We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Imperial

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Imperial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 505: English reviews
banbury
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel was clean and quiet. We booked 2 rooms. Comfortable night and reasonable price. Sadly the TV remote didn't work in my room which was probably why it had been turned off at the wall. The bath worked Ok, but virtually no water out of the shower. In the other room no water came out of the shower. Curtains falling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caronmartin
Hants
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and the room was pleasant. It had a beautiful bay window and overlooked the street. The hotel is close to local restaurants and offers a good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TPHants
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We always like hearing from such seasoned TripAdvisor contributors and thank you so much for these kind words and for choosing the Imperial The Imperial has her own style and we like to think of her as the Grande Damn of First Avenue. Needless to say we are very much looking forward to your next visit and meanwhile please accept...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here over new years. On arrival we managed to park with their permit costing £10 a day which was great. On entering the room we couldn't believe what a state it was in. The wallpaper coming off, carpets lifting, mould in the bathroom, lights not working. I went down to reception to question this and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paige H
Allegra-Sussex, Front Office Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were sorry to read this review though one is not really too sure what this guest was expecting. They paid under £180 for a two night stay over New Year [the best value in the City we believe] and were offered two different rooms after their initial concern, ending up in an executive double with a gorgeous sunken bath/Jacuzzi...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the imperial hotel on New Year's Eve for one night, costing £130 room only. On arrival we struggled to park- very confusing parking signs. On asking the man at check in he didn't seem to understand the parking situation, telling us we can park for max 11hours. Signs say max stay 2 hours, no return within 4...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannah O
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This is clearly a disheartening review to start the New Year and seems to be as much about the Council's parking arrangements than the hotel. To be clear, any guest choosing to drive [and many do not] can street park and 'feed the meter'; buy a Council issued voucher from the hotel and park in line with that voucher or...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent one night in this hotel and had a breakfast. It is located in the heart of Hove very close to the beach. The hotel is well kept and maintained. The room is outstanding, good size, impeccably clean, with great bed and TV. Look no further if you want a hotel with great location, amazing accommodation and friendly reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _s_ujvari
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Imperial and for this super review - you were a delightful guest. You visited us all the way from Bristol and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again in 2017. Meanwhile please accept our best wishes for a super New Year

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are regular visitors to this hotel and always find it a very pleasant stay. Lovely big room, friendly staff, great location. Merry Christmas to you all, and we will definitely see you in the summer of 2017!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobbob530
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a super review and thank you so much. You are delightful guests and in wishing you a merry Christmas too, 2017 has just gotten a whole lot better, knowing that you are coming back

kent
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I had a very good experience at Imperial, the staff were very efficient and friendly with the general enquires I had on my visit such as where was best to eat/drink around the area. The location is stunning and pretty close to the town centre, the breakfast is defiantly something not to be missed as well. Imperial, I will see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie890
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

...and a perfect review thank you Jamie. You are most welcome to stay any time and thank you so much. Have a great Christmas and see you in 2017 we hope

Province of Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 7 December 2016

. I had a very good experience at Imperial Hotel the location was really good, near to the beach and also well communicated with the city center. I enjoy a lot the time there the staff was very nice!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mercedesbenitomira
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

It was great seeing you over from Spain and thank you for your kind words and custom - you were a model guest Let's hope 2017 can see you back in Brighton. Meanwhile have a smashing Christmas and New Year

Reviewed 7 December 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Imperial Hotel very much. We had a beautiful room with sea view, which was also quite spacious and had large windows. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well. The staff at the reception was very nice and helpful. The location was great - close to the beach and convenience stores. All in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Great review Michelle and thank you so much for your kind words and for visiting the Imperial and our lovely city. It was a pleasure to host you and your friends Here's to a great Christmas and 2017!

Yarmouth, Maine
Reviewed 7 December 2016

The room was nice, viewing the water with two twin beds. Staff is very helpful having 24 hour reception. Never hesitate to ask for help from them, they know Brighton and Hove well as well as most of Sussex. The Hotel is a mere 2 minute walk from the beach. The lounge area is a safe space to socialize as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebn21
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Maine is a really great part of the States and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us from the Pine Tree State As you say the Imperial is just across the road from the English Channel and we are so pleased you liked the hotel and our lovely City. Please visit again before too long

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#34 of 44 in Brighton
425 reviews
0.5 km away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
463 reviews
1.2 km away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
1,427 reviews
0.9 km away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,155 reviews
1.0 km away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial

Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $69 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
curveskill
over a year ago
Stamford, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“showers on floor 4 not great as maybe a water pressure issue.”
 of 5 bubbles caronmartin, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try and get a room with a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles Jamie890, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have stayed in 5 different rooms - all great”
 of 5 bubbles theycallmeh13, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask or an executive room”
 of 5 bubbles 95Tamas, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on a higher floor are better, more character and away from the function room.”
 of 5 bubbles 359jarede, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay