We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Home Brighton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Home Brighton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

great place to stay , centrally located, i am aware it has had mixed reviews but it's due to reviews about a previous management. staff helpful and recommend local places to eat. ideally located. only complaint, no really a complaint but advice would be the self catering kitchen should have an extractor fan . having been disrupted twice due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lara996
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Lara and Chris, Thanks for your honest and kind response, it's important to connect with our guests and keep them happy. We do in fact have an extractor above the hob in our kitchen so there shouldn't be need for a new one, it's just making sure everyone knows it's there. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I know this place has had some mixed reviews, but I think this is because trip advisor doesn't delete reviews even if was previously a different company (which is the case here). Home Brighton is vibrant, as you enter there's a fully stocked bar with amazing draughts and great cocktails (way more than I expected for £8.99 - including hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erie12017
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for your kind response, it's great to have our guests on board with helping our reputation and improving on things suggested. We look forward to seeing you again, Kind Regards, Erin James, Shift Manager, Home Brighton.

Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cleanest hostel I've ever stayed so far. I think it's one of the most important reasons why guests choose this hostel. The staff were brilliant, especially dear Sarah is very friendly and helpful. It's central located with a nice park and shops nearby. You may have a nice breakfast and feel the home atmosphere in the communual area. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yasinguven6
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and taking the time to leave us positive feedback! The transition to Home Brighton seems to have had great, positive responses and we only hope to improve more in the future. Come visit us again soon! Many thanks, Erin James. Home Brighton.

Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay on a budget, friendly staff, great wifi and well located approximately 15 min walk from the coach station and pier. Even closer to the shops. On the downside the 3 storage metal bunkbeds aren't the most stable and can shake quite heavily when the person on top is turning/crawling about (woke up a couple of times...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dirk S
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Dirk, Thankyou so much for your review, guest satisfaction is always important to us and we are always eager to improve on anything we can. We hope to see you again soon! Erin James. Shift Manager, Home Brighton.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

He estado en otros hostales aquí en Brighton y la verdad que Home Brighton ha sido el mejor, el staff es bien buena onda y estan disponibles todo el tiempo para ayudarte en cualquier cosa (por ejemplo me recomendaron excelentes lugares para comer rico y barato, ayer necesitaba un adaptador para mi celular y solamente pregunté en recepción y la...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erick R
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Erick! Thanks for your fabulous review, it's always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and I'm glad you found our staff so accommodating and our prices fair. Come stay any time, All the best, Erin James. Shift Manager, Home Brighton.

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Let me start by saying I read some of the reviews on this page and was rather dubious about what I was letting myself in for but I must say I was pleasantly surprised. This is after all a hostel and not a 5 star hotel and I feel that some people leaving negative comments are used to more 'luxurious'...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan D
Homebackpacker, Shift Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thanks for leaving such a lovely review! We always try to make our guests feel at home and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Come and stay again soon! Best, Claudia

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Turned up to stay at Journeys to find it has closed now and new management have taken over. Wow what a breath of fresh air. its called Home Brighton and they have made loads of changes already from what it was like before. There is new door locks with swipe cards for entry it made it feel really safe. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank matbrown991
Management response:

Hi Mat, Thanks for your review. Indeed Journeys has closed and been replaced with Home brighton. We are dedicated to making sure the traveler has a good experience and working with a team to improve the hostel. It has a 200 meg fibre internet line and new swipe card door locks through out to improve security . We only accept...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a double room on the top floor for 4 nights. The lock was really dodgy and broken- We told staff about it but they didn't do much. When I booked I booked an ensuite- when I arrived it turned out the ensuite had no toilet. All the toilets on our floor were broken. So we had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Channa M
Homebackpacker, Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was such an awful one when you stayed in March. Just for the record we are a new management with a new name since June 2016. I think it is fair to say that if you came back to stay with us again you would notice a huge improvement. For example all of the...

London
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed here for pride weekend, booked an 18 bed dorm, checked in to find it was filthy the carpet hadn't been hoovered for months, it smelt like damp, and quite frankly was unsanitary. We went downstairs and asked the miserable girl on reception to change rooms, she looked at our room and agreed it was disgusting, stating that 'the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah U
Homebackpacker, Front Office Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that the stay hostel did not meet your expectations. When you stayed at our hostel it was pride week, which is one of the busiest weekends of all year in Brighton. You booked to stay in an 18 bed dorm, which was fully booked. In cases such as this one, it is almost inevitable for a...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Worst place I have ever been to the codes for the doors and security of the place was to be desired as they were written on the walls!! Upon entering the room to find it filthy with the bed linen included in this hairs all over the place stains and Christ knows what over the floors wall and ceiling! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flats515
Homebackpacker, Front Office Manager at Home Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have changed the door code system to a new one with electronic key cards, providing the building with maximum security. You did actually make us aware of the locks not working, with one of our receptionists promptly helping you guys out and fixing the problem in a matter of minutes. We are also very sorry about the...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,239 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
2,098 reviews
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 km away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#25 of 44 in Brighton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reception hours: Sun - Wed 8am - 2am Thu Fri Sat 24hrs Guests have 24-hour access to their rooms during their stay. We provide stylish backpacker’s accommodation that is centrally located just a short walk from Brighton Bus/Train Stations on the site of the old Richmond Pub which stood for over 150 years, and Pressure Point club, which was well known for hosting bands such as Radiohead, and DJs such as Carl Cox. Our vibrant social area is ideal for meeting like-minded travellers as we only accept genuine backpackers. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge area is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and comfy sofas. Brighton is exciting and vibrant with lots to offer, the beach, Royal Pavilion, North Laines for shopping and the famous Brighton Pier all within walking distance. Also nearby there are a variety of bars and nightclubs, which our staff will be happy to recommend. Skydiving, bungee jumping, beach volleyball, Scuba diving, surfing and sea fishing trips are also readily available. Our dorm beds each come with their own power socket and linen included. We also have lockers and towels available for hire. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double rooms have a large, comfy double bed. Free high speed 200 meg WiFi is provided throughout the whole building Homebackpackers is the only British hostel group to offer free pancakes at breakfast. Breakfast buffet includes: A variety of cereals. Unlimited toast and jams, honey, Nutella Orange juice Pancakes Tea and coffee We only accept bona fide backpackers at Brighton and London Home Backpackers Home Brighton Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms between 2pm and 11pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home Backpackers however; we do require that a valid photo identification is presented upon check in, Passport, I.D. card or driving license along with a credit or debit card in the same name. We will require a cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, driver's licenses, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys and towels back to reception. Late checkout or lost items are subject to charges. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests’ aged between 18 and 35 years. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old traveling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home Brighton

Address: 33 Richmond Place, Brighton BN2 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $71 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Home Brighton 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Home Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home Brighton staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Belgium
26 days ago
Newport, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Home Brighton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no lifts, ensuite room on 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles lara996, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The 2nd floor has lovely big windows.. The double rooms which I stayed in previously are nothing short of 5 star hotel standard.”
 of 5 bubbles erie12017, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“double ensuite has a massive tv and nice shower room,”
 of 5 bubbles matbrown991, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good location, easy access to train station, restaurant and bar”
 of 5 bubbles jv20162016, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Top floor. 6 bed dorms or fewer. Not fab for sleepwalkers. Don't be too picky”
 of 5 bubbles 511jessiem, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay