We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,095: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2014

This is a very average hotel, i have seen better B&B, Rooms are like a lego set and very basic, having said that it is very clean and warm, reasonably comfortable and staff are good. Breakfast is a bit of a joke unless you like cereal and toast because thats all there is at £4-95 extra cost, however there is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Goldsims
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. Raphaella Yver. More 

Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise from Southampton. We have stayed in other Ibis Budget hotels both in UK and Europe so we knew what to expect. Staff were very helpful especially when it came to calling a taxi to take us to the cruise terminal - it was a busy morning for the taxis but the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pharm51
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver More 

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2014

I only made it to the reception and cafeateria area of this hotel. So I can not comment on the room standards but I do feel that a review is still necessary due to the treatment we received by this hotel. On arrival at the hotel, I handed in my reservation printout to the receptionist who told me that my... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cristine34
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver, General Manager. More 

Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2014

I often stay at this hotel whilst visiting family in Southampton and friends at the Uni, on every occasion I've stayed here I find the staff very welcoming and more than helpful throughout my stay. The room is always very clean and comfortable, although I only really use this as a base which i come back to late at night.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver More 

Rotherham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed Friday into Saturday. Very basic but also very clean. No extra luxuries but not an issue. Breakfast poor. We went next door to McDonald's. It's a better choice however than its neigh our the Novotel at half the price. If it's convenience at the right price go for it. If it's luxury treat stay elsewhere. Having said that. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackreagan508
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Raphaella Yver More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

This hotel was ideally situated for a function we were attending at the nearby Novotel and we reserved 2 rooms. The mattress was so hard that we had to sleep on top of the duvet and, as the thermostat would not adjust higher than 19.5 degrees we had to sleep in our clothes. Drunken guests breaking bottles and tossing drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather P
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver. More 

Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2014

It was a good site to spend some days since the location is excellent near many big shopping malls, also near the harbour and tha Sea Museum. The parking should be less expensive for customers staying more than 3 days. Also the staff should more carefully with providing breakfast, since you can find some food only before 8am.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Leonard D
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver. More 

Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2014

This is a cheap and cheerful hotel. We booked for one night prior to a cruise and I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean; the shower was strong and invigorating and the WiFi was free. The hotel is very close to the rail and bus station so, no problem in connecting from the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver More 

singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We needed a bed for a night and for a budget hotel we got what we paid for. We had no problems with checking in or out. Yes the room is small but is the same as all the other ibis budget hotels elsewhere. Our room was clean. The location was very good for us as we did not have... More 

Helpful?
Thank alanne
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Raphaella Yver More 

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
875 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#8 of 24 in Southampton
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,623 reviews
0.8 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#18 of 24 in Southampton
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Raphaella YVER, the Manager of the Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre is a low-cost hotel situated in central Southampton, close to the shopping and nightlife of Southampton city centre and easily accessible from the M27. The hotel has 124 contemporary guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room has en-suite shower, air cooling and flat-screen TV with freeview channels. Free WI-FI throughout. 24/7 reception, 24/7 snacks/drinks and as much as you can eat buffet breakfast at £5.50. On-site car-park from £6 for 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $47 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 442Lin, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 4th floor. Nice & quite.”
 of 5 bubbles 841davea, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on the 4th floor facing the carpark”
 of 5 bubbles 936nikkit, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Insist on a room NOT overlooking fast food restaurant car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Lee1950, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a view on the Novotel.”
 of 5 bubbles smartgrandpa, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay