We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Casterbridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Casterbridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Start your review of The Casterbridge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only booked room only as we're not big breakfast fans, but what a stunning guest house. Would have loved a bar, but that's just me. Our room was lovely, bed huge and wonderfully appointed. 2 lounges downstairs if you need to chill are delightful. I work in a hotel and a room of this quality would be about £200...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
Melvin C, Owner at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Thank you Mike D for your very kind words. This is especially gratifying as you work in the same business. And all without trying our well reviewed breakfast! Maybe next time. Thanks again. Melvin

Lenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A couple of days on business - very pleasant and well run place. Great rooms and a brilliant breakfast. In the heart of Dorchester so convenient to go out and about. Parking is across the road and round the corner so a short walk - public parking used £4 a day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Melvin C, Owner at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Dear Peter H. Thank you for your recent review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you chose us over a corperate provider as we believe staying away from home on business is more pleasant in smaller personal establishments. We hope to welcome you back soon. Melv

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here to visit friends for one night and would definitely stay here again. It was spotless with some lovely touches in the room and I was made to feel really welcome and not at all awkward about being on my own. Great location in the town with everything on the door step. Would definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncarol2016
Melvin C, Owner at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Dear ncarol So delighted that you felt welcome and comfortable as a lone visitor, that is important to us and we are happy to recieve many such travellers on both business and pleasure. We are also happy to allow brought in food to be eaten in our dining room if lone visitors do not want to venture out in the...

East Sussex
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I think my photos speak for themselves. This is a wonderful Georgian mansion which has been lovingly cared for. When I stayed with my Mrs for a night in January it had been closed the previous week for re-decorating and new room furniture, eg new wallpaper and wall lights in the dining room. The house was radiant! Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank acoustic_willi
Melvin C, Owner at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Hi We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was good to say bye to the decorators and get back to running our accommodation for our guests. Next we need to get the orangery ready for the warmer weather ( no hurry just yet then! ) We hope you return soon. Melv

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Had a lovely room but the let down was the bathroom. The shower was really just a handheld spray on a wall fitting (which wouldn't angle) so very weak flow; the space between the wall and bath for the toilet might challenge a larger person and the towels, though fluffy, smelt of cooking oil. The bedroom got very warm but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mallika N
Melvin C, General Manager at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location great and the staff helpful. Sorry you found this about our towels, our towels go out to a laundry sevice and come back to us. The windows are easy to open and close, if you had asked a...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

A two night stay at such a charming Georgian residence. We were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome on our arrival. The room was impeccable ,and comfortable with great attention to detail shown with furniture and decor. Our bathroom was absolutely spotless with hairdryer and plentiful towels if needed. We ate dinner in the cosy dining room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaunstc
Melvin C, General Manager at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your lovely comments! Thank you for taking great notice in our decor, it is much appriceiated! We are pleased you enjoyed your eveing dinner service with us in our cosy and warm atmosphere. We hope to see you agian in the near future! Kind regards Kate

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Really lovely little place in the heart of Dorchester; on the main road within handy reach of the town centre and all local shops, pubs and restaurants. Lovely, well decorated and warm bedroom with clean soft linen and towels; plenty of Tea and Coffee too. Breakfast was good and plentiful and the staff most pleasant and attentive. Would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScranVanMan
Melvin C, Owner at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Thank you so much Scran VanMan. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Reviewed 13 September 2016

A very nice Georgian family run hotel, we found the hotel to be spotless and comfortable, we had twin beds which were very good. We had dinner the first night that also was very good, only problem was that it was closed Saturday and Sunday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
Watford
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at The Casterbridge last weekend for one night single occupancy . Found my room to be very clean and tidy had shower and toilet which were immaculate . From the start I found the staff to be very helpful and very friendly . The breakfast was exceptionally good . I would highly recommend this Hotel to anybody looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ollie O
Melvin C, General Manager at The Casterbridge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the staff, breakfast and the room helpful and immaculate! Hope to see you return again in the near future! King regards

London
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed just one night and thought this was a delightful hotel. Right on the main street of Dorchester we were able to walk easily around the town to see the sights. Our room and bathroom were immaculate and had clearly been recently refurbished. The lounge areas were very comfortable - just like an elegant private home. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
10.9 km away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
99 reviews
10.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
40.1 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range: $122 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Casterbridge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Oxford, United Kingdom
8 months ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Casterbridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Imagine all the rooms are to the same high standard. Our double was perfect for us.”
 of 5 bubbles Scouselil9, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“rooms recently refurbished --We like room 4,first floor rear and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles S9470URmikeh, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“some rooms are larger than others but all good”
 of 5 bubbles PeterfromAustralia3, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent - one has an elegant four-poster.”
 of 5 bubbles estaroma, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We slept in a room looking out over the back of the building”
 of 5 bubbles GillianA956, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5