We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

County Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Would like to thank Anne and all staff at the county hotel for looking after my mum this weekend she came home today and has raved on about the hotel. She said the staff where brill the room was great I believe room 110. The food was excellent it was that good she has said she is coming back next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avril G
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed one night at The County. My room was clean and well presented. I found it a little stuffy and over warm but I turned the raditor in the room off and opened the window which sorted out that little problem. I had dinner of scampi and chips in the bar. It wouldnt win any awards but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

As an old centrally located hotel, close to the train station, it is best described as basic good value for money. Not a modern homogeneous chain but good value. Positives - good central location, warm welcome, warm room, loads of hot water, clean, nice bedding & towels, hair drier, tv, a freshly made tasty breakfast, friendly staff. Downsides - bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReallyBadHat
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Overnight stay only. I needed a low cost overnight stay in Kendal. This was the best value around. Stayed there before and it's clean and functional. The room was adequate and the shower good. I can't put this place down in any way but it was tired. The staff were great and I could park right outside for free. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Premdas22
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Macclesfield,Cheshire
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I (as an individual) decided to have a short break in the Lake District from the period 9th - 14th November 16. As it was my intention to get out and about daily to walk and see various aspects of this beautiful area, all I really wanted was clean comfortable budget accommodation. To this end, during an internet search I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ScotAllan
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Good location right opposite train station. I paid £36 (room only) for a double room (single occupancy). Good size room, furnished adequately. Nice & warm throughout hotel. However, pillows-duvet & mattress protector need replacing. Towels clean, white & well laundered. Shower curtain very smelly. Toilet pan needed bleaching. Staff friendly. Ok price for usually expensive area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolecazbay
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Washington
Reviewed 9 November 2016

,,,,the rooms were warm the beds comfy and the hot shower was lovely. We were here as part of a National coach trip and all 6 of us felt the same, we had value for money. The food choice was good but was a bit bland, didn't suit me but suited others. The staff were amazing, they never stopped and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LazyDaisy56
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

stayed here last week, slept fine, room was clean as was the bed. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was good, cooked cereal fruit, couldnt ask for more. Overall a great hotel for the price, I have paid more and got a lot less

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyn G
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

england
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I stayed here for one night to save me getting a taxi home after a night out with colleagues for the bargain price of £25 including breakfast, My room was a small single but was clean and tidy and did the job for the night. Breakfast was decent and staff were friendly. The hotel is old and does need a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clairefally
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is so old. The matress on which I slept with my girlfriend was horrible! I could not sleep more than 1 hour... We both had to lift up our bodies in order to turn from one side to another. The next morning we both had back hackes!! I knew that it was not a great hotel, but come...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ferran O
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.wilson@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.2 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
965 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.9 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
446 reviews
2.2 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
638 reviews
3.1 km away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#3 of 15 in Kendal
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about County Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kendal LA9 6BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: $63 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — County Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Kendal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from County Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On a busy-ish road so ask for room at back if bad sleeper like me.”
 of 5 bubbles kelse1990, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near road can be a bit noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 904JohnW904, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 303 good for a single person. Regardless of high location in the building can unusually pick up reasonable wif-fi.”
 of 5 bubbles ScotAllan, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we had a room on the back so cannot comment on road facing front rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LazyDaisy56, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MerseysideKevin, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5