We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Langfords Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Langfords Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 409: English reviews
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Central heating wasn't working, room cold, tried to ask lady at reception but she didn't bother to help and said use the dial which I already did. Could hear full length conversations and Intimacy in the room next door, when I ran bath water it wasn't clear, as well as shaving hair and pubic hair in the bath from last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Largehairy
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a Saturday night stay at Langfords at the last minute, and I wasn't dissapointed! Location: The hotel is situated a lovely, quiet tree-lined road a few minutes from the beach and promenade. Conveniently, I was able to park right outside. Reception: Upon arrival, I was greeted with a lovely smile by a charming receptionist. The booking-in process took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review and for visiting us from Kingston upon Thames The Langfords aims to offer value for money, straightforward accommodation with fibre enabled WIFI provided as a complimentary extra for our guests. As you rightly say, with so many great breakfast choices locally, we prefer to try and stick to our knitting as it were...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only positive I can say about this hotel is the location. It is on a nice tree-lined street and a short walk to the beach, shopping and cafes. The Langfords is a run down and dirty hotel. Maintenance and upkeep of the building is long overdue. Room was very small. Carpet and curtains were old and dirty. Window sills...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercedesbenz
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We are surprised given the apparent strength of this guests feelings they did not lodge their review earlier, rather they have waited until three months after the event With no ability to trace the guest from their obscure 'handle' we are left with the hope of reaching out to them through Trip Advisor to find out more about their stay....

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Revisited The Langfords as hoped had a wonderful weekend. Had the Quadruple room this time for our Girlie weekend which was brilliant. Recently refurbished was huge room with more than enough space for the four of us. Think we were the first in the room as we had to request lamps but apart from.this there was nothing to fault. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 713elaine1963
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you so much. The girlie weekend sounded great fun and we were delighted the Langfords could play its part. Hopefully we can see you back from Peterborough during 2017. Meanwhile, have a great New Year

Girton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here back in the summer and again this week. The staff are friendly and room adequate and very convenient. There are plenty of places to eat close by and it's not far from George Street where there are shops and it is a pleasant walk along the sea front to Brighton.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy F
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us again from the wilds of Cambridgeshire; there can be no higher honour for an hotelier than that of a returning guest Riba and her team are over the moon and are very much looking forward to seeing you again in 2017. Meanwhile, please accept our best wishes for the New Year

Aberdeenshire
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Nice but small room. Very clean. Everything we needed in the room. Only staying one night but if staying longer would probably ask for bigger room. Friendly staff roof top bar lovely and busy. Good value for money. Would we stay here again, Yes but bigger room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MojoAberdeenshire
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this no nonsense and super review. It is much appreciated, more so coming from such a prolific TripAdvisor contributor We always enjoy welcoming our guests from North of the Border and are very much looking forward to seeing you again. Meanwhile, renewed thanks

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Nice location and adequate parking. The room was ok, clean and sufficient for an overnight. The shower was ok but the towel rail was broken and hairdryer didn't work, the entrance area to the hotel spacious. The desk clerk was welcoming but wanted a £50 returnable deposit ...for what ? The lady desk clerk was not helpful in fact pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is something of a mixed review and we were sorry that your stay did not hit all the right notes. We have asked that our General Manager makes contact with you to find out more about your time at the Langfords as it sounds like a few small changes would have transformed your experience These issues notwithstanding, hopefully we...

Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Shower was too hot but not able to regulate. Health and safety hazard. Hand basin blocked. Mattress old. No hairdryer in the room and when I mentioned this I was told they were available at the Reception but nowhere was this communicated. Very disappointing stay. I'm glad they don't do breakfast as I am sure that would have been awful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julia_i_rose
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

No details of the room have been given so we are left struggling as a result. Hopefully we can however reach out to this guest through the good offices of Trip Advisor This guest is quite wrong however to make any judgment about a service which is not provided [breakfast] and we have no idea what "V&H" might be or...

Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Room was basic but clean. But in need of some repairs... I was surprised an additional £50 deposit was requested at the time if check in.... You'd expect girl to be pristine in this case!!! There was a tile missing from bathroom.. bedside lamps were tatty and broken. Paintwork and decor a bit tired. I booked last minute to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jme1967e
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This dear lady made a non-refundable booking through a well known on-line travel agent. From that site it is clear that the hotel does not offer breakfast - our guests were telling us this was not a key service - far more important was fast reliable and free WIFI Whilst we were of course sorry this patron's stay did not...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

A beautiful old building on a nice street by the water, very poorly kept up- dingy, dirty, don't think the carpets get vacuumed ever. For the price it should be a LOT cleaner. The throw pillows on the bed were disgustingly dirty. Desk staff not very friendly. The plumbing leaks. It's still a great location and a nice building but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hilaryprongs
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We were naturally sorry to read this review and while there were positives, clearly your stay did not hit all the right notes. I have asked my management team to review urgently as a result. Although you do not say which room you were staying in, hopefully we will be able to discover this information Coincidentally, I was in Vancouver...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 44 in Brighton
524 reviews
0.3 km away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
462 reviews
1.4 km away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
206 reviews
1.3 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
1,421 reviews
2.6 km away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#25 of 44 in Brighton
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $62 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Langfords Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
8 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Langfords Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room at the front, view the sea from yr window in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles 713elaine1963, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rear rooms are much quieter”
 of 5 bubbles mikeB8395LC, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear offer views of the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Rod1444, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles chilliboxer, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet therefore probably best option.”
 of 5 bubbles sheilas482, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay