We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Higham Hall

    | Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth CA13 9SH, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (10)
          Room & Suite (2)
          Dining (1)
          Embleton Spa Hotel
          456 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Embleton
           
          Graysonside
          148 reviews
          #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
           
          Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
          1,607 reviews
          #3 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
           
          The Pheasant Inn
          503 reviews
          #4 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
           
          Overview
          • Excellent70%
          • Very good15%
          • Average5%
          • Poor10%
          • Terrible0%
          Travellers talk about
          “b b” (2 reviews)
          Free Internet
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          All hotel details
          Embleton Spa Hotel
          456 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Embleton
           
          Graysonside
          148 reviews
          #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
           
          Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
          1,607 reviews
          #3 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
           
          The Pheasant Inn
          503 reviews
          #4 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
           
          {"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (20)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 20 reviews

          Reviewed 14 May 2017

          I have just attended the Cutting Garden Course by Louise Stoddart.It was an excellent course and I learned a great deal. It is the second time I have been to Higham Hall and I am very impressed with the standard of courses and the tutors....More

          Thank Julie J
          Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 1 week ago

          Thank you for taking the time to review the course. Louise, one of our newer tutors, will be pleased you found her course useful. We will offer more with her in the future.

          Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

          I have come for a course once a year for years. The price is right at the breaking point for me....it's pricey but the tutor makes it worth it. The course is very supportive. Instructor Karen Quickfall is patient and very knowledgeable. The gardens have...More

          Thank MishaFontenot
          Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 1 week ago

          Many thanks for your review. I agree with some of the things you say, especially about the bedrooms and bathrooms. Needless to say, we are addressing these things as means allow, and, gradually, some bedrooms are being refurbished, with the bathrooms down on our todo...More

          Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

          Poor value for money.... I wanted art tuition and to learn something! Anything! and a bit of away-from-home luxury! Distinct lack of! I learned nothing and paid over £200 for day and a half of nothing ... would have been better spent painting in the...More

          Thank chris w
          Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 3 May 2017

          We are very sorry that you have felt so disappointed in your experience of the Higham art course you attended. Your feedback has been carefully noted, as we do take all feedback we receive seriously. You were evidently expecting something different from the course, the...More

          Reviewed 30 March 2017

          I have stayed at Higham Hall four times now and really enjoyed every stay. The location is beautiful, the accommodation characterful and comfortable, the food superb and the Stained Glass course excellent. Bill's teaching and guidance is brilliant. I will definitely be back!

          Thank Dawn297
          Response from Higham H, Manager at Higham HallResponded 1 week ago

          Thank you - and Bill is one of our most valued Tutors, as well as being an extremely nice gentleman to deal with. We hope to continue to entice him up from the Wirral as long as we can!

          Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

          Had the best time did s week workshop with Susan Christopher coulson doing pencil botanical drawing it was fabulous The foods great and it's like staying in a country house not a hotel highly recommend

          1  Thank lorrainem134
          Embleton Spa Hotel
          456 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Embleton
           
          Graysonside
          148 reviews
          #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
           
          Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
          1,607 reviews
          #3 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
           
          The Pheasant Inn
          503 reviews
          #4 of 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Internet
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Number of rooms
          • 32
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • England >
          • Cumbria >
          • Lake District >
          • Cockermouth
          • Also Known As
          • Higham Hall Cockermouth, England, UK
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (10)
          Room & Suite (2)
          Dining (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (10)
          Nearby
          Sponsored by:
          Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
          880 reviews
          2.51 km away
           
          Embleton Spa Hotel
          456 reviews
          2.59 km away
           
          Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
          519 reviews
          3.63 km away
           
          The Pheasant Inn
          503 reviews
          .01 km away
           
          Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
          1,607 reviews
          1.88 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Bistro at the Distillery
          407 reviews
          1.38 km away
          Wheatsheaf Inn
          208 reviews
          2.69 km away
          The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood
          266 reviews
          6.37 km away
          Wheatsheaf Inn
          243 reviews
          6.69 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          The Lakes Distillery
          853 reviews
          1.38 km away
          Whinlatter Forest Park
          498 reviews
          6.25 km away
          J.B.Banks and Son Ltd
          122 reviews
          7.69 km away
          The Lake District Wildlife Park
          509 reviews
          2.24 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Mark T
          Do you have a double room with en-suite bathroom available for the night of Saturday 15 October? We are attending a 60th birthday party in the area. We would like breakfast on Sunday morning if possible. Thanks!
          26 April 2016|
          Answer
          Response from Higham H | Property representative |
          Hi Mark, Thanks for your enquiry. As we are primarily a residential college, we would probably not have space on a weekend night like this as we will have courses. (We have not yet published our courses for October so we... More
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Not all rooms have en-suite, but you can book one if you like. Bathrooms seem to be quite close by the rooms..."
          Read review
          "All the rooms are quiet, some have excellent views."
          Read review
          "Suspect that all rooms are good and have factors to recommend them..."
          Read review
          "Telephone and ask for a brochure / prospectus."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing