We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Lansdowne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Lansdowne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lansdowne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 262: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

We were on the second floor but the lift didn't stop at 2 so it was four flights of stairs to the room ! Not good for us older guests. The long black hair in the basin was a bad start but the room had been recently decorated in a tasteful modern style. Breakfast was good cereal, toast, cooked and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jedell26
horsham ,west sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Our room was recently refurbished to a good standard and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely view of the sea and the hotel is well positioned for old and new towns. Only downside was the reheated cooked breakfast. Everything else good. Staff were very helpful too.

Helpful?
Thank jttejn
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Comfy bed, clean fresh bed sheets. The room was not huge but I have slept comfortable. Reasonable price £45 for single room. I recommend it for someone who doesn't need space to move around in the room and care about comfort when sleeping. Not the newest fashion bathroom but the most important clean and bright!

Helpful?
Thank Renata T
Villefranche-de-Rouergue, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Stayed here for just one night in June as we were catching up with friends locally. We searched online for a good deal, and were surprised that there were no rooms available anywhere that weekend. We paid £85 for this room, without breakfast which I thought was quite dear, but its on the seafront and it looked quite nice on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank armydonkey81
josselin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2015

on entering the building it appeared clean; Paid for room for 4 nights before we were shown room; big mistake; on first entering it seemed ok so we got our things; on looking around properly we found the room was dirty; the walls had dirty marks up them cracks in the woodwork and chunks of plaster missing; We asked for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank mmellys
thelansdowne, General Manager at Lansdowne, responded to this review

It did not come as a surprise to find your complaint here. We have been wondering more than once what such frustrated people full of bile and negativity would do if they could not let out all their anger on sites like this. Even though we have refunded all the money we promised to, you still obviously cannot get your... More 

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2015

We checked in for one night the room was clean but the shower room very small. We paid for breakfast and were very disappointed in what was service. I asked for a poached egg eith my full english, no comment service fried egg and told that was all i could have no additional choice given despite the menu provided.

Helpful?
Thank Monica P
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2015

The room was very comfortable, clean and roomy with a sea view. We’ve stayed here before and the hotel has been well renovated with a few minor improvements still to be made from what we could see but generally all was fine. The breakfast was good and the service friendly and helpful. It’s in a convenient position with plenty of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jane123456660
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Our sea view room was on the 4th floor. (Tiny, very slow lift!) The room was a really good size, with comfy beds and plenty of space. Super view was a bonus. The bathroom though, was very small and needed a bit of TLC. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. Over all a pleasant stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny1011
Nairobi Region, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2015

My stay at the hotel was very pleasant, the staff offered excellent service always friendly and helpful.The sea view from my single room was absolutely stunning ,the room was always kept clean , the bed comfortable and very good quality beddings.Hotel location was just perfect and within reach to many amenities.Breakfast included a good variety to chose from .

Helpful?
2 Thank Mercy K
London, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Central location within 10 minutes’ walk of station and midway between The Stade and Pier. Booked a sea view room with Balcony – stunning view and mesmerising to see the tides go in and out each day uncovering the sand and rocks. Only down points were the balcony doors were difficult to open, so had to get maintenance man in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fletch1969

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.3 km away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
381 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
0.9 km away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
229 reviews
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
9.5 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#5 of 5 in Battle
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lansdowne is a family run 4**** Guest Accommodation located on the Hastings sea front within a short walking distance to the historic old town and town centre. The Lansdowne is an ideal starting point for both leisure and business travellers. All 28 rooms are non-smoking and en-suite with bath/shower, hair dryer, telephone, free view TV and free WiFi in every room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lansdowne

Address: 1-2 Robertson Terrace, Hastings TN34 1JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Price Range: $72 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lansdowne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Hastings
Lansdowne Hastings, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lansdowne staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Lansdowne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all cost”
 of 5 bubbles anthorg, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get room with view of the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 511annag, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor has good sea views”
 of 5 bubbles steveandkim2009, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with Seaview & Balcony”
 of 5 bubbles CAT2312, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles marieh166, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay