We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Hotel

2,427 reviews
Save
Traveller (834)
Room & Suite (484)
Dining (74)
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good40%
  • Average21%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sea view”(258 reviews)
“sea front”(218 reviews)
“ceiling fan”(44 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,427)Write a Review
Filter reviews
2,369 results
Traveller rating
637
908
515
187
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
637
908
515
187
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanlovely hotelcar parkbox of chocolatesnoisy at nightearly hoursshort breakthird floorpublic areasbrighton seafrontone night staybreakfast was excellentgood nights sleeplovely roomcomfy bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 2,369 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We booked a two night stay, great location, reception, bar and restaurant but the rooms are very tired, carpet dirty and old, dusty room and cracked tiles and mould in bathroom. Our second day no towels were left, no clean glasses etc. The room was...More

Thank Ourbreaks2018
Reviewed yesterday

Bought as a 60th Birthday treat for my sister. When sister returned from her stay at The Old Ship she was almost in tears explaining that her stay was dissapointing as she was kept awake for most of the night by others guests making an...More

Thank Dannypip
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I love The Old Ship...the location, the rooms, the beds, the bar, the food....but this time I was a little disappointed by the failure to pay attention to detail. I pre-ordered, last summer, prosecco and red wine for each room...the advertising said they'd be there...More

Thank Vince W
Response from Phil C, Phil. Duty Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Vince, thank you for your review, i am very sorry you didn't receive you extras at arrive, i will personally looking into why this did not happen.

Reviewed yesterday

We only needed a one night stay which cut down our options somewhat. I've stayed down in Brighton many times and this was the first time in The Old Ship for the reason mentioned. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite but the hotel is...More

Thank MurfTheMod
Response from Phil C, Phil. Duty Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded yesterday

Dear MurfTheMod, thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear that you feel the hotel is tired, we are try our very best to have the hotel refurbished.

Reviewed yesterday

We went for an overnight Murder Mystery evening.which was great fun. The 'wedding breakfast' was very good and we both really enjoyed our three course meal with coffee and mints. The room was very tired though, especially the bathroom - cracked tiles on floor, cracked...More

Thank Purpleray14
Response from Phil C, Phil. Duty Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Purpleray14, thank you for your review, i am sorry to hear about the issues you had. if you could please contact the hotel to let me know who you spoke to about the issues so i can find out why they weren't addressed at...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456474
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$77 - US$274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$77 - US$274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (834)
Room & Suite (484)
Dining (74)
Pool & Beach (6)
Amenities (35)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Helen5584
22 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from OSHGuestRelations | Property representative |
Hello Helen5584 , Buffet breakfast is £14.95, if pre-booked on check in discounted price is £10. This is an amazing value, as this includes tea/coffee, hot buffet and continental breakfast as well. Kind regards, Phil Duty... More
1
Vote
140mason
4 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jerryhill057 | Reviewed this property |
Not at the hotel but lots around the area
1
Vote
Nikki S
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from OSHGuestRelations | Property representative |
Dear Nikki S, Irons are located in the wardrobes. Dress code for dinner is smart casual. Looking forward welcoming you to the hotel. Kind regards, Old Ship Hotel
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12345612
Room Tips
"Take ear plugs."
Read review
"Ask for sea view?"
Read review
"Room overlooking sea"
Read review
"Any room with a sea view even it is only a glimpse"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing