We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,896 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,859: English reviews
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

The staff at the Old Ship make this hotel go from average to very good. Everyone we encountered was extremely friendly and professional. The hotel itself is nice, if very run down in parts. Our room, (216) was a "deluxe" sea view room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the view lovely, but from a deluxe room I wouldn't expect... More 

Helpful?
Thank tipps_12
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tipps_we Many thanks for your review. It was great to see you found the team here extremely good. Kindest regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2016

What a Fantastic stay again it is a great hotel.All the staff are great especially Annabel, James, and all the rest on reception and Gillian.We had a great sea view room with views of the pier and sea the room was beautiful.We have been a few times now and all have been so Good and we will be back again... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin56sharon
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin56sharon Thank you for your fabulous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay again and look forward to welcoming you back in September. Kindest regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

The hotel was busy because of the conference. The hotel is very close to the conference centre. The room was clean but when I arrived the bathroom smelt like a urinal, however the next day the smell had gone, so I'm not sure how clean the bathroom was on my arrival. The room was comfy, the bathroom was old and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa N
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa N Thank you for your review. Im sorry the bins woke you. I assure you they are not ours but another local hotel. We have sent your feedback to them to ask to change their times. Kindest regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2016

A lovely hotel, great staff and fantastic location. Would love to stay there again. The breakfast was amazing, and so close to the sea front for an amazing view or walk. I understand it's going through renovation at the moment, and our room was one of the few that had yet to be decorated, but it was still a beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank lukecusick
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lukecusick Thank you for your fabulous review. We have currently fully refurbished around a third of the hotel in the past couple of years and redecorated the remainder. Kindest regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

Excellent !!! Staff are very friendly and polite and service is second to none We enquired about a wedding and were shown around the various rooms. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble which we have experienced in other places We are now going to have our wedding here ☺☺☺

Helpful?
Thank Meekon666
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meekon666 Thank you for your fabulous review. We are very pleased to see you are having your special day here. Kindest regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Full of atmosphere, great staff, although still going through improvement, it a lovely place to relax in. Staid there 5 nights a week for 22 months during 2014 & 15 for work and pleasure, and have been back several times since. It's old, so don't expect lots of marble and chrome of an ultra modern hotel, this is Brighton's oldest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon M Thank you ever so much for your review and recognition of the team. It is always a pleasure seeing you in the hotel and you are welome back anytime. Kind regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We had a great 2 night stay. Great location. Elegant and spacious hotel. Friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Our tea making facilities were kept in a cupboard; we stumbled across it on the last day! We're not room inspectors so didn't 'explore' the entire room on arrival. The bed and pillows were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne G
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanne G Thank you for your review. I sorry you found some shortfalls but pleased that overall you had a great stay with us. We hope you will return soon. Regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Booked a two-night stay in June,very excited to visit Brighton for the first time from New Zealand. Unfortunately my wife was admitted to hospital several weeks ago and had urgent surgery,and is unable to fly for the next few months. Have rung the hotel twice to see if we could obtain at least a partial refund but found the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianbarb371
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ianbarb371 Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed however the terms of a prepaid booking are clear, but I'm sure you should be able to recover from your travel insurance. Kind regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Guildford Surrey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a two night stay at the Old Ship. We had a refurbished deluxe sea view room and were very satisfied. This is a good value hotel as compared to some other hotels in Brighton eg The Grand. Our room was comfortable and well situated. The only drawback was the street noise from late night/ early morning... More 

Helpful?
Thank hilary5071
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hilary5071 Many thanks for your great review. Being in the centre of this vibrant city does have the drawback of outside noise at times but I'm pleased you found the earplugs invaluable. We now have full printed history of the hotel for guests to take away with them should they miss the tour. Regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Popped in about half 12 and sat out the front for a few hours. Was very busy and the bar staff, especially the younger girl with a bun and ankle boots worked well under pressure. Food was average. Small portion of salad but would return to sit out the front !

Helpful?
Thank JasmineSky L
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dewar JasmineSky L Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed sitting on the terrace. I am sorry you found the food average and will feed this back to the team. Kind regards Paul Wright General Manager More 

855 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (565)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (236)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,168 reviews
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
2,069 reviews
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $108 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Leeds, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are well worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles Graham1Kent, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“no air con in rooms just a fan, sea view rooms are the only rooms weve used but they are very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles junem808, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not seaview if you want a quiet night”
 of 5 bubbles peterbI4649HJ, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you don't get a room over Black Lion Street, you won't get any sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles JuliaP437, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade to better room,we upgraded for sea view for£10 but room was smaller than cheaper room.”
 of 5 bubbles sallypark2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay