We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (942)
Room & Suite (489)
Dining (74)
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good39%
  • Average21%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sea view”(271 reviews)
“sea front”(235 reviews)
“ceiling fan”(45 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,706)
Filter reviews
2,641 results
Traveller rating
724
993
576
211
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
724
993
576
211
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanlovely hotelcar parkbox of chocolatesnoisy at nightearly hoursstreet noisesuperior roomshort breakpublic areasthird floorbrighton seafrontone night staylovely roomgood nights sleep
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 2,641 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

So they let the homeless rule the world..the most disgusting sight as you come in and have to look at as you try to admire the view in the outside area...beware if you try to complain about it..in house security will come to your room...More

Thank Clive M
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

4th stay here. As always lovely place to stay. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and a lovely outside area perfect for spending and afternoon in the sun people watching. Often have live music in the afternoons.

Thank hillagnes
Response from OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded yesterday

Dear hillagnes, Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to learn, you had a fabulous time on the Terrace in a fabulous weather. All hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Reviewed 4 days ago

Avoid this hotel if you can. The room was dirty and dusty. Reported to the hotel manager and that was ignored, even I showed him the photos. There are much better hotels in Brighton than this one if you can !

Thank dxbbton69
Response from Phil C, Duty Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 2 days ago

Dear dxbbton69, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We fully encourage feedback to the hotel so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any disappointment.

Reviewed 4 days ago

the room was lovely 142 big and comfortable lovely bathroom and fan supplied as was very hot few days lovely dining room really nice seating area outside bar service slow breakfast very good would stay again staff very friendly

Thank goldwing70
Response from Phil C, Duty Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear goldwing70, thank you so very much for your review, we are all so happy you enjoyed your stay and do hope we get to welcom you back soon.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Stayed at The Old Ship Hotel on Saturday night, before we went out I wanted to have a bath, but despite running the water for a good 10minutes it never got hot! I phoned reception and was told it was an old hotel, lots of...More

Thank kazzabHertfordshire
Response from Phil C, Duty Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear kazzabHertfordshire, thank you for your review, we are very sorry about the technical issues we were having with our boiler, we did try our best to fix the issues as quickly as possible. we do all hope you will decide to stay with us...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$90 - US$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$90 - US$257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (942)
Room & Suite (489)
Dining (74)
Pool & Beach (6)
Amenities (35)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
joygi123
June 8, 2018|
Answer
Response from Gizmo_22_England | Reviewed this property |
I think you can check in from 3pm and check out is 11
0
Votes
Tondelaya123
April 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Happy2trip | Reviewed this property |
Suggest you ask the hotel.
0
Votes
263396
April 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from OSHGuestRelations | Property representative |
Dear reviewer, All bedrooms have hair dryers located usually in the middle draw of the dresser. Kind regards, Old Ship Hotel
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a sea view."
Read review
"Don't bother......."
Read review
"Go elsewhere. I cd not recommend."
Read review
"sea view but keep the windows closed as the road outside is noisy"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing