We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Keswick

Expedia.comUS$35*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$42*
US$35*
Great Deal
US$42*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Keswick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Keswick
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Great hostel with a great backdrop of Skiddaw, right by the river too. Love how I can run straight out the door and be on top of Latrigg in 30 mins. It's very peacefully located yet only a couple of minutes walk from a lively town centre with lots of choice. The hostel staff are extremely personable and knowledgeable -...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Our stay was ok, facilities are clean and it is in a good location. This hostel will be great when it is up and running, but it is currently a construction site. We were there for mountain biking and needed somewhere to store our bikes, however this facility is currently unavailable even though it is detailed on their website. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davoss155
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It's nice to hear that you found our cleanliness and location to be of a good standard. We are indeed currently undergoing some refurbishment work following the devastating effects of Storm Desmond in 2015. These are scheduled to be complete in March and we're doing everything to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Really lovely staff and the rooms are nice and clean, I was happy to see the bathroom and toilets was very clean and well stocked. They are doing very well even though their whole bottom floor was flooded last year and they are now cleaning up and renovating, really good position can easily walk into the village and next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meggy285
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Such kind words! Thank you Meggy, we're pleased to hear our room was to your liking and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent town centre position. Keswick is notorious for it's lack of free-parking but the spot you've mentioned is a good one; it's a good idea to chat to our crafty local receptionists if you're...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Only a 1 night stop over for a photography workshop in the Lakes....never stayed in a YHA before and was pleasantly surprised! Although work is still being undertaken following the floods, the room was clean, warm and a gave a good nights sleep, the shower was powerful and a good morning wake up and I was impressed by the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiebb
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words Ruthie, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay here at YHA Keswick. Works are progressing nicely and should be finished any day now - the hostel is looking great! We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

I came to do some volunteering and stayed for another couple of days because I loved it so much. It's a really busy hostel and there were so many interesting conversations to be had. I didn't bring much food with me but happily all the short stayers left tidbits like butter and cereal, enabling me to buy basics like bread...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H-M-Krish
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, Krishna - we'd be very happy to see you again at the next volunteering event! Best wishes from all the staff here at YHA Keswick.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Hostel is in a great location. They are still doing the remedial works after the floods so some of it wasn't open when we stayed. Although it is all due to open soon. Still it was a lovely stay as always.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenW1234
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us some feedback on your recent stay, Stephen. We're inclined to agree with you about our location - it's such a treat to have all the convenience and luxuries of Keswick town centre on our doorstep while also having easy access to the incredible mountains and lakes of the Northern Fells. Thank you for bearing with...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Although it is awful what happened last year, the hostel is not fully ready and equipped for the number of beds. There is one heavily crowded kitchen/common area and only half the showers function. This makes the morning and bit of an ordeal. Ideally the occupancy should be halved to make a comfortable non stresful experience. Would recommend staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riccardobrooks
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Hi there Riccardo, thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your stay with us over the New Year period. Firstly, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in Keswick and that we were able to play a part in that. We find it regretful that you thought the hostel ill-equipped but New Year was...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

It was our very first stay at a hostel and we were very pleasantly surprised by the comfort and convenience of our stay. While the rooms were a little dusty as the hostel used carpet floors, the heater worked well for us. We booked a private room and the toilet and showers were just opposite us. The toilets and showers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rende410
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, rende410. We're honoured that you chose YHA Keswick to be your first hostel and thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We expect refurbishments to be complete and the hostel to be running better than ever by March of 2017 - we hope you'll consider visiting again...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

On my 5x night stay as solo traveller. Staff very helpful. Self Service Kitchen Perfect. Renovations did not prevent me from having a good time! All good for the future when finished in March 2017. I look forward to staying with you in the New Year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasontonymorris
keswickmanager, Front Office Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review Jason - we look forward to welcoming you over the New Year!

Stotfold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

The Keswick hostel was under repair/refurbishment during our stay at this hostel, the staff were very helpful and accommodating thank you and we look forward to going back next year to see the finished refurb

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith y
Orla S, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your stay at YHA Keswick. We're please you found the staff to be helpful and accommodating during your stay. The refurbishment should be completed in March and we look forward to sharing our new facilities with you then. YHA Keswick

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
5.0 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
7.4 km away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
168 reviews
5.5 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
717 reviews
12.4 km away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
191 reviews
22.6 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $47 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Keswick staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Keswick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Always had a good experience at YHA Keswick. Been on numerous occasions.”
jasontonymorris, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for top floor over looking the River Greta”
joy211, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Take a drink on the balcony overlooking the river”
DGY-Eaglescliffe, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to a B&B instead!”
valuematters, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you don't want to share, get a separate room, the extra price is well worth it.”
R610TIstevenm, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$35* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$42
Travelocity
Orbitz.comUS$35
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates