We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Kings Arms Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 408: English reviews
Kings Lynn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

having previously visited and eaten at this hotel in their restaurant last year we were looking forward to a enjoyable delicious sunday roast. We were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming young lady who took us to our table . We were all hungary and looking forward to our lunch we skipped the starters and went straight for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowena N
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rowena I'm very sorry to hear that you and your friends did not enjoy your dining experience at the Kings Arms. It's a shame that you have stated that you will not return again in the future, if you had highlighted any problems you encountered with your meals to us at the time, we would most certainly have been...

BASINGSTOKE
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an enjoyable mid-week evening meal for two in the back room of the restaurant at The Kings Arms Hotel in the centre of Keswick. Sarah looked after our needs including ensuring that food allergies were taken care of. Our steaks were cooked just right and served up with a tasty selection of vegetables and chips and the merlot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger_causon
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger_causon Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent dining experience at the Kings Arms Hotel. It's great to hear that you would highly recommend us and you made a good choice with the steaks. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Leah

newcastle upon tyne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cheese and pickle sandwich Menu...hand cut crusty bloomer bread...reality packet sliced. Cheese tasteless and there was a distinct taste of mound on something either the bread or the cheese. Terrible won't be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donkeyhat47
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donkeyhat47 I’m sorry to hear that the food was not to your taste, we usually receive very favourable reviews regarding this and always aim to keep standards of food high, all of our meals are freshly prepared with good quality, local ingredients. If you had highlighted any problems with your sandwich to us at the time we would have...

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just popped in for a pint and a sandwich. Most of the staff are friendly, most! Good selection of beers, but the sandwiches are nothing to write home about, a bit disappointing really. The menu looks quite good and sandwiches are all we had so the rest of the food may be better, but I don't know.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review from your recent visit to the Kings Arms. I hope that you will not let this one experience put you off returning and trying some of the other dishes that we have on our menu. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks Leah

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I recently booked a night at the kings arms hotel to celebrate his Birthday. Upon arrival the staff were pleasant however our room (room 1) faced the courtyard/nightclub!! Whilst there was treble glazing and ear plugs provided, the room was so hot and stuffy that we were forced to open the window. The noise was ridiculous and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris19_09
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris19_09 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I completely sympathise with how frustrating it is to not get a good nights sleep, unfortunately the noise is something beyond our control however, we do our very best to ensure our windows are triple...

Reviewed 28 October 2016

Friendly staff, good choice at breakfast, really tasty, rooms clean and comfortable, excellent location. Fish and chips were tasty and good portion size, but other meals on menu were a bit plain. Need to be fit to get to top floor rooms. Can be a bit noisy in the courtyard at the rear in the later evening if you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda R Thanks for leaving us a review from your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thanks Leah

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We called here today for a family lunch...everywhere in Keswick very busy due to school holidays. The barman as mentioned in previous reviews was rude and disinterested. We Found a table and waited 15minutes to be served. My husband ordered 2 courses and the rest of us just the one. My husbands soup took 45 minutes to arrive! I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawnienook
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Crowded but friendly. Bar staff friendly and chatty. Good laugh. Great atmosphere Locals very friendly and approachable. Don't mind the visitors. Little nooks for small families. Bat well stocked for spirit lovers especially Whisky drinkers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulEdwards001
Leah D, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PaulEdwards001 Thank you for a lovely review, we hope to see you again at the Kings Arms Thanks Leah

Lanchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I have been many times before and two of our party have been regular guests at this hotel for many years. During our latest trip to Keswick, Tuesday afternoon 18/10/16, we stopped by for a coffee where we were told, after ordering, that there was no milk! However, the barman had just delivered a hot chocolate with a dollop of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband visited the kings arms just for our dinner on a Saturday afternoon. Greeted right away and taken to a table in the restaurant. Plenty of room and we had our 6month old son with us so plenty of room for the pram. The waitress came over straight away to take our drinks order and i asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linzdor

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.0 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
467 reviews
0.1 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
685 reviews
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.3 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
555 reviews
5.3 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished AA 3 star Hotel right in the centre of Keswick, the Lake District. In the 17th century, Keswick was the crossroads for many of the horse and carriage routes which traversed this part of the English Lake District. The Kings Arms Hotel, a true Coaching Inn of that period, offers the traveller of today the same unrivaled hospitality and friendly service in keeping with its heritage. To stay at the Kings Arms Hotel in Keswick is to experience the legacies, in modern day comfort and luxury, of a true Coaching Inn. A warm and friendly smile awaits you from our well trained staff, whose aim is to make your stay one of many. The air-conditioned, newly refurbished restaurant serves appetising home-cooked dishes such as slow-cooked local lamb joints and the almost-famous spare ribs, beef & Jennings ale pie, delicious hand-cut, home-cooked chips plus mouth-watering hot and cold desserts. After a hearty meal, why not relax in front of the open fire with a drink in the newly-refurbished, cosy oak-beamed bar and watch the world go by outside on the streets of Keswick. With over 40 whisky's and some of the best local ales on tap the choice is yours. Or in the summer months take a seat in the charming courtyard, which is the perfect place to enjoy delicious food and a refreshing drink al fresco. There are 13 recently refurbished bedrooms all with their own shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 27 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Price Range: $178 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leek, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay at hotel only used restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles rowenan828, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor room if you find steep stairs difficult”
 of 5 bubbles amandarM8195JS, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Number 9 was comfortable but up two flights of steep winding stairs”
 of 5 bubbles rochesterrambler, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Look for a different hotel first, if this is all that's left, don't go in room 7. small and noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenw119, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the front of the hotel if you want to sleep soundly.”
 of 5 bubbles Ttaylo3, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay