We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mayview Guest House

TravelocityUS$46*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$56*
US$46*
Great Deal
US$48*
US$56*
US$46*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Mayview Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Mayview Guest House
 Click to rate
Sarreguemines, France
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Charming guest house, 5 minutes by foot from central station. Room (12) was clean, had recent furniture and had everything one needs although very small. Very good full english breakfast and very friendly owner. Room size is okay for 1 person but too small for 2. Very small bassin in the bathroom. Room 12 is in the backyard of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred_voyageur_France
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Excellent location. I had requested ground floor. When I arrived, I was politely told the single room was up 2 flights of stairs so not appropriate. It might have been courteous just to let me know that they had moved me to their sister hotel over the road. I therefore cannot review this guest house fully.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilynx48
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Visited Southampton for a christening and so just needed somewhere good value and comfortable and was actually pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a flat screen and ensuite which I didn't necessarily expect for a B&B and breakfast was top notch. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoshuaJJames
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Second time I've stayed here, the place is well run with good sized rooms and is clean and comfortable. Town center is a five minute walk as is the train station.would highly recommend one night or a few. Breakfast is also good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RevenueAnalyst1
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in a few B&B's before and this one is excellent. Much preferable to the chains and cheaper. Good value, great breakfast and amazing location. 3 mins into the centre of town. Would stay here again anytime!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niparat S
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Clean and cheerful B&B with a great atmosphere. Really enjoyed the company of the lady running it Noopin. Very helpful and sweet. Would highly recommend this place. Also incredibly close to the city centre

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian J
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Booked this guest house but when we turned up was told it was full and we'd been put in a different guest house across the road. Not what we booked and paid for ! This is false advertising and I wouldn't have chosen where we were put !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cuddog12
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry you we're moved to another guesthouse, we accept this as our mistake. There was a problem with our channel management software and an overbooking occurred on our channel management software (something we have rectified now), rather than cancel your reservation we tried to accommodate you somewhere else. Please accept our appologies Kind Regards Lisette

Province of Avellino, Italy
Reviewed 28 February 2017

If I have to book a room in Southampton again, for sure I would not book there again. I Had a reservation but unfortunately at the last moment I could not take my fly, so i canceled my room the same day of my arriving, they should charge me £43 for my cancellation at the last moment but they CHARGED...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TAVOR_21
uk SW
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Booked this place last minute for a night before our cruise. Lovely young chap helped us in with our cases to our ground floor twin room. All beautifully clean and fresh. Nice size flat screen tv on the wall and shower room with loo en suite. After a very comfortable night we had a very filling full English breakfast on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuzzylogique
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Booked this guest house for one night (thankfully) when we visited Southampton for a show. The outside of the building looked well kept but the front door and hallway looked shabby. Bedroom was listed as a triple but only two single beds - room was a nice size and decorated ok and two single beds were comfortable. We were in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathy C
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, We're sorry about the smell in the room, there was works being carried out at a neighbouring property and they damaged our drains. We have rectified the situation now and there are no issues. Apologies this spoiled your stay. Best Lee

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 km away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#13 of 43 in Southampton
77 reviews
0.1 km away
Polygon Villas Guest House
Polygon Villas Guest House
#19 of 43 in Southampton
94 reviews
0.1 km away
Claremont Guest House
Claremont Guest House
#17 of 43 in Southampton
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#32 of 43 in Southampton
27 reviews
0.7 km away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#22 of 43 in Southampton
79 reviews
0.6 km away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#6 of 43 in Southampton
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Mayview Guest House

Address: 30 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $76 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayview Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mayview Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mayview Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms 11 and 12 which are located in the backyard”
Fred_voyageur_France, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“do not book there”
TAVOR_21, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“i heard the rooms 4 and5 are best because of ground floor.”
, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Had a look at all and they were all great”
348marion, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose another place to stay!”
maryellen1210, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$46* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$48
TripAdvisorUS$46
CancelonUS$56
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates