We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Higham Hall

| Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth CA13 9SH, England
Save
Lowest prices for your stay
2017-12-03 2017-12-04
Are these your travel dates?
TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in CockermouthSee available hotels in Cockermouth
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Overwater Hall
554 reviews
#1 of 1 hotels in Ireby
 
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
475 reviews
#1 of 1 hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
 
The Cottage in the Wood
605 reviews
#1 of 1 hotels in Braithwaite
 
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
647 reviews
#1 of 1 hotels in Under Skiddaw
 
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“lake district” (3 reviews)
“b b” (2 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

My third visit to Higham Hall was as good as ever. The course and visits were well planned and executed. The staff and tutor were well prepared and friendly. My food preferences had been accommodated without me having to ask. There is an ongoing plan...More

Thank margaret k
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Have just attended a course led by artist Robert Dutton. It was excellent, great fun and a very good painting experience. Higham Hall catered for us extremely well, wonderful food! Comfortable and friendly and helpful staff. Thank you all.

Thank Margaret H
Reviewed 14 May 2017

I have just attended the Cutting Garden Course by Louise Stoddart.It was an excellent course and I learned a great deal. It is the second time I have been to Higham Hall and I am very impressed with the standard of courses and the tutors....More

Thank Julie J
Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the course. Louise, one of our newer tutors, will be pleased you found her course useful. We will offer more with her in the future.

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

I have come for a course once a year for years. The price is right at the breaking point for me....it's pricey but the tutor makes it worth it. The course is very supportive. Instructor Karen Quickfall is patient and very knowledgeable. The gardens have...More

1  Thank MishaFontenot
Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 20 June 2017

Many thanks for your review. I agree with some of the things you say, especially about the bedrooms and bathrooms. Needless to say, we are addressing these things as means allow, and, gradually, some bedrooms are being refurbished, with the bathrooms down on our todo...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Poor value for money.... I wanted art tuition and to learn something! Anything! and a bit of away-from-home luxury! Distinct lack of! I learned nothing and paid over £200 for day and a half of nothing ... would have been better spent painting in the...More

Thank chris w
Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 3 May 2017

We are very sorry that you have felt so disappointed in your experience of the Higham art course you attended. Your feedback has been carefully noted, as we do take all feedback we receive seriously. You were evidently expecting something different from the course, the...More

About
Amenities
  • Top amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Hotel Amenities
  • Free Parking
  • Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Details
  • Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Number of rooms
  • 32
  • Location
  • United Kingdom >
  • England >
  • Cumbria >
  • Lake District >
  • Cockermouth
  • Also Known As
  • Higham Hall Cockermouth, England, UK
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark T
26 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Higham H | Property representative |
Hi Mark, Thanks for your enquiry. As we are primarily a residential college, we would probably not have space on a weekend night like this as we will have courses. (We have not yet published our courses for October so we... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Free wifi is available in the lounge and dining areas."
Read review
"Not all rooms have en-suite, but you can book one if you like. Bathrooms seem to be quite close by the rooms..."
Read review
"All the rooms are quiet, some have excellent views."
Read review
"Suspect that all rooms are good and have factors to recommend them..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing