We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Wordsworth Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wordsworth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,119: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

Wonderful, attentive, polite staff working on a sinking ship. We stayed two nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast, with packed lunch offer. Food was a nightmare, nothing had any flavour, presentation was impressive however portions and lack if flavour laughable. The wait for food was ridiculous, someone needs to go in and revamp the whole attitude to food. Nouvelle...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ExploreB4Dementia
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your kind words regarding the team and they work incredibly hard to ensure our guests are well looked after. We are a country house hotel, and whilst we are looking to refurbish some areas at the end of the year, we do not want to lose the "country...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I have stayed at The Wordsworth Hotel previously with great satisfaction, but have never had afternoon tea. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor and having tried afternoon tea at other hotels in the Lake District I decided to give the Wordsworth a try. I booked online and received a discount bringing the cost down to £15 per person. One party...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WoodlandsHall
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience with us! We really do appreciate your kind words and feedback, as it does help us to maintain our standards of service for future guests. You will be pleased to hear we're now looking at a way to ensure...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Massive thanks to all the wonderful staff at the Wordsworth hotel, and an extra special mention to Laura, who made our wedding weekend absolutely amazing. Laura was there for us from first thing in the morning, until last thing in the evening. The food was outstanding, everybody commented on how nice it was. Catalan and Rachael again looked after the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael E
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, and congratulations once again from myself and the team! We look forward to seeing you soon, hopefully to see in the New Year :-) Kind Regards Rachael

Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break. I booked this for myself and my boyfriend fairly last minute. There wasn't much availability left in Grasmere so booked this hotel and then felt a little apprehensive due to a few mixed reviews on here. Well I need not have worried, the hotel was perfect for our stay. On arrival, we were shown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissyGrrr
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your break away with us, we love hearing which aspects of the stay you enjoyed the most. I am however, sorry you experienced poor service in the Bistro, which isn't acceptable. It has been dealt with, and I can assure...

Reviewed 30 August 2015

The hotel is in beautiful grounds. It is very dated and desperately in need of a refurbishment. In places the wallpaper is ripped and so are the leather sofas. What was most shocking was the spa. Absolutely tiny changing rooms, people were queuing as there are only 2 curtained areas. Most of the lockers didn't work and it was dirty....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen P
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us, we do work very hard to ensure each guest is well looked after and our team gives the best possible service. We are going through a refurbishment in a few areas at the end of...

Reviewed 28 August 2015

We stayed here for three nights on the 17th-20th August. We had a bed and breakfast deal. The breakfast was amazing, hotel staff were friendly, hotel was clean, we had a garden/fell view room which was lovely. However, we did have an issue with the room in that it was sooooo hot! Even with the air conditioning, window open and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and you made the most of exploring Grasmere! The hotel is a generally warm building due to its age, I'm sorry to hear you had difficulties in the room you were allocated. Room 9 does tend...

Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

We visted Wordsworth Hotel for a wedding, the wedding itself was lovely! I would give 5 stars for the beautiful garden and view. However for the price the rooms were a bit disappointing. Other family members had no sleep because of how hot it was, which wasn't helped by the window in one room that didn't open. When we ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth99999
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding, whilst the hotel is generally a warm building due to its age, I am sorry to hear another guest had an issue with the room temperature and the window. To my knowledge, nobody had reported it, otherwise we would have been...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed for three nights bed, breakfast and evening meal. Having been before several times we had been sent an excellent offer. The room had a village view and was excellent. Bed as big as a football field, a superb bathroom. Everything was clean and as we expected. The food in the Signature restaurant was superb; both breakfast where the choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NandLG
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we love hearing about which aspects of the stay you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Rachael

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Spa facilities are quite small and getting ready for a revamp. There were no gowns available and the hot pool had no drinking water facilities. The massage was excellent though and the therapist lovely and helpful. We booked afternoon tea which was very tasty and presented well but the bar staff were very unhelpful and unfriendly. Our daughter did not...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mea70
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear you won't be visiting again. Robes and slippers for the spa days are available at the spa itself. Whilst we would have been happy to offer the prosecco to another adult, and we would have been happy to organise an alternative for your daughter, had...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We dropped in on the off chance while visiting a very busy Grasmere, and were welcomed into a very welcoming and comfortable lounge overlooking beautiful gardens, even with our little dog in tow. The afternoon tea although quite expensive was delicious and very filling, and service was polite but not intrusive. Overall would highly recommend if you are in Grasmere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 807beckam
Rachael T, Guest Relations Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea, and we do hope you will come and visit us again very soon! Kind Regards Rachael

512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (254)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (221)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Classic Room (32)
Viewed
Grasmere Village View Room (31)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Ruskin Suite (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.7 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 15 in Grasmere
1,345 reviews
0.5 km away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Grasmere
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 15 in Grasmere
1,107 reviews
2.7 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,321 reviews
11.6 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant
The Wordsworth Signature Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Price Range: $144 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wordsworth Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
24 days ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Wordsworth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the size of bed when booking the room.”
 of 5 bubbles JudithandTrevor, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go at all!”
 of 5 bubbles alanpcoleman, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 9 (see my review)”
 of 5 bubbles Mr_Spock56, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You pay extra for the better rooms and ones with a good view. We had a basic room which overlooked the rear kitchen staff entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles markd687, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“our garden view room was quiet with great views”
 of 5 bubbles hotel048, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5