We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ouse Bridge House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ouse Bridge House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
manchester,england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay here. Check in very quick and Claire gave us a recommendation to eat out locally. Shown to our room on the 1st floor. Room was smallish but already knew this when we booked so not a problem. Nice and cosy though all the same. Bed was comfy as were pillows and got a... More 

Helpful?
Thank bluejay1967
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were attending a wedding locally so took the opportunity to have a late summer/autumn break. We found this B&B as it met all our requirements. The couple that run the B&B are extremely friendly and very helpful. I contacted them prior to arrival to ask if we could bring our bikes and could they be stored...this was not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank RandSHowell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. We were made very welcome by the owners. We didn't take our dog but it is dog friendly. Also recommend visiting the Lakes distillery just up the road! The bed was comfortable and the room clean, we had a nice view on the top floor of the lake and mountains from our window. Would use again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

My wife and I stopped here on Tuesday, for one night on our way to Scotland. I had read reviews before booking and we were not disappointed. OB House is located about halfway between the towns of Keswick and Cockermouth just off the main A66 road, and is therefore ideally located for those wishing to explore the northern end of... More 

Helpful?
Thank doebag
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Our fourth stay at Ouse Bridge House. An ideal location as a base to bag a few more 'Wainwrights'. A super breakfast, cooked to order, a day's fell walking followed by a short evening stroll to the Pheasant for a pint. Keswick easily accesible by bus. Hosts as welcoming as ever. We shall be returning again.

Helpful?
Thank TVsocks
Bhuj, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The external entrance and surrounds not good and even not clean. The arrangements of rooms not good, the rooms is very small size and utility area is very old and un higenic. It's very dirty and vorn our place. Need major refurbication. The food is also not very good.

Helpful?
Thank Ramjigorsia
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

We do not recognise the name of thiis guest as someone who has stayed with us. We also do not have a Utility Room [we are a guesthouse not a self catering property] and therefore suspect this is the wrong property being reviewed. More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Claire and Stephen went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable - our party consisted of my teenaged daughter, myself and my elderly mother - all of us were very impressed! The vegetarian cooked breakfast was delicious, the rooms clean, bright and tastefully decorated and the beds comfortable. The location is peaceful but well placed to visit the North... More 

Helpful?
Thank ccdadamson
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us at Ouse Bridge House and we are happy that you found it a "home from home." I do hope that Lea found her work experience very interesting that she undertook whilst visiting the Lake Distirict. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Angry South African receptionist- worst customer service ever, booked through booking.com for a wedding in August, they took the money straight away then I had to cancel so called for a refund but one week later still not had it, called again and the receptionist said angrily 'we are trying to run a guesthouse here, we will get round to... More 

Helpful?
Thank luciadd1
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

This guest cancelled their booking with us and did not stay in July 2016 as stated in this Tripadvisor review. The booking was cancelled on Monday 11th July 2016 @ 16h53 and the deposit was refunded to the guest on Friday 15th July 2016 @ 17h16. We believe that a 4 day turnaround on a refund is reasonable and any... More 

Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Arrived at 5.30pm and given a warm welcome. Advised where local pubs and restaurants were. I was travelling alone but my room had a double bed and faced the lake with views of the yacht club and the mountains. The room had it's own private bathroom with bath and shower opposite. There is a guest lounge with honesty bar facing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
Keilor, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We have just had two nights staying at Ouse Bridge House and were very happy with the stay. Stephen and Claire helped us out after a booking mishap that had nothing to do with them. They are very welcoming and helpful hosts. Many hints were given for the rest of our journey around the UK. Our room was clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank wombatjj
bazCumbria, Owner at Ouse Bridge House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate you on such short notice and that we looked after you during you time with us. Enjoy the rest of your UK trip and hopefully the good weather will stay with you. If you return to UK for... More 

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
1.4 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,491 reviews
4.0 km away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
374 reviews
4.0 km away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
957 reviews
8.2 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cockermouth
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Ouse Bridge House

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake | Dubwath, Cockermouth CA13 9YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Price Range: $118 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ouse Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Ouse Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouse Bridge House Cockermouth, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ouse Bridge House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ouse Bridge House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room on the front of the property has great views and fantastic sunsets”
  • View from Room 1
 of 5 bubbles RandSHowell, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front for views of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles doebag, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have views of Bassenthwaite Lake & Skiddaw”
 of 5 bubbles TVsocks, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not recommended as its expencive and very run out place.”
 of 5 bubbles Ramjigorsia, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were downstairs in a garden-view room which would give easy access for those who can't do stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ccdadamson, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay