We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Shelleys

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Shelleys
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Shelleys
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Shelley for one night, and we found it very expensive and extremely disappointing When we booked in at 12.00 we were asked to pay for our stay straight away (something unheard of) plus £10.00 an hour for checking into our room 2 hours early When we walked into our room we noticed that 3 bulbs weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cosetta Z
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Regrettably it has not been possible to trace this booking from the "handle" used here so we can only hope of reaching out to this dear lady through the good offices of TripAdvisor to find out more about there stay, their room and what troubled them However we need to get serious about one fundamental point - unless a pre-approved...

Cheshire
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We all like cosy well worn country house hotels but Shelleys is tired and suffering from neglect. We stayed three nights: on arrival we were asked to settle our bill; the restaurant was 'full' but only serving about 14 covers, surprising for a hotel with 19 rooms; the blind in our bathroom, that was overlooked, was torn and permanently down;...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank randjcheshire
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We are unaware of any hotel that does not require payment or pre-authorisation of a valid payment card on arrival; as experienced TripAdvisor contributors and having used a well known online booking agent this would have been known to these patrons From what is being said, it would appear the hotel bent over backwards to help this guest by invoking...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We went to The Shelleys about a week ago as an overnight stay stop for Glyndebourne. In terms of location, it is perfect for that purpose as it is only about 5 km away and has a good sized car park which is a real plus for Lewes. It is also popular with visitors to Glyndebourne as most of the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael B
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

It is always a delight to welcome back our loyal guests visiting us for Glyndebourne which is surely one of the highlights of the year From this review it would seem that this patron had not stayed at The Shelleys before and we are naturally sorry their first experience was not overwhelmingly positive. With no details of the room we...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in The Shelleys on the nights of 26th and 27th August at a rate of £345 per night for bed and breakfast. Unfortunately we checked TripAdvisor after we started to experience substandard quality. (Note to selves - always check TripAdvisor before booking. We normally do but for some reason this time we didn't.) We had booked the Pelham...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martin J
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We were sorry to read this review and that this patron's stay did not hit all the right notes The management team have been asked to undertake a full review; we were of course aware of the outage with the hot water occasioned by an interruption in the utility supply. While our gas engineers were able to rectify the matter...

London
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed here for just one night. The external building and gardens are attractive, it is very convenient for Glyndbourne and the staff were friendly but there is little more positive to add. The room we had, though large, was not particularly well kept - there was a used hair slide on the table, a slip with an out-of-date internet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CredoLondon
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

It is always a delight to welcome back our loyal guests visiting us for Glyndebourne which is surely one of the highlights of the year From this review it would seem that this patron had not stayed at The Shelleys before and we are naturally sorry their first experience was not overwhelmingly positive. With no details of the room we...

Mappleborough Green
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Rarely complain and never written a poor review on TripAdvisor. However this hotel is an embarrassment to the UK hotel industry and should be avoided. It has had a number of poor reviews recently and fully deserves them. In short, the fabric of the building, general décor and furniture is exceptionally tired and dated, the atmosphere throughout is depressing, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David N
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This is clearly an unfortunate [and largely self-serving] review which, I am afraid to say retains a strong element of writing for the file. Of course we are disheartened when any guest expresses concern but from the closing remarks it seems clear the preference was to have stayed in Brighton There is no hotel that we are aware of that...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

My friend and I stayed at The Shelleys for our visit to glyndebourne. We were met by a lovely lady on reception who was truly enthusiastic about the hotel, made us warmly welcome and showed us to our wonderful room. It was large, comfortable, well furnished , had plenty of hanging space, tea making facilities , home made chocolate cookies....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank watchyer6chris
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you so much...Jacque is such a treasure and nothing excites her more than welcoming our delightful guests, such as your goodselves Glyndebourne is such a highlight and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again. Meanwhile please accept our renewed thanks

London
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I spent one night in the hotel with my husband. When we arrived there was nobody to help with suitcases. The entrance looks hugely better than the rest of the hotel. The carpets in the lounge and up the stairs, towards the bedrooms, are very tired and the lounge furniture looks like an odd assortment of items collected from clearance...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carla046
Allegra-Sussex, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This review retains a strong element of "writing for the file" and whilst we are naturally sorry this guest felt their stay did not hit all the right notes, by equal measure their critique is not that helpful as is does not even identify the room is question; comments around mini-bars are surely irrelevant as nowhere does the hotel suggest...

UK
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We checked in for just one night. The room we were given was in a really poor state. The lining paper was hanging off the ceiling, there were drip marks coming down the corners of the room and there was an extensive damp patch on one of the walls, the paper was coming loose. Our inevitable complaint was poorly handled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DelandLou
Allegra-Sussex, Owner at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This is clearly a disappointing review and we were truly sorry to learn that an incorrect room had been allocated. It sounded as if matters improved thereafter but clearly this initial experience coloured your stay We have asked the management team to investigate further and I am sure that, inter alia, they will wish to make contact. Hopefully they will...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Stayed here in August, I found the staff very friendly and helpful but everything just felt a bit tired. The building is beautiful.While staying here the restaurant was never open in the evening which was a reason why I had chosen this hotel,although bar meals were available which we tried, these were all good and nicely presented.It was a shame...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denisegranville2016
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We appreciated your visiting us from London and for your thoughtful review Works to enhance the hotel are ongoing as we fight to turn back years of [benign] neglect by previous owners, with much of the current program going on behind the scenes - for example work on the boiler room and replacing radiator valves. Even so your comments will...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 km away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
660 reviews
0.5 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lewes
852 reviews
1.9 km away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
10.3 km away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
195 reviews
9.1 km away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $166 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shelleys staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Shelleys staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid ALL rooms”
 of 5 bubbles I9147DCdavidn, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend this hotel. The best thing were two chocolate biscuits, wrapped in clingfilm, which we found on the table in our room.”
  • window in the bedroom
  • window in the bedroom
  • bottom view of the sash window in the bathroom
  • cracked sink
 of 5 bubbles Carla046, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for garden view”
 of 5 bubbles TravelBuffLondon, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the larger room overlooking the High St - it's double glazed and Lewes is quiet at nights so there's nothing to disturb you.”
 of 5 bubbles kjp805, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Do not accept room 11 unless you like being woken by the industrial fan”
 of 5 bubbles RSTfull72, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay