We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gullivers Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gullivers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 265: English reviews
Start your review of Gullivers Hotel
 Click to rate
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is smelly all day long. Terrible smell, sometimes of food and sometimes of sewage. This is extremely unacceptable. Had also to remove tv to be able to use the mirror. Bathroom door has no lock. Room door had to be locked by key, otherwise u can just push it and walk in. Stayed for 4 nights and never again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kareemdahawy
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kareemdahawy, Thank you for staying with us recently and we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit. Having read through your feedback, we sincerely regret that we were not aware of your discontent during your stay, especially as you stayed with us for quite a few days. Please be assured that our 24...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here again last weekend. Have stayed here many times now over the years and always enjoy coming back. The hotel is perfectly situated and boasts helpful, friendly staff. Upon our most recent stay we opted to book a family room simply for extra space. We weren't disappointed. Recommend highly no matter what season you make your visit. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominator_91
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dominator_91, Thank you for staying with us recently, it was a pleasure to see you again! Your feedback is very generous and it is always a delight when we are able to fulfil expectations time and again. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here for others. Indeed we always advise guests to enquire about our...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night with my partner. Location is good - close to lots of restaurants, and fifteen minute walk if you want The Lanes. Our room was clean and warm but very dated, and in need of an upgrade. Tucked at the back of the hotel, it had it's own bathroom and separate toilet, with a single bedroom attached. Impossible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky M
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacky M, Thank you for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel as your place of residence during your visit to Brighton. We are very grateful for the feedback offered, which has been passed directly onto the Proprietor of the hotel and our heads of department so that they can be taken on board and rectified where necessary. We are happy nonetheless...

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here last night. The room was spotless and so comfortable it's probably the best nights sleep I've had in a while! Water could do with being a degree or two hotter in the bathroom but that's personal preference. Lovely staff too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey N
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynsey N, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Not least of all your high praise regarding the quality of sleep offered. We hope to see you again in the future and please don't hesitate to contact us directly for future bookings, so as to benefit...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Booked a room to accommodate my mum and my nephew as I live nearby. They were very friendly and helpful as I ask for a room on the lowest floor possible with my mum being an OAP. Although there is no lift, the stairs are very manageable. Room was at the back (but then price in midst of summer for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alain D
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alain D, Thank you very much for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel and for your kind feedback. We are delighted that your family enjoyed their stay with us and that we were able to both accommodate your needs and make them feel welcome away from home. We hope that they had a safe trip following their departure and that you...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I booked this Hotel through LateRooms, the hotel itself had a 'Good' Rating with 4/6. The room was cheap at £60 a night, so I booked after looking through the photos. The hotel is split into two buildings situated a couple of doors away from each other on the same street. The rooms seemed Ok, but it's evident that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate M, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to comment on your visit. We are very sorry to see that you were not wholly satisfied with your stay and hope to address some of your concerns below. Please be advised that the hotel is not split into two - however we...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

we had the misfortune of staying there the night on the 13-15th January 2017, we occupied 2 separate room and found a range of issues On arriving At the hotel we found that overall hygiene in rooms were nothing better than poor, finding dirty carpets bed throws and cushions along side stained sinks, items left from previous occupants and shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aron W
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aron W, Thank you for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel and we are sorry that you were not wholly satisfied with your visit. If for any reason you discover elements of the hotel which are not to standard, we always advise reporting them to a member of staff immediately especially if the issue raises concerns of health and safety. In...

Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Reviewed 5 January 2017

On reading some of the bad reviews on here, I find it hard to believe that they all stayed in the same hotel as me! It is what it says it is. A seaside hotel with comfortable rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff, Parking is available nearby and the hotel have Parking vouchers. Tea and coffee in the room, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiamondS
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LadyDiamondS, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your kind feedback. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly for any future bookings, so that we can ensure you benefit from our returning guest discounts and perhaps next time we can invite you to sample our French...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Me and my mum stayed in the hotel for a night to visit my brother who lives in Brighton. The room was sufficient for a nights sleep but we wouldn't recommend staying there for more than one night. The decor was very dated and the pictures online gave a much more modern look than what you get. The bathroom ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine A
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jasmin A, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your feedback. We have a very exciting refurbishment plan in place for the hotel over the winter months and hope to be able to address many of your observations. We are happy to hear nonetheless that you enjoyed your visit to Brighton and would be delighted...

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Booked in here Monday to Friday, arrived Monday to a very shabby room, uucomfortable beds and not even tea and coffee. Tuesday husband taken ill and we spent data at hospital. Informed staff we were returning home next day but we're told we could not have a refund. Manager never even got in touch with us. Returned home so husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liverpooleq
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liverpooleq, Thank you for staying with us last month and we are sorry that your visit was cut short. Unfortunately we do operate a strict cancellation policy, however usually when mitigating circumstances are involved we do make every attempt to be flexible e.g. attempt to resell the room perhaps, so that we can relinquish some of the penalty charges...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 km away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#48 of 98 in Brighton
614 reviews
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#26 of 98 in Brighton
337 reviews
0.1 km away
Kempfield House
Kempfield House
#32 of 98 in Brighton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Brighton Breeze
Brighton Breeze
#83 of 98 in Brighton
90 reviews
0.2 km away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#13 of 98 in Brighton
310 reviews
1.3 km away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 98 in Brighton
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12A New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $78 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms can have sea views. Lower floors can suffer from noise from bar and people coming in and out but less street noise at back.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go to a Travelodge instead”
 of 5 bubbles spyr088, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in the front and very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles anno787, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find an ibis hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Kazbah, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“307 is in the back and is up 3 flights of small stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles stevinazo, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5