nights and checked-out after 1. That bad that I didn't even attempt to secure a refund as i'm not one for flogging a dead horse and it was very clear to me that the proprietor is robbing his customers. The experience is not as advertised. Breakfast is a voucher for a local pub....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason_Goddard_303
Anne_and_AK, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Goddard, First, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had. We were very concerned with the unfortunate situation that made us unable to provide you with breakfast on your first day here in the hotel. Unfortunately, the cook had called in sick at the last...

Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We booked a superior room for two nights for our honeymoon. When we arrived we had to wait 10-15 before door was answered. We then were presented with tickets to go to local pub for breakfast every morning instead of breakfast there. Which we weren't warned about. People coming in and out like a youth hostel one bloke with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missjackson1988
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We stayed here for two nights and a very comfortable stay it was. We've visited Bournemouth a few times this year, usually staying in Eastcliffe, but this time we decided to stay in Westcliffe and so glad we did. As per other reviews, the location of this B&B is excellent; short walk to a variety of pubs and restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hendricks14
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The best thing about the Topaz is the location - in a decent area a short stroll from the beach, pier and surrounded by pubs and restaurants. It's also a short walk to Poole Hill where you can catch buses to the train station and Poole (handy for the various pleasure cruises you can take from there). The Hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemec79
london
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

So my partner and I have just spent a long weekend at the Topaz, we were welcomed very warmly by the landlady and shown to our cosy ensuite room Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with loads of variety Good location for exploring Bournemouth and surrounding areas

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janinedLondon
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed this weekend Friday- Sunday. Firstly the car parking area was very tight and hard to park. We then went into reception and found the manager/owner very quiet and rude, barely spoke a word unless it was about the keys. Went into the room, very small, TV was too low so couldn't watch it in bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany A
Lincolnshire England
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

We visited the Topaz recently. Very warm friendly welcome. We had a double room which also had a single bed. Bed was quite hard for me really so not very comfortable. The bathroom was very small and taps leaked. Shower quite temperamental . We also found that on our second night the noise from another room ? Next to ours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fluffyberg

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.2 km away
The Balincourt
The Balincourt
#18 of 133 in Bournemouth
197 reviews
0.0 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#82 of 133 in Bournemouth
148 reviews
0.0 km away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#60 of 133 in Bournemouth
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#45 of 133 in Bournemouth
197 reviews
0.1 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#93 of 133 in Bournemouth
282 reviews
0.2 km away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 133 in Bournemouth
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $183 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Topaz Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay!”
jenira2016, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back of property would be away from road noise, especially if opening windows at night.”
lemec79, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms I've seen are good, they have many rooms to suite different people's needs.”
j36821, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel”
R1945FBians, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“do not stay in the small double as the ensuite is very small especially the ensuite”
LisaW955, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates