We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Log House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Log House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Log House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 130: English reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

What a fab meal! Would strongly recommend The Hot Rick for a meal. The hot rock steak was the best I have had and the staff were fantastic with friendly attitude. Interesting history of how the studio was brought over from Norway Defiantly worth a visit when in Ambleside

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clare B
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

This place is fab would highly recommend a visit the food is fantastic owner very attentive and helpful a wonderful find would defiantly recommend and we would defiantly pay another visit! We did go into the town for a drink after a little bit rowdy probably would not recommend anywhere to go we should have stayed at the log house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We have just returned for a two night break and I would like to say thank you for a wonderful stay. The welcome we received was so friendly and the Log House is cosy and very clean. We ate in the restaurant on our first night, the meal was wonderful my husband had the chicken wings and steak, I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rupertsimon
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

We're there Wednesday night me and my wife had steak the best I've had cooked on a laver stone nice wine and good service a must place to visit be going there again check times of opening closed two days of the week not many tables you need to book

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We had booked earlier in the day, upon arrival we waited near by to the bar to be seated, however staff kept looking over but not attending to us, we then walked to the bar to ask the bartender where to sit. The interior was lovely, both our chairs were really wobbly though! The waitress wasn't very polite at first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JadeCarly
England
Reviewed 16 May 2015

This is probably the best meal I have had in the UK in years. We could not find anything to complain about. The restaurant is beautiful and extremely clean. The staff are so very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. When our meals came the best I have eaten in UK for years. So good we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FranjanEngland
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Had a meal with my husband earlier this week in the gorgeous log cabin, in a perfect location. The food was excellent and the service was second to none. I couldn't of mustered a complaint if I wanted to. Everything was excellent. Great work from new owners keep it up, the log house is destined for success

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenarichards
Manchester
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We had booked to stay at the hotel using a WOWCHER offer - when we called to book they explained that the offer had been over subscribed and that we were unable to book within the period allocated. They advised that they would honour it outside of the period if we were interested. The next available booking they had was...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank hotelguest76
Teamchef, Owner at The Log House, responded to this review

As new owners of the Log House from the 27th March 2015 we have requested many times that this review be removed by the reviewer or Trip Advisor. This has not been the case. We have helped those who had booked with the previous owners over the last year to gain refunds and even offered stays with us as a...

London
Reviewed 19 December 2014

This is more for a couple romantic getaway. The room was lovely, clean and everything in it you needed. Breakfast was gorgeous and staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a short walk into the town which had lovely shops and restaurants. The only negative is we were on the road side and it was quite noisy, but on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WendysLondon
Flookburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We stayed at the log house for one night. Until recently the log house had an excellent reputation for food and service, sadly this is no longer the case. The welcome was fair, although there was no provision for parking as the only have 2 permits for the 3 bedrooms, we obviously arrived last. The bedroom was trying to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 532Deanb

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.5 km away
Ambleside Manor
Ambleside Manor
#33 of 106 in Ambleside
59 reviews
0.8 km away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#71 of 106 in Ambleside
112 reviews
0.1 km away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#20 of 106 in Ambleside
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#6 of 106 in Ambleside
569 reviews
5.9 km away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 24 in Hawkshead
208 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake House
Lake House
#15 of 106 in Ambleside
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Log House is a beautiful log cabin on the outskirts of Ambleside town centre and a moments walk from Lake Windermere. The building itself has been shipped over from Norway by renowned artist Alfred Heaton Cooper, and still has its original log beams. We have 3 bedrooms, a restaurant and bar area and downstairs we have a lovely cosey lounge for you to sit and relax in, reading books or playing board games. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Log House

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $119 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Log House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Log House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Log House Hotel Ambleside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Log House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Log House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good location”
 of 5 bubbles 134lesleyt, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are only 3 rooms and I think they will all be as good as each other.”
 of 5 bubbles sueturtle, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Look before you book”
 of 5 bubbles 532Deanb, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
“no apart from dont stay here”
 of 5 bubbles penelopeh851, 22 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for the tartan room with the 6' bed.”
 of 5 bubbles sierrasea, 19 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay