We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Coniston Holly How

TravelocityUS$31*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$42*
US$31*
Great Deal
US$42*
US$38*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Coniston Holly How
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Coniston Holly How
 Click to rate
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent facilities, clean and well kept beautiful old house. The staff and volunteers were friendly, helpful and lovely. The breakfast was a definite value for money, with a variety of hot and cold to chose from, or have them all and the packed lunches were really nice and fresh too. With over 50 of us staying for two nights, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank e_mchatton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holly How is your 'old fashioned' Youth Hostel, with 'dorms' with multiple beds and no ensuite facilities. While there is nothing wrong with this for many hikers and travellers its not for me. I don't mind sleeping in a 'dorm' with 7 others, however what I have a real problem with is nowhere to store your stuff. I'm up here...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at YHA Coniston Holly How for one night. After hiking above Ambleside we made our way back to Coniston and dropped our gear off at the YH. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was clean and warm. Good selection of local pubs close by as well

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Great location, beautiful building, friendly staff. I was part of a large group that had most of the hostel. The food was good, breakfast and dinner. Staff we're great, friendly and helpful. I was in room two and I found it cosy. There was no storage in the room which if we we're sightseeing would have been ok but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Myself and my boyfriend booked a 4 bed dorm so paid for the whole room. It had two bunk beds with a sink in the room. We were happy with the room and the showers which where upstairs were nice clean and had a good shower inside. We paid for breakfast on both days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlie_pigeon
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, at the YHA we take all feedback very seriously. I'm so pleased you liked your room and the hostel facilities. It was my pleasure to be able to provide you with a refund for the breakfast you did not want. Its a shame you didn't tell us you were unhappy about the breakfast!...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this for 4 nights over new year with 25+ friends had a great time, staff where there in the background if required to help and assist, but left us to get on with it. Clean and tidy rooms great to chill out and let the children run wild without any concerns. (And sum adults!)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

A group of us stayed here for one night before climbing Coniston Old Man the next day. We had booked evening meal and were very surprised at being given such a sustantial, high quality meal for the price - EXCELLENT value! Rooms were very comfortable (a bit on the hot side) and plenty of bathrooms and hot water. Excellent value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

Northwich
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Stopped for 1 night with 2 adults and 3 young children. Food was great, especially breakfast. Within easy walking distance to Coniston village. Friendly staff and well equipped facilities. Would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank apr870
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

Wales
Reviewed 12 October 2016

From making the initial enquiry direct with Holly How the staff were very accommodating and flexible as numerous changes where required. On arrival after a longish wait to book in the staff again very accommodating, the meals were great value and we look forward to returning

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank IdontbeleiveitWales
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit.

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I recommend this YHA location. Myself and my friend wanted somewhere to stay in Coniston to attempt Fells ant "The Old Man" All the staff were so welcoming, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The lounge, dining room, were comfortable, showers and toilets spotlessly clean. No mean feet with guests coming in from a long day...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brunipl
YHAConiston, General Manager at YHA Coniston Holly How, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, its much appreciated and we are very pleased you had a great stay. Hope to see you again!

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
1.3 km away
YHA Coniston Coppermines
YHA Coniston Coppermines
#3 of 9 in Coniston
71 reviews
7.9 km away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
109 reviews
10.2 km away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
362 reviews
10.7 km away
YHA Windermere
YHA Windermere
#4 of 10 in Windermere
176 reviews
20.4 km away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 150 year-old Lakeland slate country house, part of the YHA Youth Hostel network. The Coniston mountain range is on the doorstep and Coniston Water is just minutes away on foot. A the end of the day, relax with a local beer in our comfortable lounge before a hearty meal in the bar / restaurant. Donald Campbell's restored powerboat Bluebird is coming home to Coniston in 2012 and the valley is also being used for the filming of Swallows and Amazons children's book. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Coniston Holly How

Address: Far End, Coniston LA21 8DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Price Range: $41 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Coniston Holly How 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your YHA Coniston Holly How reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Coniston Holly How staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were lovely”
e_mchatton, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You get what you're given.”
christinemJ7223RD, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Trya different hostel...”
  • Amusing notice in hostel lavatory
  • Huge wigwams dominate the grounds
valuematters, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are ok.”
dayasantk, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“only bunk beds”
beckyt686, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$31* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$42
PricelineUS$38
Orbitz.comUS$31
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates