We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach and Horses

Save
Traveller (72)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(53 reviews)
“converted barn”(8 reviews)
“faggots”(4 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (210)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for The Coach and Horses
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
99
58
30
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
99
58
30
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubconverted barnfaggotsnew managementbaked camembertbusy roadlemon tartfull englishmain roadpowerful showersunday lunchcreaky floorboardsbeer gardenfish and chipsthe ground floorwi ficar park
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I stopped here when passing by as I had never been in and fancied a good pint and simple pub food. Both I got and we’re good. Nice layout, and I recommend the pub part, I can’t comment on the accommodation

Thank GreatFind_Cotswolds
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your pint and food.

Reviewed 30 October 2017

I made a late booking over the phone to stay at this pub; during the call there was no mention of a cancellation policy. Unfortunately, I had to cancel 2 days later due to a family member having an accident. I rang the pub on...More

Thank Heather N
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded 4 weeks ago

Firstly I would like to mention that originally you had booked with Booking.com which have all of our terms and conditions on their website. When you called myself you asked if I could do a better deal for you which I did. Our cancellation policy...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017

This hotel is a gem. Free parking in their grounds and about a 30 min walk from the main town within Bourton on the Water. There is a bus, if you are lucky to see it! We stayed here on the night of the 9th...More

1  Thank Cath G
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review.

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as a halfway house to visit our family. On entering our room we were pleased. Then went into the bathroom to reveal the following. Very dirty skirting boards and terribly mouldy ceiling which had been highlighted previously by other guests and still not...More

Thank woodie59
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We have since been renovating the rooms as I'm sure you can appreciate we are an exceptionally busy Inn. I do hope you will come back and visit us again.

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Visited as a family a few days ago. Compared with other places nearby we found the food to be average and the service to be below par. Menu is pretty basic, cutlery was old and shabby which was equally disappointing.

1  Thank Bhavin N
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345642
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$82 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$82 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (72)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Leslie C
1 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from timsey | Reviewed this property |
Yes I am sure they were bigger rooms upstairs
1
Vote
Tanya M
21 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from James1298 | Property representative |
Thank you for your email, yes dogs are welcome, please bring own bedding there is a extra charge of £8 to go towards cleaning, kindest regards
0
Votes
edge100
6 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dave C | Property representative |
Hello, You would be more than welcome at the Coach & Horses, and we can offer you parking for your bike too. Many thanks
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"There were only four rooms."
Read review
"For a quieter room choose one above as you can hear guests moving around being in a lower ground room"
Read review
"If you don't won't to be disturbed by creaky floorboards as for an upstairs room"
Read review
"Rooms on the ground floor willbe able to hear the upper floorwalking around, if you are a light sleeper this..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing