We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel

Save
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (6)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“train station”(90 reviews)
“car park”(69 reviews)
“gunwharf quays”(43 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
309
184
66
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
309
184
66
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcar parkgunwharf quaysmulti storeycosta coffeetesco expressdiscounted parkingvalidate your ticketfew minutes walk awaythyme restauranthistoric dockyardexcellent locationmeal dealco opair confamily roomrestaurant staff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 603 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Stayed here on business. Finished late and got to the hotel around 9:30pm. Headed straight for the restaurant and ordered the Chicken Escalope thinking it would be quick and easy. It was raw! I returned it to the kitchen for a refund, deciding it would...More

Thank Matt N
Reviewed 2 days ago

Clean room and nice maid, but it had a very dark feel too it and was not as spacious as some Premier Inns. It felt like it was quite old, but it cannot be because it was not when I lived in Portsmouth a few...More

Thank Liz12341
Response from Andy S, HOST at Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Liz12341, Thank you for your feedback. We value all feedback we recieve from guests and we will certainly check our lighting on all floors to ensure we are not too dark. We are glad you had a good nights sleep and that our housekeeping...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This hotel was perfect as we were travelling by public transport and didn't want to drag cases too far. It's situated right next to Portsmouth and Southsea Railway Station and there were bus stops right outside to the Historic Dockyard. The hotel was clean, the...More

Thank Helen W
Response from Andy S, Host at Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre HotelResponded 2 days ago

Dear Helen W, Thank you so much for your kind words. Our location is a huge bonus to many of our guests, with easy access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the food in our restaurant. I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent - extremely clean, staff very good and will come back again en route to FRance. We have used many Premier Inns in the past and this one ix really convenient. The only problem is there is no parking on site but we got a...More

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Thank 6Jenny2013
Response from Andy S, host at Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear 6Jenny2013, Thank you so much for your kind review. We think it's our team that makes us stand out from the crowd: from the brilliant housekeeping team to our ground floor team and chefs. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay at these frequently this one very much felt non welcoming you check in by computer there’s no receptionist no one to talk to the restaurant was empty the breakfast was very in and out, not one off there better onesMore

Thank bertiemuzza1980
Response from Andy S, host at Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear bertiemuzza1980, We are sorry that we didn't meet our own high standards on this occassion. We do have two members of staff on ground floor at all times, so there should usually be a receptionist to talk to. The check in kiosks are there...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Portsmouth
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$88 - US$169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andrea P
May 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andy S | Property representative |
Hi Andrea P, Portsmouth International Ferry Port is about 5 minutes away in a taxi... and as Jon S has suggested above, taxis are available from the train station or we can call a cab for you from reception.
0
Votes
Dave P
April 24, 2018|
Answer
Response from roosterza | Reviewed this property |
The hotel does not have a car park, secure or otherwise. You'd need to look for nearby car parks. The nearest that I'm aware of is the Craswell Street car park, but I'm not sure how secure it is overnight.
1
Vote
Jeie31016
February 8, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Andy S | Property representative |
Hello, yes we do accept 17 Year olds. 16's and older are classed as adults so there for need there for need their own room.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"314 has walk in shower"
Read review
"Don't be put off by being next t the train station, it was very quiet considering."
Read review
"We were on the top floor, great views from the room."
Read review
"With proximity to station, ask for a quiet room!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing