We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smallwood House Hotel

Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (7)
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“car park”(16 reviews)
“warm cosy room”(2 reviews)
“full english”(12 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Pets Allowed
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkwarm cosy roomfull englishshower attachmentmatthew's bistrolike coming homemarmaladeb and bprivate parkingtea coffee making facilitieslong weekendtown centrestayed here for two nightslovely hostsshort staypubs and restaurantslovely breakfast
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Small minor issue, shower is hand held over bath which is tad awkward but lovely hosts and very clean hotel. Great location for all and private car park which is very rare in Ambleside Cost was fair and reasonable, would be more than happy to...More

Thank Natalie M
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Just returned home from short stay at Smallwood House which my wife and I really enjoyed nice big room with big bed on suite bathroom was lovely breakfast good but could be bigger like big sausage loved the marmalade our hosts were very friendly with...More

Thank Eryl B
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This is a large B and B which does what it should - lovely and efficient hosts, breakfast cooked for you with lots of options and our room was large, bright and airy. Although it wa on the main road, we slept very well. There...More

Thank Tim J
Response from Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House HotelResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you very much for your review and positive words, it is appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

Reviewed 4 May 2017

Spent bank holiday at this bed and breakfast never again 4 star what a joke on arrival we were told we had to pay extra for breakfast at 97 pound a night we were lead to believe breakfast was included so that was a disappointment...More

Thank marion037
Response from Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House HotelResponded 7 May 2017

Well, we are sorry that you didnt enjoy your weekend. HOWEVER, we cannot apologise for the fact that you booked online through a third party and DID NOT check what you had booked. We did not lead you to believe that you had booked breakfast,...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

A motorcycle friendly hotel, it was easy to find with parking at the rear. The hotel is located in the heart of Ambleside so its a short walk from the shops, pubs, crazy golf and restaurants At night the car park is full,so tricky to...More

Thank IamMrLee
Response from Smallwoodhouse, Owner at Smallwood House HotelResponded 24 April 2017

Great to hear that you had such a good nights sleep. You are right if you had asked for more of anything at breakfast you could have had it. It is difficult to cater for everyone's appetites. We have been asked twice in our time...More

View more reviews
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (7)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Smallwood House Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Pay the little extra for a front bay fronted room."
Read review
"If you have trouble climbing stairs ask the owners for a room in a lower floor."
Read review
"Just ask Christine for her best room :)"
Read review
"It's town centre, but there are views of the surrounding countryside. It is on one of the main roads..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing