We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Save
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (13)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent97%
  • Very good2%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“rod denise”(51 reviews)
“b b”(296 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Free Parking
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for Portland House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
757
18
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
757
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade shortbreadrod deniseb bshort breadshortcakepot of tealake districtperfect hostssingle roompacked lunchon arrivalnothing is too much troublelittle touchesfresh milkwarm welcomebeer festivalwine glasses
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
171 - 175 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Stayed here for three nights with my husband and two other couples. From the second we arrived to the time we left, we couldn't have asked for anything more. Rob and Denise were such great hosts, very friendly and fun to be around; you get...More

Thank mandd12016
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 19 July 2016

We do appreciate the comments you have made in this excellent review, it really gives potential visitors an idea of what to expect when they stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Keswick. Very best wishes Denise and...More

Reviewed 15 July 2016

Very much a home-from-home gaff: friendly, warm and welcoming, and every courtesy and comfort offered, despite one of our party insisting on calling Denise by another name..! Perfect location too, and plentiful breakfast on offer:- certainly a very positive review here!More

Thank Sue W
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you Sue for your review. We enjoyed meeting you all and are pleased you enjoyed your week with us. The banter in the breakfast room each morning was great fun - we do hope you will come back again and see us one day....More

Reviewed 10 July 2016

Just had another great holiday staying at Portland House. The room was clean and well equipped, lovely soft towels. The food was excellent as usual. We really enjoy our visits to Keswick and wouldn't stay anywhere else. There is so much to see and do...More

Thank jackieparkes17
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 11 July 2016

It was lovely to see you both again and that we were able to ride out on our motorbikes together. Thank you for posting another excellent review - we really appreciate it when returning guests post for us - it is a great recommendation to...More

Reviewed 2 July 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Lakes staying at Portland House. What a lovely, welcoming first class Bed and Breakfast we had the fortune to stay at! All the previous reviews for Portland House are so justified and more - Denise...More

Thank Margyrack50
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 3 July 2016

We certainly had a lot of laughs with you (starting with calling Denise Audrey!!) and enjoyed your company during your stay. Thank you for this excellent review, your great comments and best wishes. We hope to see you again one day, there will be more...More

Reviewed 2 July 2016

I have to agree with the most articulate review given by HannahT3274. My Husband and I travelled by Motorbike to Keswick for a 5 night stay at Portland House. Upon arrival, we were met by Denise and Rod and taken to the secure parking for...More

Thank Marmitelover1806
Response from Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and BreakfastResponded 3 July 2016

We are pleased to know that you are planning another trip - we both enjoyed meeting you and Rod is always looking for a chance to get out and ride his motorbike! Thank you for posting this review and your great comments, we look forward...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Keswick, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$52 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$52 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (13)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Shantanu N
26 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Rodden10 | Property representative |
Hi We have some limited parking but there is plenty of unrestricted on-road parking surrounding our house and guests do not have a problem. Hope that helps Denise
2
Votes
Room Tips
"I have taken a peek into other rooms as I have passed them when they are open and I would be equally happy to..."
Read review
"room 6 is fantastic"
Read review
"Room 1 is disabled access friendly on ground floor, Room 4 has double aspect views."
Read review
"We stayed on the 2nd floor and was excellent"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing