We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fairmount Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Fairmount Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Start your review of The Fairmount Hotel
 Click to rate
Wellington
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I'd have rated this place a 3.5/5. As others have stated beforehand, it's a budget hotel and it served its purpose fine for what we wanted. We were in Bournemouth for a show at the BIC and so location to bars / the BIC / seafront is perfect. We literally only wanted somewhere to get our head down after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
TheFHB, Manager at The Fairmount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, Thank you for taking time to leave your kind review. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards The Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Get what you paid for well slightly less really Noisy as in 1980's single glazed windows road noise and paper thin walls and floors mean you can hear people in next rooms just talking stomping slamming doors If you want a decent sleep do not stay here No heating in my room Wifi awful password stopped working after midnight Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mole I
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for business, was at an exhibition at the BIC. For the price it was amazing value for money and in a great central location. Guys on reception very helpful and friendly. We didn't have the breakfast on offer so can't comment on that. Bed was a little uncomfortable after the second night but we paid £25 a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn_L_1988
TheFHB, Manager at The Fairmount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martyn, Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in one of your future visits to Bournemouth. Kind regards The Manager

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. Customer service was not great but we loved the room..very homely and comfortable. Enjoyed the stay massively and would definitely stay again. Could not fault this hotel. The rooms are very nice and facilities up to standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloehanham21
TheFHB, Manager at The Fairmount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chloe, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon and we will try hard to improve our customer service to reach perfection. Kind regards The Manager

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Looks like the perfect hotel for friends/stag/hen parties but don't be fooled!! We didn't realise we were loud when we came home after our night out, the night staff worker came into our room and screamed at us and demanded us to leave at 5am in the morning without a warning- if we knew we were being loud we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djeeeby
TheFHB, Manager at The Fairmount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear djeeeby, Thank you for your review and for giving me the opportunity to mention a few things you omitted, I'm sure by oversight. Firstly, I need to remind you that the night porter did caution you to keep the noise down. He did so before you left for your night out, at 23:22pm. Your response to him was "why...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This has no right being classed as a hotel and a 3* one at that...this is a hostel. It is dated, drab, dingy, dirty & is in need of a massive refurb! The only positive was the towels and the bedding...they surprisingly... were very clean. There was no hair dryer, no safe, no wardrobe, only a few coat hangers on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
TheFHB, Manager at The Fairmount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Isabel, Thank you for your review. I'd like to explain the hotel's position and clarify some points. In none of our listings online do we advertise wardrobes, chairs, safes or drawers, or a luxurious bathroom. Our listing on the booking agent's website you used to make your booking has photos to show what our rooms look like. Nowhere is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Booked the room on booking.com for £21, they claimed to have cancelled it and then wanted £41. Cancellation came through after that. Looked a bit grotty. Receptionist/barman uninterested, though not rude. Best avoided

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
TheFHB, Manager at The Fairmount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you for your review. The room you booked for your stay in February was an advance purchase room. This means payment for the room is taken at the time of booking, not upon arrival. Our pricing policy is the same for all bookings, all rooms, for all booking agents. Your booking was made through a booking agent...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Good points: friendly staff. Right in the centre of everything. Literally a few minutes from the beach. Comfy and clean beds and room. Bad points: shower door was broken. I genuinly think the walls are made of cardboard! We could hear voices from reception as we was on the ground floor. Aswell as hearing all the noise from the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
TheFHB, Manager at The Fairmount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack Thank you for your kind review. I'd like to address some of the points you made as they might lead to misinterpretations. You mention that you could hear the noise from the tv and the people in the bar area, yet it doesn't make sense to you why the bar closes early on weekends. The reason is exactly...

Reviewed 23 December 2016

We wanted a cheap family room, and that's what we got. Clean enough, bed room and shower room/ toilet. Towels and coffee facilities provided. Served Its purpose admirably. Staff friendly. Walls thin! It wasn't"average" it was good, but not perhaps very good. TripAdvisor rating make it seem worse than was..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a hen party myself and two friends were the mature ladies of the party so we had a pleasant enough room on ground floor that had 3 v small beds in but it served its purpose just for two nights this isn't a family hotel purely just for hens and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie9463

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 km away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#58 of 68 in Bournemouth
291 reviews
0.1 km away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
458 reviews
0.4 km away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Trouville Hotel
The Trouville Hotel
#45 of 68 in Bournemouth
509 reviews
0.5 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
456 reviews
3.2 km away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#45 of 144 in Bournemouth
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fairmount is a hotel located at a central location in Bournemouth, only 5 minutes' walk from the beach and town centre. We offer affordable, clean rooms, which are perfect for a wide range of travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Fairmount Hotel

Address: 15 Priory Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $44 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Fairmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Fairmount Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms are noisy in morning as you have to sleep with window open as no air con/ fans”
 of 5 bubbles johnoZ9289AE, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good for groups”
 of 5 bubbles 87lucindab, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 759billyl, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles DaveA70, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Downstairs is quieter than top floor?”
 of 5 bubbles Naanaberry, 20 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5