We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beeches Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Beeches Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Start your review of The Beeches Guest House
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We have visited Keswick many times, staying both on campsites and in B&Bs - usually weather depending! On this occasion we chose the Beeches and we were very pleased with our stay. The location was perfect for evening strolls into town for food/drink and also for our walk to Walla Crag, recommended by the friendly hosts who kindly loaned us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonfg
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Stayed here for a week's solo walking in September 2015. (A great time of year to go to the Lakes, September). A classy and peaceful place with a luxurious feel to it. Food was excellent - I think I had a different breakfast every day, ranging from the full english to kippers to eggs florentine to other things; skilled preparation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danhillman2017
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

Very many thanks for your review, very much appreciated and my apologies for the delay in responding. Unfortunately, we had not been notified by Trip Advisor that a review had been added. Thank you again.

Reviewed 7 January 2017

We returned to Keswick and The Beeches guest house this year and found it still to be the best place in Keswick to stay. We booked the Super King size double. It is furnished to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. The Beeches is a detached property so you are assured a quiet stay and it also has the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and my apologies for the lateness of my response. Unfortunately, Trip Advisor has not been notifying us of any reviews. Hope to see you bak again soon.

lancashire
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at New Year. Frequent visitor to Keswick and of all the B&B's or Guest Houses we have stayed in this is the best. Lovely building of character with parking available and Hallway and Communal lounge are spacious and welcoming. We stayed in room 5 on the ground floor. Spacious, modern and recently decorated ensuite room meeting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank roughguideLancashire
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

Firstly, apologies for the lateness of this response. Unfortunately, Trip Advisor have not been notifying us of any reviews. Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Stone
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We first visited The Beeches three years ago, we were most impressed and this return visit met all our expectations. The Beeches is a lovely old Victorian family house which has been very tastefully renovated and updated. The decor is perfect and everywhere is spotlessly clean. We stayed in Room 2 again which is on a corner with two windows,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickTee
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

I note you stayed in December and my apologies for the lateness of this response. Unfortunately, Trip Advisor did not notify us of any reviews and I can only apologise once again. However, very many thanks for your revidew and so glad you did enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you in 2017.

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016

My brother and I stayed for one night on our LEJOG Charity Cycle Ride. The hosts were really lovely and understanding when we arrived later than planned after being held back due to mechanical issues with the bikes at Staveley. The guest house was beautifully decorated, comfy and spacious rooms and the breakfast was exceptionally nice. Apologies for the late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

Applogies from us for the lateness of this response. Unfortunately, we were not notified, by Trip Advisor, of any reviews. Many thanks for taking the time to review us and hopefully we might see you again. Well done for finishing all your cycling challenges.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in The Beeches for a two night break and we were very impressed. The accommodation is stunning and the rooms are very spacious. The locality is excellent with great parking. The breakfasts were delicious and kept us going all day! Finally the hosts, Brian and Irena were most welcoming and helpful. Hope to return again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186411Tracy
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review, very much appreciated.

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Our second visit to the Beeches, and as before we were not disappointed. Rooms are large, comfortable beds, decorated to a very high standard. Shower room was excellent. We had the use of a lovely lounge with a good selection of books. Breakfasts are perfectly cooked. Irena and Brian are wonderful hosts with good local information.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

Apologies for the lateness of my acknowledgement, seemed to have missed it. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review - much appreciated.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed for two nights at the end of September. We being an English couple from Stockport and an American couple from Florida. We found the accommodation to be first rate. The bedrooms we used were of a good size with ensuite bathrooms. The light in the ensuite was on a motion sensor which took a little getting used to....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterhw_274
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Beeches, much appreciated

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Stayed for the 3 nights 18th, 19th, 20th. Lovely welcome by Brian and Irena. Room was spotless. Lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was amazing , prompt and very accommodating. Definitely would recommend to anybody and I'm probably one of the hardest people to please and having OCD would usually I raise some kind of issue but not here so for that i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggienorah
Irena H, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review

Very many thanks for your review

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.4 km away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
315 reviews
0.0 km away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#10 of 177 in Keswick
575 reviews
0.0 km away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#17 of 177 in Keswick
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#36 of 177 in Keswick
177 reviews
0.0 km away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 177 in Keswick
114 reviews
1.2 km away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 177 in Keswick
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beeches is a large Victorian residence built in 1884 which has recently undergone extensive restoration by its owners Brian and Irena Hough. The house has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary, yet comfortable style retaining many of the original features. The Beeches provides elegant and relaxing accommodation and is the ideal base from which to explore Keswick and the stunning Lake District National Park ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beeches Guest House

Address: Beeches Guest House Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $147 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Beeches Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beeches Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Super King and the King size rooms have more space but all of the 5 rooms are to the same very high standard”
305janetn, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 has fantastic view of Skiddaw.”
NickTee, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are beautiful”
maggienorah, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rear rooms are quieter”
johnrN2033RT, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs room for people with difficulties with stairs, not had problem with any room”
628denisei, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5