We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Imperial Hotel

PricelineUS$76*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$76*
US$96*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Start your review of The Imperial Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really disappointed in the room as it overlooked the roof where the extractors were and the outlet pipe from the kitchen cooker and it smelled really bad and made a noise all night. When we arrived we asked for a different room which they gave us but it had the same view and noise. The bed was amazingly comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joybabe
Hinterbruhl, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

To give them their due, we arrived at 2100 for dinner in the Thai restaurant. They said they were closed as quiet but decided to stay open, which was good. The food was ok but their attention to detail was lacking. A bottle of wine arrived but was not poured.....we had to ask a second time for water......the table was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sissy55
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I think some of the reviews of this hotel have been rather harsh. We stayed one night on our way to the south coast, and our room seemed to have been fairly recently decorated. It was clean but unfortunately there is an air conditioning unit right outside the window, so if the management would take some advice they would do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheila R, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear your comments about your stay with us. I can confirm that 3 rooms including the one you stayed will be double glazed very soon. I apologise for the inconvenience the air conditioning unit may have caused. Bath towels are larger now as...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very large room at the back with a choice of beds given we were two and room slept four. Efficient check in and very pleasant staff. Bathroom fine, good towels. Free parking, good bar, wines good value, excellent Thai restaurant. Will use again when need arises. Right next to station but not effected by that apart from, of course, convenience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
Aylesbury
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed at The Imperial for two nights for a weekend of walking with a group. I shared a room with 3 friends. The hotel is very central in Stroud - but parking was a nightmare - they have very few spaces and we found out that staff were taking up quite a few. The room was clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RidgewalkerWing
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RidgewalkerWing, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our breakfast but I did notice that you and the other ladies did enjoy it on Saturday as I personally served you and the rest of the group. In relation to our car park, please note that...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We only stayed for one night but good value, they had high standards and nice staff. Our room was clean, roomy and very comfortable. Very fresh bedding and a nice clean large bathroom. The breakfast wasn't the best in the world but equally not bad at all for the money. Very good value! Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markonepost99
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

First impressions on arrival could have been better. However a comfortable quiet room and enjoyable stay with a tasty breakfast and friendly staff. TV in room along with tea and coffee. Thai style restaurant and bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We were visiting a friend in Stroud. We'd stayed at the Premier Inn before in two towns, but unfortunately the one in Stroud was full, hence our stay here. Based on our experience at the Imperial, they will have to buck their ideas up as it's nowhere near as good value as the Premier Inns. The building looks attractive from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yorkie1234
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yorkie1234, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am surprised to hear that you mention that your room was small as you were not either in room 102 or 201 which are our only 2 small rooms in the hotel and they are only sold for single occupancy. Regarding the wardrobe mirror finger-marks, we will...

Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night. Had rooms at back of hotel so no noise. Rooms very warm and clean.Staff very helpful good breakfast menu.Hotel is located in the city centre. Small carpark next to station, If full you can use station car park for £2.00 a day. We would stay again when visiting Stroud. Great location if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidmuff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped here just for the one night. Had a room on the first floor to the front of the hotel. Didn't sleep as cars going up and down a lot thoughtout the night. Toting car horns, car doors slamming! Room was cold, old windows just not sound proof for street noise. Room a fair size. Carpet grubby - kept might...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank homekenn
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr homekenn, I phoned you on the day your review was published to ask you about the reason that led you to write this review as you never approached us. You mentioned over the phone that you were very frustrated on that day and that your review was very mean and that you would delete it. Today, after contacting...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
2.5 km away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
5.0 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
241 reviews
5.3 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
11.9 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Thai Royal Orchid
Thai Royal Orchid
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 23 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. A traditional afternoon tea is served every day from 12:00 until 5:00 pm. Pre-booking and pre-payment is essential. There is a spacious 3 bedroom apartment for hire in the premises. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Price Range: $119 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud
The Imperial Hotel Stroud, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room overlooking the car park or station as less noise and food smells”
joybabe, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“at the back for a good sleep. Even if the station is located there.”
davidmuff, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room not on the railway side if a light sleeper”
AdmiralGant, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms with views. I love baths and always get a room with a bath and a window that opens.”
779faridas, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No comment”
MickF511, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$76* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$96
TripAdvisorUS$76
Hotels.comUS$96
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates