We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Expedia.comUS$116*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

954 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portsmouth
See the most recent reviews
Showing 923: English reviews
uk
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Third visit within a year, possibly the last which is a shame as previously we had left happy. The experience did not justify the cost. In a refurbished room, very spacious except bathroom tiny. Not toilet roll holder - just left on cabinet behind toilet, not heated towel rack so no way to dry towels, and not enough room to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank touristlocal
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear touristlocal, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm so sorry to hear that your recent stay was a disappointing one following two good ones. The hotel was built in the 70's so the rooms are all of a similar size, sadly on the smaller side especially the bathrooms so we have to...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip.. The place is looking rather tired around the edges, its in desperate need of a deep clean and a lick of paint. Things that are good... Location, its easy to have an evening walk around old portsmouth and to gunwharf quays.. It has a fitness room albeit a small one, its got a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sonicrich
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear sonicrich, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are currently in the midst of a major refurbishment scheme to give the hotel a much needed uplift - by early next year there should be a noticeable difference. With regards to the parking, if the onsite car park is full then we offer...

Reviewed 28 September 2015

All OK other than my suitcase was opened and somebody had a root around. Nothing stolen so no great shakes. Hotel is ok but parking can be a nightmare, reception staff are very helpful. We were offered tea and coffee as none of the rooms were ready which was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Stephen B, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am so sorry to hear that your suitcase was looked through, I hope you reported it and had the incident investigated. Please accept my apologies. With regards to the parking, if the onsite car park is full then we offer free parking permits...

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Having read the reviews regarding room size, we were surprised that the executive room we had was quite adequate. It wasn't massive but in comparison to another hotel we stayed in recently it was good. We had a problem with the room safe in that it wasn't working, it was reported but nothing was done until I mentioned it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Southdown_Man
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Southdown_Man, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your positive comments with regards to your room size, breakfast and the staff. Customer service is of utmost importance to us so it makes all our hard work worthwhile. I'm sorry you...

Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Owing to attending a conference the company pre-booked me into the Holiday Inn. This was only advantageous as I wouldn't have too far to travel to the conference on a daily basis. Given the lowest Charge per room/night is £147, I would have expected more. The TV remote in the room was/is held together by black masking tape. The bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Troy F
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Troy F, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. As the hotel was built in the 1970's, the rooms are unfortunately all of a similar size, sadly on the smaller side especially the bathrooms so we have to do the best we can...

Reviewed 21 September 2015

Stayed for two days with my wife in room 602, an executive room on the 6th floor. Normally stay in holiday inns and decided on the executive for the size of the room. However, in Portsmouth all rooms are the same size, that of a shoe box. The pillows were dreadful (The type I would expect to buy at pound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KBeardsley
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear KBeardsley, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. As the hotel was built in the 1970's, the rooms are unfortunately all of a similar size, sadly on the smaller side and, as such, we differentiate between Standard and Executive rooms based...

Midlands
Reviewed 20 September 2015

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel before as we have family in the area, and although it is nothing special, it suits our needs. This time we were bringing my elderly mother (93) with us for a surprise party for one of our relatives, and asked for a family room. We were given room 111, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pollypops
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Pollypops, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are pleased to hear that you have stayed here a few times and thank you for your in depth feedback, positive and negative - without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. Please accept my apologies for the lift not working,...

Reviewed 19 September 2015

Stayed for 4 nights. Night 1: water was turned off, had to blag bottled water from manager just so I could brush my teeth. Toilet would not flush. Night 2: toilet blocked. Tea/coffee not refreshed. Night 3: what can only be described as 'skidmarks' on supposedly clean towels Night 4: sink blocked. Other things that went wrong: - no iron/ironing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Shirley D, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear you were so very disappointed with your stay. I have taken all of your feedback on board - it is very important to us in order to continually improve our standards. Please accept my apologies and I hope we can...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 September 2015

The central location and terrific access to Old Portsmouth sites make this a great choice for a short break. We stayed 4 days and found the staff helpful and pleasant and amenities predictable for an express hotel. Carpets would benefit from updating or cleaning. Pretty easy experience overall to reach places for business and leisure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank likabreak
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear likeabreak, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I believe you have written a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Gunwharf Quays and this is the Holiday Inn Portsmouth (Southsea) page. Thankyou for your feedback though, I will pass it all on to the Holiday Inn Express. Kind regards Emily de Wolff

Essex UK
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times, but this time one of the lifts was out of order. This obviously caused chaos at breakfast as we were staying on the 7th floor and most people didnt want to/ or were unable to walk down. Didnt spoil trip, but would have helped if we had been told previously so we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee26EssexUK
EmilydW283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Lee26EssexUK, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are pleased to hear that you have stayed with us a few times and please accept my apologies for the lift being out of order during your recent stay. We are aware that it is probably causing some inconvenience, especially for the guests higher...

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (44)
Viewed
Executive Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
6.4 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,164 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
765 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,475 reviews
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $149 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
8 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Telford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some road noise from the rooms at front but not excessive.”
petersA5889RC, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view room to get a better view”
christophersawyer, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
  • What the...?
Bender_B_Rodriguez, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sixth floor for best views and executive room perks.”
marinerCoventry, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All very standard, go cheap and eat elsewhere.”
Plashfacker, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$116* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$254
Hotels.comUS$116
Booking.comUS$115
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates