We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Courtlands Hotel

2.3 km from Brighton centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
{"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 445: English reviews
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Working in Hove for the week and needed a hotel with a car park. If you know anything about the area you will know it is very very hard to find a hotel which offers parking. The criteria for the hotel search this week were "does it have a car park?" This was the only hotel with one and based...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a super review, one of the best and so detailed. Needless to say we are very much hoping you will be able to visit the City again before too long, either for business or pleasure but either way, please book direct. Apart from securing you a great rate, as you rightly say the car park will be complimentary We...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A shabby hotel offering low quality food. Well positioned on The Drive close to the seafront but lacking in atmosphere, not a place at which I would want to stay too long. Bump into the owner and it becomes a Fawlty Towers experience

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve E
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

With no substantive details of when this individual may have stayed, even a room number, we are at a complete loss. Chef Gregory is rightly up in arms about what appears to be some throw away remark - did this guest even eat at the hotel? Also, we have no idea about what they are talking about in terms of...

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Unfortunately nearing mid-night our car broke down after leaving Newhaven, our breakdown company sourced this hotel. While I dealt with the recovery truck my wife booked us in, the night porter gave me our room number and I went to join my wife who I found wandering the corridors looking for our room, by this time it was 1.30am, we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank max s
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Apart from the important fact that this alleged reservation was in early 2016 [so why the delay if this guest felt as strongly as they are now suggesting] we have no idea what they are talking abut - example our car park is in the best of order From our reading of the situation these so called guests suffered a...

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We usually pick 4 or 5 star hotels but this was close to where the kids have just moved and so we went with this one. We were not disappointed. We went with the executive room which had a large comfortable bed and lovely bathroom with jacuzzi. The room had large windows which opened (always a plus !) The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustPosh
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review - an early Christmas present to be sure! As you rightly say the Courtlands is a traditional seaside type hotel sitting contentedly along The Drive. We were so glad your stay hit all the right notes. With your family now in the area, hopefully we can see you again as you were delightful...

Reviewed 11 December 2016

Stayed here one night with my partner in December. Very quiet hotel, was out of season. You have to pay £10 extra if you want to use the car park. Although the web site quotes 'free WiFi and parking'. Never mind! Anyway the Wifi worked and was fast enough. Room was a bit tired, bed hard and shower an antique...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl O
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

In thanking you for this review, the hotel website makes it clear we hope that parking is free for those patrons booking direct. As you came to us through a well known online travel agent, a charge is payable Overall we were glad you felt the hotel offered value for money and hopefully we can see you back in the...

london
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I did not like this hotel I'm afraid. Stayed there because of location but did not like it as very old and tired. Shame as was a lovely building and probably lovely in its day. Breakfast was poor no fresh fruit and scrambled eggs seemed like they were made from powdered egg or something - strange texture. Child on reception!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank randombirdpr
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Clearly this guest made a conscious decision to chose the Courtlands [though no substantive details are provided] and as an experienced TripAdvisor contributor would have been well aware of previous reviews. As such this review constitutes no more than writing for the file We find the remarks about a "child on reception" to be unsettling as even if this were...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Worst Hotel I have ever been in! The bathroom was dirty and the shower did not function. The lift was broken. Everytime you need to print something the reception staff comes up with different prices. The kettle in the room was mouldy inside and when presented to the manager he simply said: it is not that bad!! He also took...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mcvbunny
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

We note this is a first time review. With no substantive details of the booking and an obscure "handle" we are at a complete loss. Hopefully we can reach out to this guest through the good offices of TripAdvisor so that we can find out more about their stay. We would urge them to make contact; to be clear our...

Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

After spending two weeks (whilst my flat was being renovated) in 3 various hotels, this one was by far the nicest. One hotel, which I had booked because it had better reviews, I turned and walked straight out of as it was small, dirty and noisy. When I turned up at the Courtlands I was welcomed by the lovely Lynn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquihobson
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you so much. Lynn is such an asset to the business and is of course over the moon as a result of your super kind comments The Courtlands is a traditional hotel and will not therefore be for everyone as we aim to offer something different. As we always maintain it is about the...

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived in Brighton for a day out ....parked up and decided to make a full day of it and book an overnight stay .... Booking . Com ...got the room for 75 quid no brekkie ... Our room 221 seemed to be next door to some kind of boiler room ...constant droning noise and it was stifling hot . Alas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan c
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Something of a mixed review though we were glad this guest appreciated the value for money the Courtlands provides, allied to the major advantage of a large and state of the art car park in central Hove Clearly this guest's stay coincided with some unseasonally hot and sultry weather which whilst good during the day can make for a less...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived to friendly staff, a male, however another female member of staff joined who was not so friendly. The parking was ridiculous expensive, 10 pound! And the hotel was very old and in need of renovation in our room especially which had holes in the wall, missing light shade and even a cracked tile in the bathroom. We wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gracestucker
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

This review is ridiculous I'm afraid. Parking is not a right, especially in Brighton and Hove and given the car park has very recently been fully refurbished, this makes the £10 tariff even more reasonable. With respect we would suggest these guests research what else is available in the city to see the value provided here. In any event no...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 km away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
431 reviews
0.5 km away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 44 in Brighton
529 reviews
1.4 km away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
1.2 km away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,179 reviews
1.2 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $86 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Courtlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Courtlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If after my revue you decide to try this hotel, ask to see the room before committing.”
 of 5 bubbles maxs766, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you view room first and also accessibility. Despite lifts, many rooms involve stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles mbrycestafford, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 959sarahg, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Can only say 114 OK.”
 of 5 bubbles 143davidh, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are pretty quiet as your not too close to the night life”
 of 5 bubbles baby_todge, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5