We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Porch House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Porch House
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 380: English reviews
Pinner, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is lovely, full of history and character. The staff are friendly and helpful and the wine is good. However, the room was small (but comfortable) but the shower was covered in black mould and the glass shelf over the ridiculously small sink prevented you from brushing your teeth or shaving properly. We were really looking forward to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosPinner
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On 26 November Alex and his team at The Porch House served up the most superb wedding event. Over 80 people enjoyed amazing canapés and a fantastic Chateaubriand wedding breakfast. The bride and groom looked brilliant in the atmospheric surroundings and the various linked function rooms worked so well. The service of all the staff was peerless. Thanks, an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 61gjt
Otford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Despite the fire alarm issue, we loved it, had a great room with a very comfortable bed. Dinner was very good and so was breakfast. Really lovely staff....the ambiance in the public areas is rather special. Many thanks and we are recommending to friends and relatives.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knightels2n
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly parking limited then although a large king bed it dipped in the middle. Myself and another guest placed in room directly onto road so you could hear the people or smokers outside neither of us had a decent sleep. Also menu is worst I've seen and for a 5* it served up McDonald's type French fries and mainly menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julia f
AlexDavenportJones, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this review

Dear Julia, I read your review with some sadness that our menu was so poorly received. In the nicest manner it did beg the question why you chose to eat here when the menu offered so little by way of choices for you. I fully accept some menus cater for some guests more than others but I would suggest there...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ended up here by accident as we had booked in to Sheep nearby also owned by Brakspear. Our room wasn't ready so we came here for a late lunch and ordered steak which was good and I then had a hot chocolate mousse which was to die for. This is reputedly the oldest inn in the U.K. and Stow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jrfrank
Alexandria VA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stow has limited parking and the Porch House is no exception - 4 parking spaces and one is handicapped. But you can park in the town (sometimes a couple minutes walk) and move the car in the evening to a space closer. The inn combines three different houses and in doing so, the passages are a like a rabbit warren....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexandriaGrandDad
Lymm, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oldest inn in England!! Lovely room food was very good. Staff very nice. Breakfast is very good with lots of choice. Fantastic character as you would except. Table for 2 by the fire if poss. Parking is limited but most are.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cego100
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having booked this hotel 4 weeks prior, we received a phone call 45 minutes before our arrival from a lady telling us that the price had gone up by £15 per night! She then proceeded to argue with my wife over the phone. Apon arriving at the hotel we were met with a very frosty reception which remained from all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
AlexDavenportJones, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this review

Dear Jonathon, I do hope you might return to The Porch House soon and see that our intention was never to cause you an unpleasant experience with us. On the contrary our sole aim is and should always be to please. I am certain you would agree with me on another visit. Very best wishes, Alex Davenport-Jones

Plymouth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely lunch. Dogs allowed in the bar eating area and conservatory. Short beef ribs very tasty, my wife had soufflé for starters. We both decided on the burger for main course which was delicious. Service very good and friendly the dogs were even given a biscuit. Have been here a couple times before and the good has always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A K
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival the lady on reception struggled to find our telephone reservation for a nights accommodation. Our chosen room was for some unexplained reason not offered instead we were given a downgraded room. The window didn't shut which made the room noisy from road traffic, the bathroom was cold due to the heated towel rail not working, the shower door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.0 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
99 reviews
0.2 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
250 reviews
1.4 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
961 reviews
3.5 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,292 reviews
14.1 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Public House. Dining. Luxury rooms. Steeped in history, The Porch House is thought to be the oldest inn in England, with parts of the building dating back to 947 AD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Porch House

Address: Digbeth Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England (Formerly The Royalist Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $139 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Porch House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your The Porch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Porch House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Porch House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can spring for the featured or bigger rooms - the standard rooms are a bit tight”
 of 5 bubbles AlexandriaGrandDad, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is fantastic with view of the street.”
 of 5 bubbles cego100, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 9 is fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles Tashhlunn, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Watch your head sinc the thresholds are made for munchkins.”
  • View from our room...room 4
  • Bedroom for room 4
 of 5 bubbles awsm, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to avoid a room right on the street”
 of 5 bubbles 799donaldk, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay