We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Inn on the Square

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn on the Square
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Inn on the Square
See the most recent reviews
Showing 524: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just home from an amazing stay at the inn on the square! Not a single fault! The staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The surroundings were stunning and the food was out of this world! Cannot wait to return 😍

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarahsmith159
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

What a lovely review. we'll be sure to keep up the hard work. Can't wait till your next visit.

Wark, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was fantastic ,great staff excellent food . The only thing that spoiled our stay was the bedroom was at the back of the hotel Facing a car park and a pathway and the noise was terrible at night.The bedroom its self was beautiful .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynda B
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. Please call the hotel directly when you wish to book again, the team will be delighted to discuss all bedroom options with you. We have some rooms overlooking the town at the top of the hotel that are much quieter.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for cocktails and drinks on 16 February - we hadn't been for a few years, since this was The Queens hotel. Wow, what a difference - greatly refurbished to an extremely high standard. Our cocktails were wonderful as was the round of beers. We had a couple of snacks with hand cut chips too. A special mention to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison A
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Always great to hear of the team going the extra mile to make your stay more enjoyable. I will be sure to pass on your comments. Thanks again.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for a morning coffee with a friend. Sat in window seat in bar area , one other person in at the time. There were coffee cups and spills on the table, the cups were removed but not the spills. Ordered two coffees and waited ages for their arrival. Eventually they arrived and we asked, politely, if the table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 43S
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear your visit was not to the standard you expected and what we strive for. I will be sure to speak to the bar team to improve their service and standards. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss anything further. gm.innonthesquare@lakedistricthotels.net I hope you will return again.

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Nice hotel with friendly staff. There are lots of great places in Keswick to eat and drink, however the brossen restaurant provides exceptional food, and we found ourselves eating here most nights. Likewise the front bar had a cosy but modern feel to it with a rather extensive and impressive gin collection! We'd definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carrie-Anne W
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for noticing our Gin collection. We're very pleased to be able to offer such a variety. I'm sure there will be some new additions for your next visit!!!

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times.Staff always helpful ,food great ,central location .Will be returning again.In centre of Keswick town ,handy to local walks and bars.Hotel has garage car parking which is extra but also offers a parking permit for slight charge at local car park which is good value

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aldergrange
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback. See you next time.

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great place to stay, in the centre of Keswick. Staff are very friendly & dogs are welcome. There was a bowl, a bed & a dog treat waiting in the room for her when we arrived. We have stayed here before & for us there was a handwritten card with a box of chocolates welcoming us back, such a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fussyteam
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

We love to welcome your four legged friends. I am pleased you appreciated the little touches. Many thanks

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice big, modern bedrooms with lovely ensuite bathrooms. Showers are incredible. Easy to park with £2 voucher which you put on dashboard. Car park is two minute walk from hotel. Restaurant is big and reasonably priced. Food is delicious and breakfast has a good range of hot and cold. Really well place to Keswick centre. A stone's throw away. Well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonny H
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Great comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had Sunday lunch here and it was absolutely delicious. I cannot fault it at all. From the moment we walked in we were treated brilliantly. Service was friendly and quick and the food was fab. I had the chicken, which was cooked to perfection and the vegetables that's came with the Sunday Lunch were more than enough to share...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura S
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your experience. I appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again in the near future.

cumbria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Inn on the square is very nice place and offers a wide range of food. We visited today for a pre booked Afternoon tea. We were greeeted and shown to our table. The table had big comfy chairs, but the downside they were so low,that you felt like or I did you were sat under the table as this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rach1966
gm_innonthesquare, General Manager at Inn on the Square, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I will pass your review onto the team so the necessary improvements can be made. I hope to see you again soon.

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.3 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
566 reviews
0.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
704 reviews
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
421 reviews
4.3 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
476 reviews
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AA 4 star awarded Inn on the Square is designed for laid-back luxury escapes in the middle of the Lake District. Imagine modern Scandinavian design mixed with a love for all things Cumbrian - our family-owned hotel simply oozes comfortable indulgence. The handy central Keswick location means that everything is just outside your door - from shops to bars, restaurants to typical Keswick sweet shops. Derwentwater lake is only a 10 minute wander through the town if you feel like having a paddle, taking a boat ride or simply enjoying the views. With 34 modern bedrooms, a chic lounge bar and our very own Brossen Steakhouse - it's perfect for romantic weekenders, fresh-air seeking walkers or people who simply love the Lake District. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn on the Square

Address: Market Square, Keswick CA12 5JF, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $176 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn on the Square staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
3 months ago
St Albans, United Kingdom
over a year ago
12 days ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Inn on the Square staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have a bedroom facing onto that car park and that path .”
 of 5 bubbles 47lyndab, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'd choose one of the higher rooms to ensure a good view”
 of 5 bubbles RhianL607, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms lovely herd wick ..”
 of 5 bubbles 437debbie, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Herdwick room if you have a dog”
 of 5 bubbles currygirl2014, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in a Herdwick room, watched over by a sheep 😊”
 of 5 bubbles DaveT280, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5