We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Swanage

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

892 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Swanage
See the most recent reviews
Showing 889: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Excellent customer service. The staff were very helpful. Staying here was very relaxing. Great breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Fantastic views of the beach. Lots of restaurants and cafes to walk to.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicky M
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Now this is an old hotel, and I had afternoon tea here last October, so I knew what to expect with decor and such like. There are lots of positives about the hotel. As well as a fair few not so.. The hotel is clean, with great views across Swanage bay, The beds we had were very comfortable, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wombl
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This is an old building, which has a lot of character. We had a room on the third floor with a sea view. The room was clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant and conservatory was very good, however at breakfast time, it was not a coordinated service. There was only one person taking the orders which slowed things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Dorchester
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Firstly I must say that I am not a serial moaner, in fact I have written almost two hundered reviews on this site and this is only the third time I have given a "terrible" rating. I have written two previous glowing "excellent" reviews for here one being so good that I received a response from the management saying "what...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank InnesDorchester
Lindsay B, General Manager at Grand Hotel Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments are important to us. As you have mentioned you have very much enjoyed your previous visits to us. We take our guests comments very seriously, thererfore please could you provide me with details of how I can contact you in order that I may have the opportunity to discuss your review personally with...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

we have just returned from a 5 night break at The Grand hotel and I have to say we enjoyed very much. The room we had 103 had a superb sea view and also had it's own little balcony, the room was a nice size and was cleaned every day to a high standard. The hotel has a plunge pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John J
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here for a mini honeymoon in July. A beautiful location over looking the sea! The staff were all lovely and very friendly. Our room was comfortable, clean, had everything we needed and overlooked the sea. Breakfast was very nice and all the staff were there making sure we had everything we would like. We had one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsc2015
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We stayed for one night to attend a family event nearby. All the staff we met were friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and the bathroom good quality but a bit dated and in need of renovating. However the view from the room (207) was wonderful. Breakfast was in a pleasant airy dining room and was quickly and efficiently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Lack of staff mean you can not order bar stacks ( including a sandwich) without having preordered the night before, you can not use the pool and gym before 9 am and you can not check out before 7am. The breakfast is painful as too few staff means the service is slow and poor although the restaurant is empty! ALL...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Poppy125
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We visited for afternoon tea on a Friday afternoon. On arrival we were shown into the conservatory to a reserved table. We were immediately taken by the amazing view over Swanage Bay on a lovely sunny afternoon. The service was prompt and efficient. We were impressed by the attentiveness of the staff, politely greeting us on arrival and throughout the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 660bws
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Having just celebrated our son’s wedding at The Grand Hotel last week I can highly recommend the Grand Hotel as a wedding venue. We were lucky with the lovely sunny weather and the setting with the garden overlooking the sea was outstanding – a view hard to beat. Lindsay the general manager at the hotel was exceptional in her planning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Double 103 (23)
Viewed
Family 108 (22)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Single 102 (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
1.3 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 km away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
395 reviews
7.3 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,381 reviews
9.1 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
8.6 km away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Cabin
The Cabin
Cuisines: British, Bar, Cafe, Seafood, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: $197 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Swanage staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
28 days ago
Twickenham, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Swanage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on south side are quieter”
, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good views”
Y3791DLpeterp, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a sea view room, if you really have to stay here”
ColinW458, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a sea view.”
BobM942, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely pay a bit more for your room to get a seaview”
margaretg937, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5