We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
glos
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

The noise levels from the disco are just not acceptable for paying guests. Very poor attitude to customer service from the majority of the staff . Would never stay here again. Best Western you seriously need to train your staff in how to handle customers.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 996c2
Lesley A, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is most unfortunate that you have left us with this regrettable impression. Having spoken with my colleagues I understand some members of your group were unsatisfied at being refused a request for a discounted bottle of port, for being asked to remove a gun from the bar (I should...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We held a 70th birthday lunch for 30 people. It was excellent we had a room to ourselves, next to the library. The staff were excellent throughout our visit, from front of house, bar and the waiter service was excellent. Nothing was to much trouble. The food was served hot and enough for all. We had the room extended for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpw150
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We arrived from Manchester on Friday 11th December, so after a 6 hour journey we were glad to get to the Hotel. On arrival, there was nowhere to park. We had to leave the car in the middle of the car park and were advised by Reception this would be ok. Half an hour later, after my partner had gone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
Lesley A, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte R Thank you for taking the time to review BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel. I am disappointed to read your review, especially as nothing in the above your was mentioned at the time of your stay. We have car parking for 80 cars , there was car parking spaces available away from the front door, I understand...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable room. Very quiet bedroom despite Christmas party and a wedding in the hotel during our stay. Large, clean room, plenty warm enough and plenty of hot water. Décor slightly out dated.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Well positioned in relation to Shaftesbury, friendly staff and very happy with character and style of the hotel. Only critical comment made to reception was that the carpet had not been hovered under and behind the bed (lovely bed by the way!) and the power shower was too powerful for the showerhead, resulting in a lot of fun trying to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We stayed in room 15, I would not recommend it as you get the noise from the kitchen extract system and staff early in the mornings. The weather turned cold and the radiator did not work, the room got very cold, I also pointed out that the rooms could do with a better clean as there were cobwebs on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveB64
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We stayed here on a deal after staying here in 2013. This time we took our little dog which was fine. They have two dog rooms which are ok (we had room 15) but I wouldn't want to stay for too long as the room was quite small and there was an air-conditioning unit outside the bathroom window. Having said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teresaweezer
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This was our first experience at a Best Western and unfortunately I was quite disappointed. The hotel itself looked lovely from the outside - quite grand looking but on the inside it was very different. Whilst I cannot complain about the cleanliness of the hotel or the polite staff the hotel itself was very dated in décor and for want...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank luv2travel7273
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

First off I like to start with the good, the staff were great, helpful, attentive and friendly also the car parking was ample. Now to the room, on arrival the window was open which in November made the room cold and it also allowed for 5 ladybirds to find there way on the net curtains but after shutting the window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leeboy3741
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Two night stay, Friday & Saturday B&B. Staff very attentive. Clean room. Breakfast hot and quick despite a lot of guests. Room was very clean and everything worked. We were warned that there would be a late function on the Saturday night but we never heard a thing from the event or the other guests. Use of the bar during...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
1.0 km away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
381 reviews
9.7 km away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
124 reviews
3.5 km away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
397 reviews
1.1 km away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
111 reviews
1.0 km away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located right in the middle of Thomas Hardy country, this is possibly Dorset's friendliest hotel. Close to the centre of historic Shaftesbury, the hotel sits in its own grounds with its pristine lawns and surrounded by glorious Dorset countryside and the ample charms of Somerset and Wiltshire. Unspoiled, beautiful counties offering a wide range of attractions plus an abundance of rural peace and tranquility. Those not to be missed include Wilton House, Longleat, Stourhead, Stonehenge and of course Shaftesbury's very own Gold Hill. The Royal Chase is privately owned and part of a small chain of quality hotels in Dorset and Devon. Please look at our sister hotels, The Rembrandt Hotel in Weymouth and The Lord Haldon in Exeter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel

Address: Royal Chase Roundabout Salisbury Road, Shaftesbury SP7 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Price Range: $124 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shaftesbury
Shaftesbury Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel Shaftesbury, UK - Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms seem to be more modern.”
peteandbettina, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room we were given was very adequate, if the room you are offered does not suit ask for another.”
harryd366, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pack bed socks and mittens”
JonathanM495, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check out the Hotel website”
721DavidC, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“book and pay in advance for great deals on room price”
CelticPeople1, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5