We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

985 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 940: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed I the Abbots Barton Hotel this week. Pretty standard as a BW, but functional clean and nice cheery and helpful staff. But could do with an update, bitter was unavailable as was about half the bar menu, which was a bit annoying, In saying that I tweeked my food order and it was perfect Breakfast was buffet style, large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Afctripod
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that you had a good stay with us and that everything was clean. We are currently undergoing renovation works, adding on new leisure facilities and additional bedrooms, with the refurbishment of the existing bedrooms and public areas. Apologies for the unavailable items in the bar when you stayed. Thank you for...

Bourne End, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We booked in here for one night, during graduation it was a struggle to find a hotel. Location was spot on for the family & the room was comfortable. Breakfast was disappointing as for the price of our stay over £ 200 for the night, I would of expected waiter/waitress service, it was nothing special, a self service buffet. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased our location was spot on for your needs and that you found your room comfortable. As you mention you stayed during graduation week when the hotel was fully booked, with that amount of people staying in house we offer a cooked and continental buffet, this is to make sure you get the best...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Very good hotel with kind staff and excellent buffet breakie! Will definitely be back!! We sat in the bar and had a drink which was very relaxing. There was a function in the evening but this did not spoil our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snowwhite972
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Delighted to read you had a nice relaxing time with us and found us to be very good. Thank you for mentioning my team and our breakfast offering and pleased you found us kind. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

kent
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate his bday. The hotel is located about 10 mins walk away from the centre of Canterbury so very convenient as we could leave the car in the carpark. The room was fabulous. The breakfast is plentiful and staff very attentive. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catlee1970
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us very convenient for the city centre. Thank you for mentioning my team and our breakfast offering. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Canterbury.

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Beautiful location!! The hotel was very easy to find, and when we arrived, we got a free upgrade! Going through the reception and hallways, we were in awe for the decor! The room was also very lovely, clean and was decorated in style. It took us a while to find out, how to work the airco, but once we did,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19anneke76
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that you found us easy to find and that our decor was to your liking. Thank you for mentioning my team and glade you found us friendly and helpful. Thank you also for mentioning our food offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

My sister in law booked this hotel as a present for our 25th wedding anniversary .as it was hers also a couple of days later we thought we would book them the same place so we could all go together .what a mistake . I thought it would be good to upgrade our room to the executive suite .what a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank IanBigby
abbotsgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review The gentleman is right, it was very hot in their room, of course one of the hottest days so far this year, but for the record of being factually correct: By small loft room - we mean our 3rd floor with 15 bedrooms. Aircon unit - unfortunately when something electronic breaks, as it does occasionally,...

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Booked the hotel through Secret Escapes to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday and weren't disappointed. The hotel was easy to find on the out skirts of the main city. We were greeted by friendly reception staff who had upgraded us to the bridal suite and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was on the first floor and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigger230749
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted we made your husband's 70th an enjoyable one, and everything was to your liking. Thank you for mentioning my team and our food offering, I am pleased to read that even though we had an issue out of our control in the kitchen, my chefs and waiting team went out of their way...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Attended a work function here recently. Parking ample. Location and access good. Well kept and decorated. Clean and tidy venue. Staff attentive and friendly. Food of. A good choice and catered for vegetarians and gluten free diets. No problems will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 94cassiem
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Pleased to read you found our location good. Thank you for mentioning my team and our food offering and glad everything was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Very friendly & comfortable with generally excellent dining. Some things not working properly (e.g. shower and toilet seat, the former reported but no improvement or feedback) and some surprising items running out (bread in evening, cheese at breakfast). Wifi free but annoyingly had to provide registration details and then log in again each time my iPad was switched on.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip D
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please to read you had a good stay with us. Apologies for the couple of lapses in breakfast stock levels and maintenance. All these issues have now been remedied. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

What a most fantastic hotel and the most amazing staff, we had our wedding at this venue a day and must admitted it exceeded our expectations, the whole setup was totally professional and nothing was too much for the staff. Thanks Abbotts Barton for helping our dreams come to life.... and a very special thanks to Magdalena and Aura.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cboxot
Mark C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read we made your special day a memorable one and that we exceeded your expectations, making your dreams come to life. Thank you for mentioning my team especially Magdalena and Aura, I have passed on your kind comments. Kind Regards

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.1 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,667 reviews
0.9 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,046 reviews
1.0 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel

Address: 36 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $101 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Canterbury
Canterbury Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“older part of hotel very cosy we had room 104”
 of 5 bubbles susanOxted, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Twin room in old building was large with an large bathroom too - Room no 223”
 of 5 bubbles SuzySmithSurrey, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views are over the gardens and if you can stretch to it, book a superior room, they are worth every penny!”
 of 5 bubbles Pink_Lady_MBB, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top floors will have no one above to produce creaks!”
 of 5 bubbles alasg3, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose upper floors to the side and the rear of the building, with Elevator Access etc”
 of 5 bubbles 170hermannb, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay