We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

TripAdvisorUS$101*
View Deal
#2 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$120*
US$101*
US$120*
US$120*
US$101*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,730 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,714: English reviews
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We had a lovely 3 nights stay, breakfast was delicious, Spa staff very helpful, rooms kept very clean and towels lovely and fluffy. We did have 2 evening meals in the Greenhouse Restaurant the food, service and views would be hard pressed to be beaten. Our only complaint was that on the last evening at about 6pm a very drunk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 13Gill2014
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your three night stay with us. Please accept my apologies that the other guests impacted upon your last evening with us and for our lack of attention to this matter at the time. Based upon your feedback we are taking steps to review our staff training and also dress policy for the Restaurant. It was lovely...

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Just short of £300 for 2 of us for 2 nights in much smaller than average room for a 4 star hotel, bed only. The hotel has beautiful grounds and gardens, the public rooms are well presented and in keeping with the aspirations of the hotel. The standard design bedroom was, I would estimate, 5 or 6 feet narrower than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

We do aim to be competitive with our pricing and the best rates are always found when booking directly with us at the hotel. In this particular case the booking has been made through a third party who will have taken commission of £60 from the £300 paid for the two night stay. In addition to this their website can...

Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for 1 night. Room wasn't ready till 4 ish ( no apology ) so went for a swim . pool ,gym and staff there were excellent. Went back to reception and were given a different room. Room was very nice and nice bathroom . went to Alexander's pub at night for drinks and meal. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasminjoel
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Sincere apologies that the room wasn’t ready when you arrived at the hotel and that you didn’t receive and apology at the time. Check in is from 2pm (Sunday 3pm) and we do everything we can to have rooms ready sooner. Both Penny and Victoria we both pleased to get mentioned by name! We look...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We were booked on a Cruise returning to Southampton and decided to look for somewhere to stay overnight on way back home to Scotland. After seeing reviews on the Castlegreen we booked directly with the hotel. From the initial phone call to book until checkout everything was perfect! Our room was clean and comfortable and the overall appearance of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thewatsons123
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are often used as ‘stop off’ for guests traveling north or south on the M6 to break up a journey being just a few miles from junction 37. Best rates are guaranteed when booking directly with us at the hotel. Ben Mayou

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had three relaxing nights away from the kids. The hotel is ideally located just outside the Lake District national park allowing us to explore but retreat away from the tourist locations. The accommodation in our standard room was more than adequate with dark curtains, comfortable bed, wifi and a powerful shower. Cleanliness was paramount. It could...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Johnny M
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your positive experience. We do have spacious family rooms if you were to return with the family in the future and safes are currently being installed in all 99 bedrooms. Ben Mayou

Reviewed 28 May 2015

We enjoyed three nights at Castle Green, and can see why it is one of the best Best Westerns! On entering the reception you are warmly greeted by very professional staff, and during our stay, we felt all of the staff endeavoured to give a good service. The breakfast choices were excellent, although I would have liked to see smoked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Victoria C
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

We are very proud to currently be ranked 10th out of the 280 Best Western hotels in the UK. What makes this even more special is that it’s based upon reviews from guests who have stayed with us during the last year. Thank you for your positive comments regarding both breakfast and dinner in the Restaurant. Ben Mayou

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

stayed at the Castlegreen for two nights on a break with my sister, mother, daughter the facilities in the hotel are great, staff really friendly food at the hotel was excellent and in the pub next door. leisure facilities were great lovely pool and steam room Gym really relaxing stay would go back

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tracy f
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Our Pulse Leisure Club is available free of charge to residents in the hotel so don’t forget your costume! Our Spa is also very popular so we recommend booking treatments prior to arrival if you are hoping to be pampered whilst with us! Ben Mayou

Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Stopped here many times, and again recently. Room was clean and nice, staff pleasant, food good. Only bad point was blocked toilets in reception. Nice pub attached where u can eat if you dont fancy to posher restaraunt. Grounds and view excellent. Gym and pool quite good and clean. Ample parking. Would go again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham W
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon Ben Mayou

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015

We stayed at this hotel for the early May bank holiday. We were here for 2 nights and a very enjoyable 2 nights it was. We arrived early, the reception was very friendly and very helpful. She let us book in early and do all the paperwork. We booked a table for a meal that evening and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank atcook
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

What a comprehensive review from a ‘Top Contributor’ with 74 reviews to their name! Thank you for spreading the word! Ben Mayou

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Really lovely hotel experience. Staff were pleasant and helpful, my room was comfortable and very clean. The restaurant food was outstanding and I have never had such a lovely breakfast in a hotel. I travel extensively for work, so I have eaten a lot of breakfasts in hotels! The grounds were well cared for and the view from my room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your Castle Green experience. We hope you will decide to return again in the near future, possibly for a more leisurely break! Ben Mayou

465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Balcony Room (30)
Viewed
Family Room (34)
Viewed
Indoor Swimming Pool (7)
Viewed
Luxury Executive Room (36)
Viewed
Luxury Executive Room with Garden View (42)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
997 reviews
8.9 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
475 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
14.5 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,261 reviews
36.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: $163 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 234 no complaints.”
GeeLanark, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Over looking gardens at front of hotel.”
MartinH265, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room facing the front as these have the best views”
marti11377, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“A room with a view.”
bobjo2015, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Garden view rooms”
barryw69, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$101* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$120
Booking.comUS$101
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates