We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ABode Canterbury

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ABode Canterbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,694: English reviews
Start your review of ABode Canterbury
 Click to rate
Salisbury
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely, well appointed hotel in the centre of Canterbury. Limited parking at the hotel but there were other car parks nearby. Enjoyed being able to walk straight out of the hotel into this historical city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank penelopet26
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed Saturday 25/03/17 overnight into 26/03. We booked to stay to celebrate my wife's birthday so 2 couples in total and we are all in agreement with the following good points first - the Hotel is :- 1) Very central to the main streets with a nice frontage. 2) Gated car park located within a few mins walk of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Middlesbrougg
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very central hotel, short walk to nearby pubs & restaurants & shops & catherdral. Only trouble was finding the car park. Lovely hotel, helpful reception staff. Lovely place to visit, would definitely go back and visit Whitstable bay next time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E596HAclarew
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fab hotel located in walking distance to all the main attractions. Lovely buzzy bar, and formal dining, would def recommend. Have been three times now and stayed in the same hotel each time, very clean hotel, friendly staff who are very keen to help to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jorgab_12
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Sandwiches and cakes were good but scones were over cooked and not as good as previous afternoon teas in Kent which were a cheaper price. They had a good selection of teas which had free top ups. Service generally was good although had to wait a while for additional tea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We booked for an overnight stay with friends for a birthday celebration. The hotel was ok, we were advised at check in there would be maintenance works that would affect the water on Sunday morning, we should have been notified of this prior to arrival. The room was acceptable but it had a wooden floor which wasn't very 'cosy'. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Am lovely hotel in a central location giving easy access to all the sights in Canterbury, very friendly staff will to help with what ever you wan. A lovely building and nice rooms. I would recommend this as a place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spanner240884
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. I will share your comments with the team. Best wishes Declan

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having just read a few of the previous reviews (post visit unfortunately!), I see there has been a long standing problem with providing hot water for the showers. My room had the same problem and it is disappointing to note that the hotel still books out these rooms. Ethical? Hmmmm. When told at reception, the staff appeared surprised that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony212
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are replacing the hot water system at the hotel and works have been ongoing now for several weeks we are hoping to have the new hot water system working by the start of April. Best wishes Declan

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here several times on business. I was upgraded on my 1st visit and it was excellent. Since then I have stayed 3 times and have tried several inns/pubs in the area. Last visit the aircon was faulty - stuck on cold in Feb....I was given a small panel heater after complaining and collecting the heater myself from reception. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kite_Junkie_1992
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your stay was not enjoyable, we are upgrading the heating/AC system this month. Disappointing you have decided not to return, I would be happy to discuss your requirements if you would like to call me on 01227 826670. Best wishes Declan

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had cocktails at the bar , one of the best espresso martinis ever , the bar staff are so cool and friendly , felt like we were locals Eat in the restaurant had the waygu and fries !!!! You can get steak wrong !! Not this restaurant , cooked to perfection , the last piece was as good as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul b
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and high praise for the quality of the cocktail and dinner. Best wishes Declan

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,092 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
397 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
261 reviews
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
1,004 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $133 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ABode Canterbury staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
SOUTH WEST
Romford, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from ABode Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at back of hotel are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles spiceylife, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the High St seems trendy, but I guess it would be noisy at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles miniman2804, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Most Enviable Room with a free standing bath was just beautiful!!”
 of 5 bubbles GAJ1234, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask for a room where the boiler is working!”
 of 5 bubbles oliviao119, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5