We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,194: English reviews
ALTON, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

All good, food, room, service, easy location, good bus service, nice walks, lots to do and see, easy access to the Isle of Wight and lots of shopping at Gun Wharf Keys! The Hotel has a great Dining Room, large menu choice and the food is piping hot! Not always the case in many Restaurants these days!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie J
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a nice review of the hotel, I have passed on a copy to restaurant team and hope you visit again, best wishes Chris Gilmore Gm

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

After flying to Southampton from Aberdeen, then driving through to Portsmouth, I didn't expect to then be faced with a 30 minute drive around the hotel to try and get a parking space. There are hardly any available and when I phoned they just said I should try and park in the surrounding streets. Eventually did get one. Plus side...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paula12321
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a good review of the hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, unfortunately the parking is what it is at the moment but we are talking to the city council about opening up the seafront parking on a free of charge basis so keep an eye on our website for more information, best...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

I really liked this hotel, it's old but not tired rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly. I had a sea view room and loved watching the sun set and the sun rise. However... The car park is ridiculous! They have squeezed every centimetre they could into a space and there is no regulation of who is parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Team V
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you had a good stay with us apart from your parking issue, as you quite rightly said we do try to squeeze every car we can into the space available due to the shortage of space locally, unfortunately some guests do not follow the instructions that are posted around the car...

Martock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

On arrival no parking available, was expecting a bigger car park very small and very tight spaces, however did manage to get a space as was lucky enough to check when someone was driving out. Room was nice, comfortable bed room was very warm even with Windows open. Shower excellent. We ate in the bar very nice burger at reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a good review of the Hotel, I am pleased you found everything to your liking and I have passed on a copy of your review to reception, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for initially two nights. Firstly the receptionist was cheerful and polite. My room was on the 4th floor, it was a typical hotel room with a comfy clean bed and what looked like a recent refurb of the bathroom. I don't really have anything negative to say about the place. The project I was working on overran so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smashie22
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I am pleased the team looked after you and you found everything to your liking, we hope you stay with us again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

service restaurant food was very good and plentyful. liked the english classic puds plus many cakes and tarts. staff were attentive and helpful. local area has many well presented and clean room with attentive and helpful tea making facilities. self places to visit cultual and entertainig and getting fit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank earmuff
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel and I hope you come and visit again soon, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Held a surprise 70th birthday lunch for my husband on 4th February, from the first enquiry excellent service. Organised a private dining room, excellent choice of menu and wine. Davina helped me to organise tables, we were able to have access to room from early morning to decorate the room and tables. Everything was wonderful, staff, service and food were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APVcontessa320
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review of your lunch here at the hotel, I have passed a copy on to the events team and Davina and hope we can be of service to you again in the future, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Good location , the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice and clean. we stayed bed and breakfast with a good selection, the hotel is just across from the sea front which is a 30 minute walk into gun wharf, if we go that way again we would book this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALANDAVIES_12
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel and I am pleased you found everything to your liking. I have copied out your review to the team and hope you visit again, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

6th February. Had a lovely night at the hotel. Staff were very attentive and professional. Lovely evening meal in the restaurant. Room was spotless and well appointed. Breakfast was first class especially the special order of poached eggs. Particular mention of the waitress at breakfast. JESS looked after us very well. Lovely and polite with lovely smile. Made us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denim_Dave
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review of the hotel which I have copied out to all the team along with a special note to Jessica, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.4 km away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
811 reviews
7.6 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,134 reviews
0.6 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,072 reviews
0.5 km away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
672 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Address: South Parade | St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $96 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Portsmouth
Portsmouth Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool
over a year ago
Newcastle Upon Tyne
2 months ago
Tavistock, UK
4 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely Rooms on the front have great Seaviews”
 of 5 bubbles WindwardGal, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very small car park, but on road parking available”
 of 5 bubbles 357wass, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are sea view rooms. However in fairness, if you have a pet, as we did , we didn't expect to have a choice.”
 of 5 bubbles pattiwynne, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“South facing rooms overlook the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles 53raym2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room with a sea view recommended”
 of 5 bubbles thepassmanYork, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5