We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Riviera

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Riviera
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 249: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Riviera
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We spent 1 night at this B&B and we have enjoyed our stay. Staff members were friendly and helpful. Our room was not that specious in size, but good value for money. Very clean and tidy. Breakfast was delicious. Location is convenient and views are excellent. Overall old building, but maintained well.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A nice hotel, well situated for the Beach and all amenities in Bournemouth, a five min walk down the zigzag path and you are on the sand.... Car parking was a bit tight but leave your car at the hotel and walk !!

Thank alanhicks2016
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has been under new management the second time in 6months . New owners are biplan group and it is managed by a Latvian family. Reviews before October 2016 should be ignored. The manager and receptionist are very friendly. The chef who prepares breakfast has been at the hotel for years. Sadly they haven't got the rest of the...

Thank Christine W
Management response:

Hi Christine. First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback about our hotel. I'm really sorry that we didn't meet your expectations about dinner. We had very good feedback's on this from all previous guests. At the moment, we decided to return to the original evening menu, which is prepared by Mark, who has been at...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not knowing what to expect when we booked, we were quite surprised. Put into room 1 a little noisey from the kitchen below, but knew it wouldn't last into the night. Went to have a shower and no matter what I tried I couldn't get the water hot. I thought oh well only here 1 night. Whilst in the bar...

1Thank Sally T
Management response:

Hi Sally. We really appreciate that you left such a positive feedback despite the problem with the boiler, which affected your stay at our hotel. I can confirm that it has now been replaced by a new one. Kind regards, Alex

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in room 8, which has amazing sea views from the first floor. This is a budget hotel, so do not expect luxury, but clean and comfy bed. Breakfast £8 extra but worth it and good quality. Staff lovely, friendly and very helpful. Would stay again, as also very central to everything.

1Thank julia q
Management response:

Hi Julia. We appreciate this feedback about your stay at our hotel. Kind regards, Alex

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 1 night wish it had been longer, with family and friends. Booked superior family rooms with a sea view and was given room number 2 on the ground floor and room 7 on the first. Our room no 2 was lovely, very comfortable especially the double bed, plenty of room and bright, the shower was amazing. The best...

Thank Theighes
Management response:

Hi Theighes. We are very glad that you really enjoyed our hotel and have plans to visit us once again. Kind regards, Alex

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good position in the town. Ramp down to beach close to hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Sea view from room really was a sea view. Could have stayed longer, will definitely return. Wifi not very good on the third floor. Parking is restricted. Very good place to relax and unwind.

Thank lombardokd
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last weekend. Staff were very friendly. Room was very old and the hallway smelt of vomit. Good location. The fire alarm was tested Sunday 9 am!! I was not impressed by that. I wouldn't recommend this hotel but I wouldn't say don't stay there.

1Thank Kathleen C
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We arrived at the Hotel, which was easy to find and we were really happy to see where it was located. On a cliff with beautiful views of the sea. We checked in, family room for 4, 2 adults and 2 children boys ages (11,13). On entering the room we noticed that there was 1 double bed and 1 single...

1Thank RTB49
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights.room was a little dated but very clean and tidy with a very comfy bed. Staff very pleasant made to feel welcome.no issues with parking Will definitely stay again.thank you

Thank carperandy68

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (82)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
View from Room (19)
Room/Suite (7)
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
View from Room (2)
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.0 km away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
225 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
605 reviews
0.3 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
476 reviews
1.9 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The dating-from-the-Victorian-era hotel overlooking Bournemouth Bay is under-8-minute walk from the nearest beach and from Bournemouth International Centre conference and entertainment venue. The colourful, low-key rooms offer TVs and free Wi-Fi, plus complimentary tea and coffee. Most rooms feature bay view. Parking is free. A cosy bar and a sea-view lounge, plus a garden are all included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: 5 West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $74 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riviera staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wallingford, United Kingdom
3 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riviera staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a sea view room, on 1st or 2nd floor”
alanhicks2016, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Look before you book”
G2894CTchristinew, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 was great!”
juliaq515, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Have room with a sea view”
RTB49, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Rooms with sea views on second floor.”
angelao150, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$72* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates