We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Showing 85: English reviews
Cambridge
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We stayed for 2 nights, and the price was ok for what it is. The room was comfortable enough, but looked like it could do with a bit of a care. The paint on the windows was coming off, so just a few little things would improve the standard. There is a free breakfast, but don't get too excited. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Your feedback is really important to us, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

southend on sea
Reviewed 31 May 2015

we had previously stayed here for a weekend a couple of years ago for a family wedding and found it to be clean, friendly and excellent base for all local amenities. Looking for somewhere to stay for our 10th wedding anniversary we decided to head back here and spend some time sightseeing in the city. We were not disappointed. Spend...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank islizSouthendOnSea
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback.

London
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Stayed for 1 night (Sunday) at the Old Gate Inn. Could do with a bit of a spruce up outside - but then you don't stay outside do you! Inside, lovely welcoming bar with a good selection of beers and plenty of tables. Really nice menu and the food was good quality, presented nicely and delicious. We paid the extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HutchLondon
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.

colchester
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend and had hoped for a bit more than a premier inn/ travel lodge experience. Room was clean but drawer front fell off onto my partners foot when we put clothes away. The shower tray filled up every time we had a shower and the side lamp bulb didn't work. Being 8 months pregnant the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmColchester
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Having seen the earlier reviews only after I stayed last night I wondered if I was in the same place!! I stayed overnight and the the room was excellent, very comfortable. I had a few pints at nght and a meal which again was very good. Breakfast this morning was also very good. I have travelled a lot and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raydenham725
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury.

Romford Essex
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Have stayed at the Old Gate a number of times now and it is still a lovely place to stay. The rooms and bed linen etc are spotlessly clean and staff as friendly as ever. Our Bathroom (Room 6) didn't have a bath just a shower but it was quite large with modern fittings that worked very well. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidayfan55
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We arrived not really knowing what to expect, mixed reviews had been made. We had been given the stay as a present using Virgin experience days, I cannot fault the place, the service was excellent from beginning to end, always with a smile and prompt. The room (No 6) was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. We ate in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris U
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper' s Lodge Canterbury on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2015

four of us stayed here in 2 rooms and had a brilliant time. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the actual bar/restaurant itself was fab too. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dayle W
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2014

We stayed here for one night to experience Christmas Canterbury and to shop. We ate lunch in the bar, good quality and value but rather slow service, before walking round the corner to catch the Park and Ride bus. The hotel is on the perfect position if you want to ditch the car. We arrived back at the room quite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SUSAN M
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Wolschwiller, Alsace, France
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We stayed recently stayed here for one night prior to taking an early train through the tunnel back to France. Our room was comfortable, warm and well-furnished. Before checking in, we had a delicious lunch in the bar, the steak & Kidney pudding was sublime! We also ate in the bar in the evening, we both had fish and chips,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Old Gate Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
3.5 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#11 of 17 in Canterbury
354 reviews
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
4.9 km away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
339 reviews
4.2 km away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#7 of 75 in Canterbury
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Address: The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $94 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms overlooking the car park are quieter, colleague stayed on the side of the main room and said it was very noisy and didn't sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles mollyvv, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles linda012016, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the back of the hotel - away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles HutchLondon, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“As ever avoid the rooms on the road if a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles holidayfan55, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't get kitchen noise.”
 of 5 bubbles susanmE3663LK, 19 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay