We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

ABode Canterbury

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ABode Canterbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,641: English reviews
New Romney
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel was lovely, room amazing and very friendly staff. We were upgraded which was great and mad the stay evening better. Would highly recommend the hotel, parking was easy too with the car park nearly opposite the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 419lorrained
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel but rather expensive staying on my own. I was also told it was more expensive because of Valentines Day. The location is excellent and very near the Cathedral, where I was spending the week.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annemcdonald21
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We do set the price based on the demand, Valentines is one of the busier nights. Best wishes Declan

england
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had dinner here on a Saturday night, we had a brilliant time. The food was delicious, and very reasonably priced, when the bill came it was lower than we had expected. The staff were so helpful and charming. The chap on the next table was very rude to the wine waiter, but this was handled well. We didn't stay overnight,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sushanna
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, delighted that you had such an enjoyable dinner. Best wishes Declan

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Abode is a great hotel with great staff and a really excellent location right in the heart of Canterbury. Our room was very comfortable with a great bed & Breakfast was also very good. We are visiting the area again in May and will definitely be staying here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 999Nellie
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, look forward to welcoming you back in May. Best wishes Declan

Benfleet
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay was ok, the hotel is very nice, our room did overlook a yard, staff could be more welcoming, we had a meal in the tavern which was nice and the waitress there couldnt have been more helpful, very different from the hotel staff however our only complaint is we were not aware that the tavern turns into a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank traceysE7196WK
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you enjoyed the tavern. Best Declan

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for three nights recently for a short getaway to Canterbury. Hotel is at a perfect location, walking distance of many lovely restaurants and attractions in Canterbury. Only food we had at the hotel was afternoon tea - which was delicious, reasonably priced and couldn't be faulted, in the very champagne bar in the hotel. We stopped for drinks there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily1808
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments delighted that you had such a lovely time and thank you for your recommendation. Best wishes Declan

Gerrards Cross
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Availability of hot water in the bathroom and a wine waiter with common sense or at least some discretion would have turned the 2 night stay into a 5 star experience. As it was we booked an alternative restaurant for Sunday night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q4672QVrobertw
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we have experienced issues with the hot water supply recently and we are installing a new system this week. Best wishes Declan

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice enough hotel but small rooms and parking costs £12.00. Restaurant "fine dining" was awful and the table next to us also complained. They just need to serve normal food at reasonable price and they will get more people in restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshdickinson90
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dinner, we do receive lots of very positive feedback relating to the quality of the food. I will discuss your comments with the executive chef. Best wishes Declan

Laxey
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location, however if it is slept you are after do not stay as th hotel lacks any sound proofing at all between rooms, whole bathroom lacks water pressure and cleaning leaves a lot to be desired.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank neilmW9287ED
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you had a disturbed nights sleep when you stayed at the hotel. We are putting in a new hot water system this week at the hotel which I am confident will improve the water pressure. best wishes Declan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the hotel for the evening for Valentines night. The experience was amazing. The staff are very kind and helpful. The room was very clean. The food is great. We are defo coming back to stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TerryWilson123
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Delighted you had such an enjoyable Valentines night and dinner at the hotel. Best wishes Declan

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,063 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
392 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
252 reviews
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
981 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $109 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ABode Canterbury staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
SOUTH WEST
Romford, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from ABode Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sushanna, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“View to the high street have more charm as they take you back to the middle ages.”
 of 5 bubbles berenicewatersm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 205 is noisy on a Friday morning when they do the bin/bottle collection!”
 of 5 bubbles SassSass, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we got one of the larger rooms and the price difference is worth the extra payment.”
 of 5 bubbles Stavros17, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“choose a room at the back where it is quieter. It can be a long walk from the lift, so if handicapped could be a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles colind221, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5