We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

3 Cambridge Villas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
3 Cambridge Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Lancashire
Reviewed 1 week ago

This B&B is in an excellent location in the heart of Ambleside - everything just a few minutes walk away. The hosts, Ann and Andrew, are extremely friendly and helpful and the accommodation is well equipped and comfortable, though some rooms are a bit on the small side. Parking, at the back of the building, is limited; and is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpw60
AndyS19893Cam, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your review, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. I understand your concern about ordering the breakfast the night before, however the reason for this is so we can reduce waste, we only cook what is needed and also reduce your waiting time come the morning....

Wooler, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was comfortable with adequate space. The breakfast was excellent and timing of it was flexible. The B+B is ideally placed close to the centre of town. There was no noise from outside the building but as it's an old building there were creaking floors internally.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
AndyS19893Cam, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi Pam, Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is typical that you mentioned the creaky floors because you were actually the last guests to leave before we tightened all the floorboards and had a new carpet fitted on the halls and stairs. So it is now...

Bradford
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This was the perfect base camp for us for 4 nights recently. Based very centrally in Ambleside its the ideal location for setting up your base camp. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts Andrew and Ann right from the word go. We were in room 2 which is warm, quiet and comfortable and located at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank streeti
AndyS19893Cam, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi Ian and Anne, Thank you very much for your review, it is very much appreciated and sorry for the slow response. Thank you for your very kind words, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. You certainly did know how to get through your orange juice though! Apparently the local Spar has only just recovered from all...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Cambridge Villas for a week during our visit to the Lakes. Situated right in the heart of Ambleside, it's location is perfect: pubs and restaurants just up the road, whilst the mountains are always visible in the distance - stunning location. Ambleside is also right by Windermere Lake too, and a great base for the Lake District....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amaya H
Andy S, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we are very grateful. We are so glad that you had a nice time staying with us. No problem regarding the toothbrush, even though we did ask you if you had remembered to take everything with you. :p Thanks again for the lovely review. Hopefully see you...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed here on our Coast to Coast cycle route and received a very friendly welcome, great hearty breakfasts and comfortable rooms. We also were grateful for the secure bike storage. A shame we were only travelling through!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane65000
Andy S, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi Jane, Thanks very much for your lovely review. We are really glad that you were comfortable, which i assume is very important during a coast to coast trip. I hope that they successfully completed their trip. Thanks very much again for your comment and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. All the best, Andy and...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Ann and Andrew were the perfect hosts. They run a lovely B&B in Ambleside. Our room No 2 was very clean and a good size and we loved the chocolate bars left for us each day. The bathroom/shower was also a very good size and water pressure was very good. You also get a excellent breakfast to set you up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAN M
Andy S, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi Ian and Wendy, Thank you very much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your week with us, you certainly kept the dining room a lively place every morning. Thanks again for your review and we certainly hope to see you next time you decide to visit the Lakes. All the best, Andy and Ann

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

This is the first time that we have stayed at 3 Cambridge Villas. We received a lovely welcome from Andy and were shown our room. The bed was immaculate and very comfy. Tea and coffee facilities provided along with a couple of chocolate bars each day. The shower was not the most powerful in the world but the hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
AndyS19893Cam, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are really glad that you had a good time with us. You must enjoy a nice long hot shower at the end of the day by the sound of it, haha. We do understand your comments about the decorations. Although...

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

My husband & I spend 3 nights here this week. It had a lovely, friendly atmosphere. Ann & Andy were very friendly & helpful. A nice comfortable room & very nice breakfast. Should we get a chance to visit the lakes again we would certainly book to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
AndyS19893Cam, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi Marilyn and David, Thanks a lot for your review, it means a lot to us and is very much appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and would return in the future. It was lovely getting to know you over the three days and we would be delighted to welcome you back any time....

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

We were down for only one night and was a bit disappointed. The room was really small and although it was a double room it only had one chair to sit on. The en suite was tiny and water pressure was really poor. The room was on the front and the noise from the street was bad with drunks until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
AndyS19893Cam, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi Margaret, Thanks for your review, and we are sorry that you didn't have the best time with us. We are centrally located in the popular village of Ambleside, so unfortunately that means you do have to occasionally put up with the odd idiot walking home at night, as you would in any centrally located building, although it's rare that...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We were a party of 11 who are arrived as separate groups but all received a warm welcome. The host are very friendly The rooms are clean and very cosy and we all got a good nights sleep. They gave us lots of information about the surrounding area which helped us find our way around. Breakfast was tasty with plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
AndyS19893Cam, Owner at 3 Cambridge Villas, responded to this review

Hi Emma and gang, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy that you all had a good time, we very rarely take such large groups but we would happily welcome you all back again tomorrow. Thanks for all the positive comments, it is nice to hear when people enjoy their...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 km away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#47 of 106 in Ambleside
142 reviews
0.1 km away
Smallwood House Hotel
Smallwood House Hotel
#43 of 106 in Ambleside
154 reviews
0.6 km away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#20 of 106 in Ambleside
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#48 of 106 in Ambleside
197 reviews
0.0 km away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#5 of 106 in Ambleside
571 reviews
0.6 km away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#60 of 106 in Ambleside
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ann and Andrew welcome you to 3 Cambridge Villas Bed and Breakfast. We are situated in the centre of the lovely Lakeland village of Ambleside, less than 5 minutes walk away from many of the villages many shops, pubs, restaurants and other amenities. Our house was built in the Victorian era, traditional slate on the outside and clean and modern on the inside. We have 5 double bedrooms and 1 single bedroom all of which are en-suite with showers. If you would like to book with us and get the best possible rates please book through our own on-line booking page or give us a call. Below, we have listed a few good reasons why you might like to come to Ambleside and stay at 3 Cambridge villas: - Ideal location in the heart of the Lake District. We are in the centre of Ambleside but off the main road. - Great array of pubs, cafes and restaurants within strolling distance. - 15-minute walk to the Lake Cruises at Waterhead on the shores of Windermere. - Lots of the best hill walks start from Ambleside. - We have secure bike storage in our shed, room for a few push bikes and two motorbikes. More outside storage available. - All our guests have a front door key so you can come and go whenever you want. - Free Wi-Fi (subject to availability) - Limited free parking space if you book early or there is a public car park at the back of the house. - Coming by bus, the bus stop is less than one minute away. - Great breakfasts, (big ones or small ones) we will try to accommodate any special requirements. - There are many outdoor activities just across the road including Pitch and Putt, Crazy Golf, Tennis and Bowls. - We have three great cinemas within a 5 minute walk showing a great selection of films and genres. - We are a completely non smoking Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 3 Cambridge Villas

Address: 3 Cambridge Villas Church Street, Ambleside LA22 9DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $122 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 3 Cambridge Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 3 Cambridge Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms appear very good”
 of 5 bubbles 70brianm70, 29 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Go for a larger room....worth the price. Room 8 ok for a few days if nothing else but otherwise go for a different room.”
 of 5 bubbles sunnyray_13, 4 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room 6 is to the front and side. We had a little traffic noise and someone walking back from pub about 1am but not an issue to us.”
 of 5 bubbles daveb106, 28 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Our room was at the front, possibly No 4 and was quiet even though had windows wide open at night”
 of 5 bubbles Wendymungy, 4 Sep 2012 | Read review
“If stair climbing is a problem be sure to discuss what floor the room will be on.”
 of 5 bubbles TraditionFlorida2012, 18 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5