We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Langfords Hotel

Expedia.comUS$76*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Langfords Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Langfords Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for my partners birthday . It's was so disappointing we left the bedroom to be cleaned and they only made the bed and put 2 new towels in . The housekeeping staff took down all my partners birthday cards and put them in a pile . Whilst removing the dad key charm out of the drawer ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We have no idea what this so called guest [we note a seemingly anonymous reviewer] is talking about. Unless requested, for short stay guests, of course the bedding will not be changed. By equal measure our highly proficient, professional and honest housekeeping team would not have troubled themselves to become involved in any guest paraphernalia as they neither have the...

Leipzig, Germany
Reviewed 11 July 2016

appreciated the style and cleanliness of our room (first floor); comfy bed, nice view and close to beach location; got good value for the money paid (rates for this place seem to vary significantly) various eateries right around the corner; staff was helpful and committed; good wifi

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EuropeTraveller69
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this stellar, no-nonsense review. It has put Riba and her team on cloud nine as a result and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again - from Germany - when your plans allow. You were a brilliant guest

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Paid £135 for a double room. Room was ok size wise but it smelt horrible, damp, old. Bed wss ok. Mucky carpets, dingy room, bathroom equally so. Seagulls very loud on window cills. Downstairs was ok, there was a bar and pool table.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate B
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We were naturally sorry to learn your stay did not hit all the right notes and hopefully we can reach out to you through the good offices of TripAdvisor Our seagulls are very much part of life in the City and they invariably prompt a reaction The Langfords strives to provide value for money and we believe that £135 for...

Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

on arrival I was dealt with abruptly told I needed to place a £50pp deposit down - which is standard but that we wouldn't get this back for 2 days! one thing to take my card details incase I damage my room but to actually take my money I didn't find acceptable - but what choice did we have!! I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mjessex2016
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Whilst we were pleased that, overall, you recognised the value for money the Langfords strives to provide, by equal measure we were sorry you encountered some issues with your stay. To be clear, there is only one working lift in the hotel [service or otherwise] which services the south part of this great Edwardian building. Love them or hate them,...

Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We were there for 3 nights in a double room. Good room size, comfy bed, nice bathroom. Our particular room also had a balcony. The hotel itself was nice enough, bar, pool table, tv showing the football, nice entrance and 24 hour reception service. We needed somewhere to stay near Brighton, and found the buses frequent and easy to hop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xandriana13
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this super review and for visiting us from Margate. Riba and her team are over the moon and very much looking forward to seeing you again The Langfords strives to offer value for money traditional accommodation and for us it is about the right guest choosing the right hotel for their particular needs. However we...

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Came with a Hen party. Got given a very hot attic room on third floor with no lift. It was a triple room but only given 2 towels. When asked for a third, it was if we had asked for something that was quite a lot of trouble and they said that they would see what the could do! We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lindsayhyde7869
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is a disappointing critique and has upset our Head Housekeeper who would want all our guests to have a plentiful supply of towels. Our website access statement makes it clear that only the south wing of the hotel is serviced by a lift and we hope the location is made equally clearly. Hove is around 20 minutes from the...

Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

This is easily the worst hotel I have ever encountered. I am embarrassed to admit the room cost me £115. Looking back, I think they should have paid me. Very tired rooms, ripped carpets, mouldy walls and bathroom. Although the area is nice and quiet, the noise between rooms and the corridor made for a poor nights sleep. STAY AWAY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David H
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This review is as unhelpful as it is disheartening and typical arm chair fare. If this guest was as disappointed as they are now alleging, the hotel would have done their best to suggest alternatives. This appears to be a highly experienced traveller and contributor so we are at a complete loss. No substantive details of their stay are provided...

UK
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I paid £90 per night for a single room and was allocated room 302. It was situated at the end of a narrow, maze like corridor and I definitely agree with the previous review. It was certainly dreary and my first impression was just grim. Fine if I was paying £50 in a hostal - the price doesn't include breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarafdaisy
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly a disappointing review. While this patron's stay may not have hit all the right notes; we must however be very clear about the electrical issue, in that all items have been properly "PAT" tested and that the over-arching 'periodic' testing - a key regulatory requirement - is adhered to strictly The hotel is very clear that there...

Reading Uk
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Needed to find a hotel in Brighton to be near The Hilton for a spa day but The Hilton was full and all the hotels we looked at were booked up on the dates we needed so ended up here. omg it was horrible the only positives were clean sheets on the beds and polite staff at reception. The towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank manager61
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This review is all about expectations - the guest chose to stay in a value for money hotel then as best as we can tell elected to benchmark it against the Hilton - there would have been plenty of other similar establishments to that well known brand so why not pay more and accessorize the experience? Why not indeed. The...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016

A good hotel which is well located just a short stroll from the beach. 20 minutes walk and you're in Brighton. Staff were friendly and really helpful. Totally worth getting the parking permit from the hotel as the parking attendants are a little trigger happy! Would recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia C
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this super review and for visiting us from the West Midlands The team at the Langfords try really hard and stellar reviews like yours make all the difference. Hopefully we can see you back before too long and meanwhile, renewed thanks for your kindness

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
543 reviews
0.4 km away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#33 of 44 in Brighton
470 reviews
1.3 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
325 reviews
1.5 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
210 reviews
2.6 km away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $96 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Langfords Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Langfords Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel is between main roads,so traffic is not heavy. Our room faced the road, but even with the window open all the time, it was not noisy.”
C705DCteresac, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor or higher to avoid noise from communal areas.”
neenaw59, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with decent cushions (good luck)”
petermG6914GS, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms should be adequate”
94seanp, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The room we had looked out onto back gardens so if you are looking for a room with a view stay away from 206”
davisp424, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$76
Hotels.comUS$76
TravelocityUS$76
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates