We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Imperial

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Imperial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Start your review of Imperial
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel, ideally located near the best restaurants in Hove and by the sea (many sea view rooms) is a total bargain. The rooms are not luxurious tho' many are very grand however all have great amenities and the service is wonderful, friendly and accomodating. Do not bother with booking sites, you will get a better deal calling direct. And...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PermaForenner
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

just to say thanks to nick the general manager and all the staff room very clean and tidy , breakfast also was good and hot this hotel is in walking distance to many good locations as church st is 5 mins walk away and the lanes roughly 20 mins walk thanks to all the staff for a lovley time there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank longjohnslliver
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us from along the coast in Portsmouth and for this stellar review. You were a delightful guest and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again. We are lucky to have Nick and the team at Imperial and are over the moon that you felt able to sing their praises. It means...

Birmingham, England
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stopped here with my grandchildren while visiting family. Reception staff very welcoming and accommodating. Room was perfect, with lovely clean white sheets, plenty of room [table, chairs, dressing table etc.] Breakfast ample - children had full English and I had continental with cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and toast, but also available were Danish pastries, jams and marmalade. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Supergrantravels
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a smashing review and thank you so much. Caroline is such an asset to the Imperial and will be thrilled by your kind words. Chef Richard is also tickled pink We are very much looking forward to your next visit from Birmingham and meanwhile, renewed thanks

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Book the hotel late , really good price plus car parking , staff were really helpful and the room was really nice with really high ceilings ,nice bed and a classic feel to the space ,we really like that. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best and the young lady was really helpful There is a fab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Love this and the fact you will be back from along the coast in Chichester. There can be no higher honour for an hotelier than that of a returning guest Alvis and his team really do try hard and whilst the Imperial can trace her heritage back over 100 years, she still has plenty to offer in terms of delivering...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is basically a Bed and Breakfast as it no longer does evening meals but the rooms are clean well serviced and the staff are attentive. On street parking between 6pm and 8:00 am good breakfast available and wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you for this no nonsense review and for choosing the Imperial Hotel. As you rightly say we only provide breakfast which is a reflection of the excellent choice of cuisine available locally and what our guests were telling us Hopefully we can see you back from Nottingham before too long and meanwhile, thanks for your kind words and custom

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this comfortable hotel and was impressed by the friendly and efficient staff. Caroline on reception deserves a special mention. She was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Would definately come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidpbuttons
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a lovely review thank you.....we love your "handle" too which has made us think [and want] chocolate buttons! We thought you were a delightful guest so hopefully we can see you again before too long. Meanwhile renewed thanks

banbury
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was clean and quiet. We booked 2 rooms. Comfortable night and reasonable price. Sadly the TV remote didn't work in my room which was probably why it had been turned off at the wall. The bath worked Ok, but virtually no water out of the shower. In the other room no water came out of the shower. Curtains falling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caronmartin
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Having visited both rooms where a tariff of just £45 per room was paid I believe the Imperial delivered value for money Of course we are sorry these guests did not feel their stay hit all the right notes but having tested each shower both the pressure and temperature seemed consistent with what one would expect. In winter especially we...

Hants
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and the room was pleasant. It had a beautiful bay window and overlooked the street. The hotel is close to local restaurants and offers a good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TPHants
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We always like hearing from such seasoned TripAdvisor contributors and thank you so much for these kind words and for choosing the Imperial The Imperial has her own style and we like to think of her as the Grande Damn of First Avenue. Needless to say we are very much looking forward to your next visit and meanwhile please accept...

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here over new years. On arrival we managed to park with their permit costing £10 a day which was great. On entering the room we couldn't believe what a state it was in. The wallpaper coming off, carpets lifting, mould in the bathroom, lights not working. I went down to reception to question this and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paige H
Allegra-Sussex, Front Office Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We were sorry to read this review though one is not really too sure what this guest was expecting. They paid under £180 for a two night stay over New Year [the best value in the City we believe] and were offered two different rooms after their initial concern, ending up in an executive double with a gorgeous sunken bath/Jacuzzi...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the imperial hotel on New Year's Eve for one night, costing £130 room only. On arrival we struggled to park- very confusing parking signs. On asking the man at check in he didn't seem to understand the parking situation, telling us we can park for max 11hours. Signs say max stay 2 hours, no return within 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah O
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This is clearly a disheartening review to start the New Year and seems to be as much about the Council's parking arrangements than the hotel. To be clear, any guest choosing to drive [and many do not] can street park and 'feed the meter'; buy a Council issued voucher from the hotel and park in line with that voucher or...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
431 reviews
0.9 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
1,462 reviews
0.5 km away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
225 reviews
2.3 km away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#26 of 44 in Brighton
402 reviews
0.9 km away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial

Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $71 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
curveskill
over a year ago
Stamford, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you want a sea view ask for it”
 of 5 bubbles PermaForenner, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the 1st floor and the rooms were nice”
 of 5 bubbles KevinW246, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“showers on floor 4 not great as maybe a water pressure issue.”
 of 5 bubbles caronmartin, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try and get a room with a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles Jamie890, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have stayed in 5 different rooms - all great”
 of 5 bubbles theycallmeh13, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5