We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,335: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed 1 night before getting on a cruise. Ideally situated to the centre of town. Room very clean and comfortable and warm. All the staff we dealt with were excellent, very friendly, very helpful. £4 a day for parking which we thought was reasonable. You can get a meal deal which is a 2 course dinner, drink and unlimited breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
Lancing
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are going to the football stadium a short walk from this Inn, makes it ideal and has a nice walk across park to shops and restaurants , the walk round the walls of the city was good but we found the Quay area very dull and you could only walk a short way on it as it was...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeaniebeanielancing
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jeaniebeanielancing, Thank you for your recent review of Southampton City Centre Premier Inn. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your comment about the Southampton area, we provide handy pocket guides free of charge in the reception area and also, our hotel team is always on hand to offer friendly advice and...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms are a decent size, clean and comfortable. The location is right in the city centre and was perfect for the start and finish of the marathon (my reason to visit) however there was no flexibility on checkout so I could not take a shower afterwards (learn from London!) which left me feeling disappointed. Unfortunately the rail line runs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkoITFC
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi MarkoITFC, Thank you for your recent review. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Regrettably, it is not always possible to accommodate all late check out requests due to the hotel's availability. The noise from the train line is an unfortunate side effect of out hotel's location, however, as you mentioned, the frequency of the trains over...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the premier inn for four days. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Clean and tidy. Staff were very helpful. Complimentary breakfast was delicious. Short walk to town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dharsh87
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dharsh87, Thank you for your recent review. It's good to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will make sure to pass your nice comments onto the team. I look forward to seeing you again soon, Edd Bolton Operations Manager

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliant location for the city centre. Hotel is very clean and staff very helpful. Visited many premier inns and very satisfied with this one. My only complaint would be I think the residence should be able to park for free and sometimes had to make sure you were back in time for a parking spot because anyone could park there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julia S, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear your feedback on the hotel and I'm glad to hear you would stay with us again! Your comments on the car park are appreciated. Unfortunately, due to the size and location of the car park, effective management of the area is necessary and this incurs a cost....

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Basic but everything you need for an over night stay room was clean breakfast was reasonable !! Sometimes premier can be hit and miss this one was better then Most, ok for a quick other night stay Accommodate for the whole family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank em0901
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi em0901, Thank you for your recent review. I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. I look forward to seeing you again soon, Edd Bolton Operations Manager

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend to visit friends. Very good location, close to town but far enough away for it to be a bit quieter. The main issue was definitely parking! Not enough spaces, you have to pay for parking and people who aren't guests can park there (which I think is wrong!) the car park is tiny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FalklandJess
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi FalklandJess, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear your feedback on the hotel and I'm glad to hear you would stay with us again! Your comments on the car park are appreciated, unfortunately we do have very limited parking spaces due to the central location. The alternative parking available across the road has effective security, however,...

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights with small children. Hotel was easy enough to find with satnav, near a large park, 5 mins walk from restaurants/shops etc. Not loads of parking but we found a space easily when we needed one. All the staff we encountered were polite, friendly and helpful. Room was fine - had 2 smaller beds for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon089
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anon089, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your positive comments onto the team . I look forward to seeing you all again soon, Edd Bolton Operations Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice location, good valve for money. Had very noisy neighbours and asked hotel to sort it nothing happen. Also the car park was an issue managed to get a space no problem but never moved my car after that as there was no way of knowing if the space would still be there and then I would be left with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james h
Edd B, Manager at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Hi James H, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry to hear that you had a disturbed night's sleep. The nights team operate an hourly patrol of all areas in the hotel to monitor security and noise in the hope to reduce any disturbances from other guests. Your comments on the car park are appreciated, unfortunately we do have...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
727 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,615 reviews
1.4 km away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
438 reviews
1.2 km away
No photo provided
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $95 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I can't help with room choice, but can recommend arriving early to get a parking space.”
j100_99, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can request a room not facing the railway track.”
NickO764, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Near High Street, Accessible, Good Restaurant”
fh1980, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 403 - very quiet - in annex block away from reception”
Andrewms14, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure the heating is on in the room you get allocated.”
magsv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5