We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lansdowne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lansdowne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lansdowne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Not been well for 12 months so needed a quick break, Lansdowne was everything I needed, good rates, friendly hosts, clean warm bedroom with en suite, television and wi fi , excellent breakfast, comfortable lounge, easy walking distance of every thing at Bourton on the water and off road parking. I really couldn't have asked for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

On a recent long weekend break to Bourton On The Water we stayed at The Lansdown Hotel. We booked a double en-suite room that actually had a king size bed. The room was large and airy with a comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were also available as well as a fresh bottle of water. The owners are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

went for a quick drink and the the hotel was lovely, friendly welcoming staff and great service. there was a welcoming homely feel as you walk into a lovely character building which in situated in a lovely Cotswold village.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmorris78
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We were really impressed at the quality of this B&B- the decor is really lovely; it feels both modern and cosy. The breakfast selection and quality was excellent- Eggs Royals, smoked salmon & scrambled eggs on an English muffin, bagels & full English. Anthony & Cheryle are very welcoming and we would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stayed in this excellent B&B for 2 nights. We were given one of the refurbished room (room 4) which was lovely. In particular, the room has a Cotswolds Stone wall which really added character. Our room faced the road, but traffic noise isn't a problem in Jan. Good location to explore other towns/villages in Cotswolds. Toiletries provided are of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattsz
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Just returned from a weekend break from this lovely B&B. Cheryle and Anthony were great hosts, offering a welcoming cup of tea/coffee when we arrived and letting us know the good places to eat and drink. Great size room and ensuite. Breakfast is really the highlight of staying here. The food is really fresh and Anthony was so helpful. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red wine girl x
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Just returned from a couple of nights in this B&B. It is a lovely place with friendly & helpful management / owners. The breakfast room, hallway and residents lounge appear to have been recently refurbished to a high standard. The breakfast menu was very varied and the food was of high quality. My wife had a special dietary request which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
Reviewed 13 January 2017

This was our first visit since the change of ownership. It was my 'special' birthday weekend and the very first time without the kids, so we chose to stay in one of the refurbished rooms (double superior) It was delightful. Nice big comfortable bed, immaculate furnishings and a spacious and modern bathroom. The heating wasn't on during the day which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Famlee4
Midrand
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stayed at The Strathmore for 3 nights in early January and found everything to be of a very high standard and would rate them more as a boutique hotel rather than just a B&B. On arrival we had tea and biscuits whilst Anthony told us about the area, recommended places to visit, gave us a route that we could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaffyMidrand
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review which is always appreciated. Just to correct you on the name we are called The Lansdowne easily done. Many Thanks Anthopny and Cheryle

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Where shall I start? If it were just a 3 star I wouldn't have expected much, but I do expect more if you are going to display 4 stars on your sign. The rooms: very basic, mattresses are cheap, you can feel the massive springs even through the thin pillow top. Both beds in my room and also in my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zgillit
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

Yes you're right where should I start? I will reply so that our good readers can absorb with interest. Most of your comments are false as you well know...... apart from the misunderstanding about our lounge area. When you booked the rooms you mislead me to think that you were a group of regular guys getting together to plan a...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.6 km away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
670 reviews
1.6 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,098 reviews
0.5 km away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,032 reviews
4.3 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
941 reviews
1.7 km away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lansdowne (formerly known as Lansdowne Villa) is family owned and is run by Anthony & Cheryle. It is situated at the quiet end of the main street and is a 3 minute level walk to the centre of the village of Bourton on the Water. All 12 rooms are en-suite and offer either superking, kingsize, double or twin beds, we also have 2 single rooms. They all have tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hair drier and are centrally heated, most of the rooms have baths as well as showers. Some rooms have space for travel cots but please check with us before making a booking. A full English breakfast is served in the relaxing atmosphere of our dining room and includes a range of cereals, yoghurts, fruit teas & coffees. We also offer a continental selection which includes pastries and fresh fruit. All guests have a key to come and go as they please, there is plenty of off-road parking and Wi-fi is available throughout the building. Check-in is available between 2 & 6pm (contact us if you wish to check-in outside of these hours and we will do our best to accommodate). Check-out is by 10am but we do our best to be flexible with prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lansdowne

Address: Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BH, England (Formerly Lansdowne Villa Guesthouse)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $128 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Villa Guesthouse Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lansdowne staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Lansdowne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room not on the front and for a fan if you go any later than April.”
curmal, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I wouldn't recommend the Chinese in Bourton.....”
Allan_1983a, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the renovated rooms.”
Gausevcl, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Chose a refurbished room. Gorgeous”
Famlee4, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 - it has a four poster bed and a full en suite bathroom.”
TaffyMidrand, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5