Legends Hotel

Legends Hotel

Traveller (472)
Room & Suite (176)
Legend's Bar at the Legends Hotel
Dining (54)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#11 of 46 hotels in Brighton
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Legend is superbly located along the seafront, close to Brighton Palace Pier. The property is finished to the highest standards. Breakfast is served from 7.30am-11.30am and we offer a great daytime menu and a delicious Sunday Roast. Our well appointed Terrace is the perfect place for a drink and watching the world go by. We cannot wait for you to visit
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Entertainment staff
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Evening entertainment
Patio
Nightclub / DJ
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish, Portuguese

Location

31-34 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1TR England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Gatwick Airport
37.3 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
75.9 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,290 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Legends Hotel enjoys a prime location that guests often commend, though the compact size of rooms and noise are sometimes drawbacks. The amenities, including the cleanliness of rooms and available entertainment, receive positive feedback, despite occasional parking and elevator complications. Many guests describe the service as friendly and efficient, yet there are instances of unprofessional conduct. The vibrant atmosphere, amplified by music and an on-site that guests often enjoy, contributes to the hotel's lively vibe. However, some travelers question the value for the price, citing overbooking and room quality concerns.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,290Review26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 786
  • 293
  • 105
  • 41
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Laura The Explorer wrote a review Jun 2021
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Brighton. I booked a sea view room and asked specifically for a room where the bed wasn't up against the wall so there was room on both sides. That is exactly what we got and I enjoyed the view every single day. Looking right out at the pier. No noise issues whatsoever even though our room was on the road side and had the window open all night and the bar was open until 3am.
Check in and out was super easy and efficient and the location of the hotel was perfect for the pier and ideal for walking to the Lanes and local restaurants (about 15 mins).
I adored the style of the room and especially the shower with an overhead shower head. Super clean and very stylish.
Can't fault the hotel at all. Breakfast slightly pricey but very good quality fry up so worth at least one try.
Parking is the only thing we struggled with as Brighton isn't great for leaving your car for a long stay. The hotel offers parking permits for the streets around the hotel but only if you can actually find a space (if early morning it should be doable). £12 for 24 hours but I'd suggest maybe parking part time at the pier parking area along the beach front. Can pay via app and track it better and its often cheaper. Worth planning parking before you get there though.

We would 100% go back to this hotel if we revisit Brighton again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plan parking before you arrive.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hugh Cole, Owner at Legends Hotel
Responded Jun 20, 2021
What a super critique and thank you so much; we are very much looking forward to your next visit. The view really is something else As ever in a busy City parking can have its moments; we offer vouchers under the Council approved scheme to give our customers another good option
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick S wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely warm welcoming hotel in in the lovely part of Brighton on the seafront with easy transport links by taxi or the number one 12 to 12A or the number 27 bus which drops you off just outside the hotel with a few metre walk to the hotel front steps there is a lovely terrace area which is spotlessly clean the staff of very expensive and the drinks keep on flowing.
We paid £60 for a back room which was spotless but I don't think I would have paid the usual asking price of £110 just because there is not a view to see.

Breakfast is £10.50 with a great selection of products tea coffee toast cooked breakfast or a toasted sandwich.
I would have liked to see a option just for a sandwich song you didn't have to pay for the whole £10.50 just for a sandwich.

If you can get the hotel at a perfect price it is great but other than that have a great time
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hugh Cole, Owner at Legends Hotel
Responded Sep 4, 2020
We appreciate your kind words and loyal custom. Chef is over the moon and whilst we like to think our breakfast offers decent value for money, we do appreciate your remarks as we are always looking for ways to be even better. Guests can choose from our City view rooms over the historic roofs tops of Kemp Town or seaward facing. As ever with hotel accommodation, we operate in the most transparent of markets with our pricing being governed by supply and demand. Hopefully we can see you again before too long; renewed thanks meanwhile
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Karly H wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel, friendly staff,would 100 percent recommend,good prices,close to Brighton pier and sea.
We will be returning again this year.
Comfy rooms and you get free breakfast and WiFi included in the price of your stay
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kayleigh A wrote a review Aug 2020
Shifnal, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Parking: Hotel was easy to find right on the seafront, parking was a nightmare, as was the main road. We got there around 10:45-11:00 and it was already bedlam, and didn’t change much until late evening , but we were aware of this beforehand from previous reviews, but did manage to find a space after we drove round the streets a few times luckily. It was £11 a day parking on New Steine which was a 2 minute walk to the hotel, and could pay by phone/App to extend it if needed and could stay for 2 weeks so more than enough for a short stay.

Check in: Check in was fine, got given all the information we needed about the hotel with no problems and was given complimentary tea and coffee given to us to take up to the room which was individually packaged so fresh for each stay/person rather than restocking the room.

Room: We were in room 401, which was on the fourth floor and had a partial sea view and of the terrace on the building next door, but I did like the view as was able to see the sea and pier as requested. Was quite a small room, but was clean which in my view is the most important thing certainly in the current climate! It had a Kettle, iron & ironing board, mugs and some plastic cups in the room which we liked as my partner was able to iron his shirts before we went out. Shower was lovely as was a rainfall style shower, however the temp did take a bit of time to warm up sometimes and kept fluctuating hotter and colder slightly while it was on, particularly in the mornings I found. TV was located on sidewall of room, good choice of channels and radio channels, which we used more when in the room as due to the weather the TV kept dropping in and out. We slept well the first night and the bed was very comfy, but didn't sleep very well on the second night.
With it being a Friday night, could hear people from the street particularly at closing time from the bar downstairs and others passing the hotel talking and shouting having got back to the room at around 1 or 2 am ourselves, which we understand you get anywhere but as the window was only a single pane old sash window, it was like it was open as could hear everything from the street and as it was particularly windy it was howling through. Also there was a large gap underneath the door to the hallway so caused the door to rattle in the wind and we had to block the gap with towels and prop suitcase against the door to block the light out to try stop the rattling and managed to get some sleep when the wind died down a bit.
Location: Was a great location, central to everything being no more than 15 minute walk either side and being right on seafront so was perfect for us. Not too far either if going by train to save the mentioned hassles of parking which isn’t the hotels fault.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again, and hopefully try the bar next time as didn’t get chance to. Thanks Legends hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hugh Cole, Owner at Legends Hotel
Responded Aug 26, 2020
Thank you for visiting us from Shropshire and for this detailed review. Naturally we were delighted to read you will be back. The weather over the last few days has been blustery and being on the seafront, the hotel is very much in the front line but balanced against some magnificent views
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J Kay wrote a review Sep 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On first appearance this hotel seems good. The staff were friendly and the bar area is always busy. However, our room was so small, we only stayed for a weekend so didn’t have a lot of stuff but we were falling over our suitcases and each others things the whole time because it was just too small. Also, the room didn’t look like the pictures so we were disappointed!
My main concern was with the cleanliness of the room, as everyone is focusing on making sure everything is clean and disinfected for Covid I was really disappointed to see dusty surfaces and around the sink in the bathroom wasn’t clean. You could tell the room had been cleaned very quickly (i.e. beds changed) but the main things people touch hadn’t been cleaned.
The location is okay, almost across from the pier and 10 minutes walk from the lanes. If I was to visit Brighton again I would try to stay closer to the lanes as I preferred that area but that’s just personal opinion. Parking in the whole of Brighton is a nightmare but the hotel do have permits for £12 a night if you can find on street parking nearby which is a reasonable price for Brighton.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hugh Cole, Owner at Legends Hotel
Responded Sep 13, 2020
We were sorry to read this review, more so given our strong focus on ensuring a clean, safe and compliant hotel. Regrettably we cannot discern which guest/room from this critique but hopefully we can reach out through the good offices of Trip Advisor I hope we are clear about our different room types; offering cosy accommodation up to our lovely superior rooms. Again once we have identified the room in question we can comment more fully. It is not clear if the concerns detailed here were raised with Reception which would have allowed swift action to be taken
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Htafesse wrote a review Aug 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel! Legends is in a brilliant location, literally a few mins walk from the beach. Staff were super friendly and welcoming. Legends breakfast is definitely good value for money, and it was lovely to have breakfast outside with a beautiful view of the beach. Room was small but very clean and had everything you would need for a comfortable stay. We were also a bit worried about parking, but there was lots of street parking available for a reasonable price. Would definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hugh Cole, Owner at Legends Hotel
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Thank you for this lovely review. We are thrilled you would definitely come back and are very much looking forward to your next visit. As you say the hotel commands a great location. Both Chef Frank and Simon are over the moon with your feedback
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allan G wrote a review Oct 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a standard single room, turns out to be a disabled access room, the basin is very Small and low, has no hot water plumbed in, making it difficult to wet shave or even in these Covid times, no hot water to wash your hands Properly!! No mirror above either making it difficult to shave and put contacts in. Wet room, so bring your flip flops unless you enjoy paddling when you go to the toilet.
The room was cold and I couldn’t turn the radiator on.
I’m writing this at 2.15 as I am still awake due to some building work being done on the floor below, drilling and banging etc. That is loud enough to prevent me from sleeping.
Eventually Managed to get some sleep....until just before 7.00 when the drilling started again along with doors slamming, worst nights sleep ever in a hotel.

Breakfast was not worth the money, even at the reduced cost of £10 when booked in advance, bacon, eggs and mushrooms like rubber, hash brown swimming in oil and everything so hot, I believe it must have been re-heated in a microwave, I’ve never burnt my mouth on a mushroom before.
Sorry guys, not sure why my stay was so different from all your 5 star reviews, I’m extremely disappointed 🙁
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hugh Cole, Owner at Legends Hotel
Responded Oct 11, 2020
This is a clearly upsetting review and we were truly sorry to learn you had such an underwhelming experience. Whilst all our standard single rooms were booked - which included the accessible room you were allocated [much larger than the rest] it is not clear if you let Reception know of your concerns once you had seen the room. They would have done their level best to see what other options may have existed Chef is equally disappointed, especially as no microwaves. Again it is unclear if you let your server know you were not happy with the quality - the kitchen was not busy so we could easily have presented a new platter and in so doing avoided your leaving the venue feeling even more disgruntled
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mick J wrote a review Sep 2020
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Legends Hotel for 2 nights. We were staying in Junior Suite Room 308, which is a beautiful large room with a huge bed and fantastic view overlooking the sea and Pier.
Legends is a very popular bar and we struggled to find a table on the front terrace to enjoy a drink in the sun. The Hotel provides parking permits, simply find a space anywhere in C Zone and then purchase a ticket from reception. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the Hotel.
There is a very varied breakfast menu which includes, Eggs Benedict, Eggs Florentine, and Eggs Royale which we enjoyed on the first morning. All the staff are very friendly and chatty ensuring you enjoy your stay. The Hotel is very popular well into the early hours and was open until 3am both nights we were there. On our final night, we enjoyed a nightcap in the Hotel club located underneath the main bar.
We could not find any fault with Legends and would happily stay there again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hugh Cole, Owner at Legends Hotel
Responded Sep 20, 2020
What a fabulous review and thank you so much for such a comprehensive and positive critique . Chefs Frank and Simon are purring as a result of your kind words. Chesterfield is a great place with your world famous spire. Even so we are looking forward to your having some time away again, here in Brighton as you were such lovely guests
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ConorAndrews wrote a review Jul 2020
Church Crookham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed overnight at the Legends Hotel in Brighton and already I can’t wait to come back and visit again! Check in/out was simple, breakfast the next morning was amazing. For anyone wondering, the hotel offers discounted parking at £10 for 24hrs. Just pop into the hotel before parking (my partner stayed in the car outside) and pay for the permit at reception. This permit allows you to park in Zone C and finding a space wasn’t too hard.

Our room was cosy and had everything we needed. One thing to note is that the floor boards are at times very creaky, but this didn’t really bother us too much! Staff were so friendly and the overall hotel vibe was chilled and relaxing. I would 100% recommend, especially if you’re LGBTQ+. Also worth mentioning that this hotel is in a great location too... right by the sea front and close to every thing you need. If you’re looking for a bite to eat for dinner I’d recommend the Charles Street Tap just down the road. Can’t wait to visit Brighton again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hugh Cole, Owner at Legends Hotel
Responded Aug 3, 2020
We really appreciated this review and thank you so much from visiting us from across the border, in Hampshire Your recommendation means a great deal too and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harrington’s uk wrote a review Jan 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at this hotel when we travelled to Brighton for a theatre trip. It was easy to find. We paid for the parking permit. After a simple check in we wandered off to the lanes area and some shopping.
Our room 208 was massive with excellent sea views. We had a bath and a shower in the en-suite. The bed was comfortable and the decor in good condition. There was a tv we could watch from our bed and a fridge, with biscuits, tea and coffee options etc.
Breakfast was included in the price and it was freshly cooked. We had a full English and there were gluten-free options for my husband. The breakfast choice was really good and service was quick.
All the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Mel on reception was so lovely.
I recommend this hotel enough. It was in a fantastic location, walking distance to the shops, beautiful sea views, good food for an amazing price. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil B asked a question Jun 2023
Stretford, United Kingdom103 contributions55 helpful votes
Is Legends basement club open Mon-Thur nights? Website states only Fri-Sat nights?
Steven A asked a question Oct 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom79 contributions91 helpful votes
Is there a lift to floors as I'm parted disabled
Answer from Star4_12
Northampton, United Kingdom122 contributions32 helpful votes
Yes there is a lift - not a massive one but there is one. There are also a few steps to reception (side door access) so you may want to check with the hotel if there is suitable access for you there too. If you do go, I hope you enjoy your stay, we loved it there!
Mandy H asked a question Jan 2018
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom66 contributions43 helpful votes
Are twin rooms available
Answer from Kate T
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Not sure about twin rooms, but would definitely recommend this hotel, fantastic friendly atmosphere, lovely staff, great breakfast. Right in the best seafront location
Answer from TheDean1999
London, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Outside only - as I recall the outside seats/patio area is closed after midnight. You can still go out there in the middle of the night and smoke but don't expect seats/patio heaters .
veronika r wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yes.. AVOID THIS PLACE!!! Extremely aggressive security staff!!"
Read full review
LeeMurden wrote a tip Apr 2024
Derby, United Kingdom21 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre plan you parking as the hotel is right on the sea front. Super light sleepers may need ear plugs. Book the hotel breakfast as its great."
Read full review
Jon S wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom190 contributions100 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a room with sea view and prepay breakfast. "
Read full review
shawngrinter wrote a tip Feb 2024
Portarlington, Ireland9 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Note “city view” is a euphemism for looking at a wall - but it’s the quiet side so if you are noise averse choose this."
Read full review
Go00749266956 wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Honestly legends is called legends for a reason"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Brighton area.
PRICE RANGE
C$117 - C$247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
legends hotel, bar and club hotel brighton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
New Europe
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBrighton and HoveBrighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Legends Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Legends Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Legends Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Quiz Face (0.2 km), On The Rocks Bar Crawl (0.4 km), and Treasure Hunt Brighton (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Legends Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Legends Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Legends Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Legends Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Legends Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leman Tea Room, Indian Summer, and Kusikuy Peruvian cuisine & Pisco Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Legends Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Legends Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Pavilion (0.5 km), Brighton and Hove Museum (0.5 km), and St Bartholomews (1.3 km).
Does Legends Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Legends Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Brighton HotelsBrighton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BrightonHotels near Legends Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars