We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Artist Residence Brighton

Booking.comUS$139*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Artist Residence Brighton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,055 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,034: English reviews
Start your review of Artist Residence Brighton
 Click to rate
Bisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves whilst visiting our son who is studying in Brighton. We parked our car in the underground parking in front and were able to walk everywhere from there. The staff were very friendly, our room although one of the small ones was more than adequate (the sheets were wonderful). We didn't need anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
Chichester, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

I booked a room for one night for my boyfriend and I in celebration of his birthday. From the welcome at the check-in desk, to the delicious breakfast before check-out, everything was beautifully thought out and executed by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We wished we could have stayed longer and experienced the cocktail shack/restaurant; given the outstanding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank frj92
About Hotel's Favourite Review
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Fleur and Dan, Thanks so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your birthday stay with us. Come back and see us again, and of course next time you will have to try the restaurant and bar! Best Wishes Tara, Lucy & The AR Team

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My friend and I recently stayed at The Artist Residence for 3 nights and it was fantastic from start to finish. The location is perfect; near the front (our room had a favour view), shops, bars and restaurants. The room itself was great; we went for the top floor triple occupancy, and it was ideal for a girls weekend. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMeh0609
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us such a great review, Really glad you have enjoyed your time away with us! All the best Tara, Sophie, Moni and the AR Team

Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay in this characterful comfortable hotel. Great location for town and seafront. Parking nearby. Wonderfully imaginative decor in my spotless well appointed competitively priced room. Thoughtfully stocked minibar and in-room tea/coffee/snacks. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McCourtie
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Hi McCourtie, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review, We really like the way you have described us, characterful and comfortable is just what we are!! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best Tara, Sophie, Moni and the AR Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the cocktail lounge with friends on the start of a night out. All staff were very friendly, I asked for a recommendation for my tastes and the bar staff got it spot on. Great atmosphere and great drinks. Would visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wolfie-boo
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Wolfe-boo, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We pride our selfs here on our cocktail knowledge and drinks selection, We look forward to having you back. All the best Tara, Sophie, Moni and the AR Team

uk
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just the best, wonderfully welcoming staff, gorgeous quirky (in a good way) room, we loved the cool retro music playing on the cute Roberts radio when we arrived. Comfy beds,and the loveliest bathroom with great shower, and gorgeous toiletries. We stayed for tapas which were lovely and the breakfast choices were yummy, including pancake stacks with blueberries, or scrambled eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pudding1979
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Pudding1979 Thank you for your great review, we're so glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed not only our rooms but also the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe with grandchild too :-) All the best, Sophie, Lucy, Tara, Moni and the AR Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the best time here, ALL THE STAFF were happy, cheerful, polite and always happy to help. Food was amazing and delicious and cooked on the spot once you ordered totally fresh. The rooms were immaculate tidy and clean. And the cocktail bar is an amzing experience there are so many different cocktails to choose from. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derrick M
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Derrick M Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and we are so pleased you had such a good time. We really appreciate all you fabulous feedback and hope to see you again soon. All the best, Sophie, Lucy, Tara, Moni and the AR Team

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quirky room perfect for Brighton clean and comfortable loved the decor and the sea view . breakfast was amazing , the cocktail bar was great would have loved to eat in the restaurant but unfortunately had prior arrangements but will certainly try next time we visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally3699
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Sally3699 We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you. Really pleased you enjoyed the food and the cocktails too - I have passed these compliments on and the staff were so happy to hear your views. Look forward to seeing you again! Best Wishes Sophie, Lucy, Tara, Moni and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for just one night (unfortunately) over the May Bank Holiday and fell in love with the place. It has a great location just a few minutes walk from the station and 2 minutes from the beach. We were greeted by really friendly staff and although the room wasn't ready (as we got there before lunch) they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthewdeboise
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear matthewdeboise Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and all your very complimentary comments. We're so happy you had such a great stay with us. Really pleased you enjoyed all our little touches, we do try our best as we agree, its also about the small detail. Hope you had a fabulous birthday and hope to see...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent two nights at the hotel for a special family birthday celebration weekend and had a great stay. Our room was the bunk room B4 in the basement which was cosy and reminded me of being in a train with little curtains closing off each bunk bed. The hotel was funky, friendly and very clean. We would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oxfordutd28
ArtistResidenceHotel, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Oxfordutd28 Thanks for the great review - so pleased you had a great time. Really great too that you enjoyed the room so much and we couldn't agree more, it's like the train scene from 'Some Like it Hot' Hopefully see you again in the near future. All the best, Sophie, Lucy, Tara, Moni and the AR Team

404 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (388)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.5 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,134 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,047 reviews
1.4 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
962 reviews
0.5 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.8 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Set
The Set
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $188 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Artist Residence Brighton staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Artist Residence Brighton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a sea-view do ask for one!”
lucyg399, 29 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are great unless you are looking for seaview room you can ask and they will accomodate you i am sure.”
, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view worth paying for”
LondonWiggies, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The grand rooms with a sea view are lovely.”
307tobyc, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room at the front of the hotel overlooking Regency Sq!”
florenceg39, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$139* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$139
PricelineUS$139
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates