We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Coach and Horses

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Coach and Horses
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 152: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old coaching house, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, we stayed 3 nights and ate in the restuarant each night, the food was very good, the breakfasts lovely (nice sausages). Our room for the 3 nights was spacious and clean with the tea making kit replenished each day, (no biscuits though). then only 2 things I would moan about are the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely pub, great service! Log fire burning on New Year's Day, sat here with our dog enjoying a good local ale and perfect surroundings... Staying in the bilbury, a comfortable family room with a Juliet balcony looking out onto the glorious views. Can't wait to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boden85
Willersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thought we would try somewhere new, nice friendly welcome. Menu looked good nothing too flash. Mixed fish starter platter was on the greasy side, but hunger made that acceptable. Burger arrived, unfortunately it was overcooked but cold, onion rings greasy. Returned to kitchen and it came back hot but now I could play a game of squash with it (rubbery)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
South G, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Very sorry you had a bad experience sadly we have been struck with staff sickness, I will look into your complaint again very sorry

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ordered veg soup and roast beef Sunday lunch after waiting 45minutes the soup was served, the soup was quite tasty and hot. Half an hour later our lunch was served and unfortunately it was all cold, the waitress took our plates away and returned them some time later after rewarming them in the microwave, the dish of vegetables were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jilldeanna
South G, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Very sorry you had a bad experience sadly we have been struck with staff sickness, I will look into your complaint again very sorry

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We didn't book but arrived towards the end of the main lunch period. Asked for table availability and one was available for our group of 4 so all good, to start with. Then came the wait, of over an hour. We only ordered main courses. No communication about the delay, nothing. The staff were friendly enough but there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
South G, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Very sorry you had a bad experience sadly we have been struck with staff sickness, I will look into your complaint again very sorry

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Very nice stay.. food in restaurant was also nice.. staff very helpful.. there concern when I tripped on there step into bar.. Room for a winter stay was warm ..Would highly recommend as quite central to cotswold villages, Cheltenham and Oxford.. We stayed in the Broadway room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Takeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Once again we booked a table for 4. The staff menber who delt with us was outstanding in every way. The food was prompt and also outstanding. We would recommend this public house to anyone wishing to eat,drink or stay. Thank you for making feel very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan_pearce10
Reviewed 30 November 2016

been here many times and my mother lives in the Village, its great its not cheap but its well worth a stop really lovely experience. The food is good and they keep a good pint! Thank you I will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BIG1232221345
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a birthday get away. Rooms were clean and tidy and pub was well maintained. Staff friendly. We found that the traffic early morning was rather loud as on the approach road to bourton on the water, so maybe some extra sound proofing would be good. Bed was comfy, shower was super powerful and plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nessy B
HULL
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for remembrance parade on Sunday. Lovely large family room. Food in restaurant very nice . Had fish platter to start and the carbonara for main. Other half had stir fry. Kid meals a good size and good , friendly service. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the litter and cigarette ends scattered around the entrance . for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgie1978

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.8 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,002 reviews
1.2 km away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
644 reviews
1.1 km away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,310 reviews
1.8 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
993 reviews
1.2 km away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#14 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach and Horses Inn is a superb 400 year old family orientated coaching house set in the heart of the Cotswolds, in the very beautiful picturesque village of Bourton-on-the-Water. Redecorated in 2014, and further improvements made in 2016, look forward to seeing you through 2016 Kind Regards Coach & Horses ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Address: Stow Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $126 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach and Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Coach and Horses staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sit by the fire in the bar, not in the restaurant,(cold)”
 of 5 bubbles davidhS1397QG, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Difficult because on a busy main road !”
 of 5 bubbles 847sandied, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want noise from above, ask for an upstairs room!”
 of 5 bubbles 482marilyne, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you were upstairs you wouldn't be kept awake by people walking around above you.”
 of 5 bubbles elleHampshire, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Just be aware if you have a dog...the 2 rooms upstairs are up a steep outside staircase..”
 of 5 bubbles peterjd2014, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay