The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn

Traveller (145)
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 6 inns in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in the heart of the historic East Sussex town of Rye, The Ship dates back to 1592. Originally built as a warehouse to store contraband seized from smugglers, it has certainly had a colourful past, which only adds to the pub’s charm. Today you’ll find a quintessentially English country inn bursting with character. From hearty breakfasts and splendid Sunday roasts to seafood platters and a wonderful selection of wines, The Ship is an idyllic spot for a family lunch or a catch up with friends. Don’t want to leave? Stay the night in one of our 10 boutique bedrooms and suites. The perfect home-from-home for the night or an extended weekend getaway. Families and dogs are both welcomed at The Ship.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quirky Hotels
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Strand Quay The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
Lydd Intl Airport
14.2 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles641 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Ship Inn boasts a prime location that guests love for exploring Rye, nestled scenically by the quay, though parking can be tricky. Visitors commend the friendly and professional service, often noting the staff's knack for fulfilling special requests. Opinions on value vary, with some finding it reasonable while others cite pricey elements. Cleanliness is consistently praised, contributing to the cozy and welcoming atmosphere highlighted by many. While rooms are generally comfortable, a few guests have noted size and noise concerns. The Inn's amenities, including its dog-friendly policy and quality food, receive positive remarks, although some would prefer a broader beer selection.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Rustic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
641Reviews2Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 294
  • 176
  • 70
  • 55
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sandra B wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Delightful location, delightful restaurant, delightful management.
Cannot fault anything. Much care taken due to current restrictions but did not deter from excellent service.
Menu was somewhat restricted but dishes we had were freshly cooked and premium quality.
We were made to feel 'special' by Sharon. Thank you so much for making this celebratory 80th birthday dinner the best.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kfly13 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Ship for 3 nights having seen a good deal with breakfast, staying in a small double room. Pub is full of character and is in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good quality and plentiful. Room was clean and hovered everyday, but very small, bed very cosy to sleep in but pretty uncomfortable to sit up in and watch tv or read due to the metal bed frame and there not being a backboard. Room was also a little chilly due to its
location of having 2 exterior walls. If
we had stayed longer we would of probably opted for a standard room for
more space. We were lucky enough to find parking nearby everyday but can imagine in the summer it gets very very busy and could be quite difficult finding a space. Over all thought the Ship is a nice place to stay and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Mitzi R wrote a review Feb 2020
Banstead, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A clean pleasant hotel/pub. Stayed on a sunday evening, was very pleased with the room, not the largest but modern clean and good bathroom, power shower and bath.

Decided to eat in the pub on the sunday evening, sadly lots of the the dishes (Including the sunday roasts and many on the specials board) had sold out so we both had the fish and chips so word of warning eat early!!

The hotel/pub itself has no parking!! we parked in the pay and display car park jst by the pub paid £7.00 for what we though was 24 hours, returned to top up the meter within 24 hours to find we had a parking ticket, as did two other guests (£60.00 fine) not great!!

You have to check out and back into the car park by 9am and repay for the duration of your stay!! The signage is not clear about this so beware and this of course meant it was not such a great deal on cost at all. Would I stay here again probably not , lots on offer in Rye with parking!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oscar wrote a review Sep 2022
Calgary, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT BOTHER. The Ship Inn had a big nostalgia factor for me as I grew up in the town which prompted our decision to try to have dinner there today. I remember it being a bit more spacious than The Standard or others in Rye, so for my mother and son to have some breathing room we thought it would make sense.
Our server was polite enough, although did rush off mid order a couple of times ( no worries ), so we were catered for and found our table.
The Menu! Well laid out, beautiful sounding dishes! Prices to indicate quality. Perfect! However, when our order was brought out to us I think we all just sat and stared for a couple of seconds. The juxtaposition between the allure and promise of the menu and the school lunches that sat before us stunned us.
When our server returned to ask us how everything was, I brought up my issues with the dishes and he was quite defensive about it as if he had a sales based commission riding on it. He then went to fetch his brunette manager who arrived and was actually more defensive and aggressive, angrily trying to rebut my criticisms whilst my one year old sat on my lap. ( when I mentioned this to some people they said “oh yeah, I know who you mean, she treated us awfully too” ).
To be specific, “Prawn and avocado crostini.” Now that’s a handsome sounding dish! My wife decided to have that as her main, but when what was presented was what looked like an ice cream scoop of off pink, straight from the tub gelatinous prawn sphere, a teaspoon of pale guac beside it, and two slices of plain white toast we almost couldn’t believe it. Literally white bland toast ... this was the comical parody of a crostini dish.
The manager said, “if you want more guac I can go get some.” As if adding a second slap of that disgusting looking premade guac would somehow fix the meal.
The fries that accompanied the cheap meat burger were described on the menu as something like “sage and blabla” nice sounding fries. But in reality they were unseasoned, plain fries in a little cup.
We didn’t touch the oysters - seafood’s one you don’t mess with. Poor presentation and untrustworthy other dishes.
When it came to my fish and chips the manager said “how do you know they’re bad, you haven’t even tried them!”
Are we looking at the same dishes? Why would we try them?
“It’s just fish and chips.” She said angrily, as if you couldn’t get it wrong. But, tell me you haven’t had good fish and chips, and bad fish and chips. So if you’re going to serve them overpriced, you better make sure they’re actually good.
Just showed how little she cared.
So for 4 out of 6 meals having not been eaten, we were refunded the one measly prawn dish. Any other establishment would’ve apologized for the inconvenience and refunded the meals, but not the S*** Inn.
Overall the food was awful, the service was awful, and the lack of refund was awful. 60+ quid to barely feed two of us who were too tired from the day so just went with “grin and bare it”.
Will not be returning, and strongly suggest you steer clear.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid stepping into the establishment. If you want to eat bad, overpriced food, and get yelled...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abi Walker , Other at The Ship Inn
Responded Oct 1, 2022
Good Afternoon We sincerely apologise you didn't enjoy your visit with us. However a little confused as to some of the comments as you didn't have a taste of your meal but the other half of your party said they really enjoyed their Fish & Chips and cleared the plate. We appreciate all feedback, and hopefully you will try us again in the future. Regards Abi Walker Restaurant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oliver H wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This really was disappointing. For so many reasons. Tiny, tiny room on the top floor, where the corridors stank of chip fat from the kitchens below. Granted we stayed during hot weather but the temperature in the room was toy unbearable. The windows barely opened and management muttered something about health and safety; health and safety concerns which did not extend, sadly, to the risks of sleeping in extreme heat. The least least could have done is offer a decent fan and plenty of ice cold water, but neither was forthcoming. Breakfast was of a very variable quality: an average fry up on one day, salmon and eggs, sloppily presented on sliced white bread the next.
For a (considerably) lower price and in cooler weather this hotel would be fine, but not more than fine. Stay elsewhere if you can.
Good points: shower was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christian Thwaites, General Manager at The Ship Inn
Responded Jul 30, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to read your comments, obviously your experience did not live up to the high expectations that we set for ourselves. I would like to opportunity to discuss your comments and ask that you reach out by calling us on 01797 229256.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharan R wrote a review Oct 2022
Camber, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. Food is absolutely amazing, quick service and plentiful. Food is well presented and have bottles of chilled water for the tables refrigerating. Its a pet friendly establishment and will definitely be returning
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess M wrote a review Feb 2020
Chichester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a gorgeous place to stay. Incredibly friendly staff. Breakfast was second to none. Dog was made to feel like part of the family and thoroughly spoilt. Very comfy bed. Fab attention to detail from the music on in the bar (ambient and relaxing indie pop) to the presentation of the sauces at brekkie!
Loved it. Thank you to the team.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lady_isobel wrote a review Jul 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a hotel but an Inn and I am prepared to cut them some slack in terms of the offering, but there were some avoidable short-comings. We had a very long journey to get to Rye and about 2 hours before we were due to arrive I called ahead to check on the food situation and was told the restaurant would be closed about half an hour before we would get there. I asked if it would be possible in that case to have a sandwich in our room, and I was simply told "no we don't do that". I was quite taken aback at the abruptness of the response and pressed for the possibility of just a sandwich. "We don't have the stuff for it" was the reply. I found this very surprising given this was a restaurant, but the way it was said was also pretty surprising. I would have taken it better if the person on the end of the phone had said she was really sorry she couldn't help with that but unfortunately ...etc and maybe suggested where we might be able to get something to eat. On arrival, a gentleman who was in a large party of overnight guests asked for coffees for himself and his party in the bar, and was told he couldn't have coffee, they had switched off the machine. It was 9.30. They were intransigent, despite the fact it was a large party of guests spending (as he was quick to say) over £1000 with the Inn, there was going to be no coffee. I think if they had apologised and handled it nicely, the gent would just have accepted it maybe grumpily, but the way they handled it meant he lost his temper. This then caused the staff to be cheeky back to him and it was quite unedifying. I felt what was needed was a senior experienced member of staff overseeing the rather inexperienced young people making a hash of things in. The gent can of course leave his own review if he likes but it was embarrassing to be there when it occurred. Our room had nowhere to put our clothes other than some pegs on the wall (no drawers) and the loo seat was broken. There was nowhere in the bathroom to put any clothes - not a single hook or peg. I do however thank the Inn for providing a fan given the hot weather. Breakfast was distinctly suboptimal. I ordered eggs hollandaise and it was served without hollandaise! Come on guys, what is that? I would not stay there again I'm afraid, I got the impression staying guests were a bit of an inconvenience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christian Thwaites, General Manager at The Ship Inn
Responded Jul 11, 2022
Thank you for your review. Our hospitality is something that we pride ourselves on at The Ship, however it seems that we have failed to deliver on this occasion. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss your experience, please reach out to me on 01797 229256
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James B wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The upsell began before we had even sat down, as the waiter asked if we wanted bread and olives while we were still standing taking our coats off. We declined and were then immediately asked what we would like to drink, despite having not had a chance to even glance at a drinks list. He came back to take our order without a notepad and I questioned whether he was going to remember everything, but he said he would. We ordered 3 starters and 3 mains. A few minutes later he came back to announce that one of our mains had run out, so my wife chose something else. A few minutes later, he returned to say that her second choice had also run out. One starter arrived, but not the other two. When I asked about them, he said they’d be here soon, and he arrived shortly afterwards not with our missing starters, but with our main courses. When the bill arrived, it included service, but the payment machine then asked if I would like to add a gratuity, one of the biggest cons in the game. This was probably the worst pub meal I have ever had the misfortune to endure. Avoid at all costs!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Oliver Laker, General Manager at The Ship Inn
Responded Feb 14, 2022
Hello James, I'm verry sorry about your experence with us. Please contact me directly to discuss the matter. You can contact me on 01797 229256. Many Thanks, Oliver
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adrian H wrote a review Apr 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Called in on the off chance for lunch with our 2 little dogs who can be reactive to other dogs. We were seated as secluded as possible and instantly given a bowel of water for the dogs, our order was taken promptly and the food and drinks were first rate. This is a very family and dog friendly establishment, we’re first visited 4 years ago and will return again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Booking would be best , we were very lucky to be seated
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
grahamgrobinson asked a question Jul 2015
Gateshead, United Kingdom40 contributions29 helpful votes
What is Room 4 like?
martin g wrote a tip Apr 2024
Beckenham, United Kingdom20 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's parking in rye at the main car park. The Turkish restaurant up the road is really good "
Read full review
baz74 wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is tricky but 2 mins away there is a car park with upto 24 hr pay and display."
Read full review
Kerry A wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is where you can find it, plenty of car parks but busy at peak times."
Read full review
Neil Corder wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dymchurch, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to book during busy periods Sundays especially if you can, trust me it will be worth it"
Read full review
carly_smith3 wrote a tip Nov 2023
Harlow, United Kingdom412 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Allow enough time for the breakfast"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rye area.
PRICE RANGE
C$173 - C$253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the ship hotel rye
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexRye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Ship Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ship Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Ship Inn?
Nearby attractions include St. Mary's Parish Church (0.3 km), Rye Heritage Centre (0.06 km), and Ypres Tower Museum, Rye Castle (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ship Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include internet access, outdoor furniture, and street parking.
Is parking available at The Ship Inn?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ship Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rye Waterworks Micropub, Fletchers House, and The Fig.
Is The Ship Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Rye.
Are pets allowed at The Ship Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ship Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Mary's Parish Church (0.3 km), Mermaid Street (0.08 km), and Lamb House (0.2 km).
All Rye HotelsRye Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RyeHotels near The Ship Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars