We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Steine Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New Steine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 578: English reviews
Start your review of New Steine Hotel
 Click to rate
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

In a good spot for buses the Pier shopping and restaurants. Hotel is clean but basic, nothing out of the ordinary. Staff polite and friendly. Only downside with the room is if you use the sink I.e. washing your hands or cleaning your teeth the water comes up the plughole of the shower. Also I left a cardigan behind and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my friend came to Brighton for a mid week weekend and a gig. This place is lovely.........Really polite and friendly staff :) The room was clean and comfortable.... all you need... towels, toiletries, kettle with tea n coffee in the room, good quality TV, sea view, light and airy. Its a few minutes walk to everything in central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank like2clife
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear like2clife, Thank you for staying with us recently and for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us and that you were comfortable during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon and please don't hesitate to contact us directly for future bookings, so as to benefit from our...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Had an awful night at the hotel caused by other disruptive guests who kept me a awake all night. To be fair to any hotelier, you cannot do much to stop guests like that booking, but what you can do is deal with the problem quickly and ask those guests to leave rather than allow other guests to be disrupted....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wingerii
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wingerii, Thank you for staying with us recently and for your feedback. We are sincerely sorry that your quality of sleep was disturbed by the inconsideration of some of our other guests during your stay. Please rest assured that our night staff did their very best to control the situation at the time and we can only apologise that...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel says there is parking. I checked in on a Friday night and was told there was parking on the road and given a permit costing £8. I could not find off street parking within a one mile radius and covered by the permit after having driven around for an hour. I have breast cancer and was extremely exhausted....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aly D
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aly D, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you were not able to fulfil your booking with us on this occasion. Please note that the hotel is not directly responsible for the lack of available parking in Brighton. Unfortunately parking has always been difficult in the city and as an attempt to provide options for...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay...we live only 20 miles away, but thought we would live it up a bit in Brighton...we went to the Dome for the university of Brighton's graduation ceremony which was delightful...we visited the Royal pavilion in the afternoon, took tea in the tearooms overlooking the gardens and finished our visit with a wonderful meal at 'mushi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coinneach1957
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Coinneach1957, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and it is a delight to see that you enjoyed both your visit and our beautiful city so much. We hope that you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you again one day. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly if you would like to...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

very pleasant meal. we were not staying at the hotel, but the food was excellent. décor was ok, a bit functional. the staff were friendly and polite. portion sizes were ok. maybe because the food was so nice you're just left anting a bit more

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david h
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear david h, Thank you very much for dining with us recently and for sharing your thoughts here for others. Your feedback has been passed onto our chef for future observation and we look very much forward to seeing you again one day. Kind Regards.

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

The room we stayed in was very worn and dated. The shower was very low powered, sometimes had no hot water, and also decided to change temperature - but all that is to be expected on such an old shower unit. The toilet was stained brown, and in need of a proper clean; the window was jammed and very hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacob S, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay and we are sincerely sorry to hear that you found so many misgivings with your room. Whilst we can appreciate that the blinds were obviously already in our attention, it is a pity that you did not report the remaining issues to our management team, especially...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Not sure why this place has two names (also known as Gullivers), led to unnecessary confusion when I arrived. I had a tiny single room the first night facing the street, but the scaffolding outside did not bode well. After a long journey I wanted to take a little nap, but with the noise outside and the constant slamming of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob J, Thank you for staying with us recently and we are sorry to hear that you were not wholly satisfied with your visit. Please note that the Gulliver's Hotel, although under same ownership, is a separate establishment and better classified as our 'sister' hotel. We are sorry to hear that there was disruption caused by the scaffolding outside...

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We visited in January the price was very good.We very much enjoyed our rooms,which were surprisingly clean but seriously bril bril.They have amazing breakfast, it has been a longtime since we have not such a tasty fry up.The service. Was exceptional from the waiter's and all hotel staff can only recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachidBI
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RachidBI, Thank you for staying with us recently and for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff were able to make you feel well taken care of. We hope that you had a safe trip home and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again one day...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We had made our reservation at The Gullivers Hotel but were placed in the sister hotel The New Steine. Don't know why but not complaining. It's a good location, was clean, which is a good plus. We were placed in a room very near the front door, which meant rather a lot of noise throughout the night, but providing we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JFL1968
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JFL1968, Thank you very much for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel as your place of residence during your visit to Brighton. On occasion when the hotel is less busy, we often like to upgrade our clients to our sister hotel next door and we are happy that this upgrade was appreciated on this occasion. We do apologise if there was...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.1 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.0 km away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#74 of 97 in Brighton
279 reviews
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#40 of 97 in Brighton
233 reviews
1.3 km away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 97 in Brighton
596 reviews
0.3 km away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#29 of 97 in Brighton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $95 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Steine Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from New Steine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was at the front of the hotel and we heard very little noise.”
233francesg, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid single room facing the street”
RJonesy_78, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the front door !!”
JFL1968, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Luxury prices but at best Mid-range”
earley61, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with sea view”
swills503903, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5