We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 929: English reviews
Start your review of North Lakes Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night at the North Lakes Hotel and Spa. We arrived early and the person behind reception was warm and welcoming and let us leave our bags with them so we could go out and explore the surrounding area and the lady gave us some ideas of where to go. So we headed out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tombrierley
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My friend and I had a night away. The location was perfect for us both being so close to the motorway network. Grim on the outside but surprisingly homely on the inside. I would recommend the girls night in, good value, although to say the DVD choice is out dated. Also to mention food is good, pricey on drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joyce b
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Have just returned from a two night stay for work. Has had a revamp and has a great atmosphere with lovely staff who are only to pleased to help. Really impressed with the food which was very good and the attentiveness of the restaurant staff. Great few days and will return when possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for a weekend just got ha k and we Could not fault this place very clean and cosy definitely will be returning in the future I can not stop thinking about the breakfast pancakes 🙈 Thanks for a great experience 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

You're more than welcome, hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is beautiful inside with lots of solid wood and stone and big log fires. The food, especially the cakes, was all very nice. The sandwiches were generously filled and had a good variety of contents. There was fruit cake that exactly moist and fruity enough and served with a strong hard cheese. There was a selection of dainty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony g
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the constructive feedback, which we take on board. Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tricky one this ..... my review is more for the hotel rather than future customers ! I was placed in a room on the third floor next door to a twin room with adjoining doors. This meant the sound proof was not as good! My complaint is more of a question ..... why did this hotel place a lone traveling...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Rachael A
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and i am sorry that you were disturbed by your neighbours. Thankfully this is the exception rather than to norm, although this of little consolation to yourself. Our lone female traveller policy extends to not allocating ground floor rooms, but you are right, we ought to look at allocation of interconnecting rooms with this in...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday just past. Very comfortable with the most pleasant staff throughout. We had dinner in the hotel on Saturday - excellent and good value. Breakfast was excellent too and I have no hesitation in fully recommending the North Lakes Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WilliamM M
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, especially about the team. Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night for husbands birthday x Hotel booked through booking.com .Hotel contacted us beforehand to ensure met requirements and sorted a little happy birthday plate on room on arrival.lovely touch. From booking in throughout all stay can honestly say all staff couldn't do enough ...even cleaners really friendly happy helpful. As previous reviews state ..quite plain on outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markrigby06
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

You're more than welcome, glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the review. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having read previous reviews I agree with the exterior being somewhat misleading as to the gem that lies ahead. From the minute we arrived it's been fabulous.. staff are all polite friendly and welcoming.. food and service was fab.. my thanks to all who made our last minute cheeky wee night away a fabulous one. Would certainly recommend and return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the North Lakes hotel last night for an event. My husband stupidly booked a twin took rather than a double....entirely his fault! However we had only one towel and no milk for a coffee the next morning. Not really what I expected.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Clairemcharris
Antony_Penny, General Manager at North Lakes Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies for the housekeeping oversights. I'm presuming you let us know at the time as they would be easily remedied? Kind regards

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
32.5 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
39.3 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
264 reviews
30.6 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
34.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,261 reviews
34.4 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The traditional hunting lodge style of the North Lakes Hotel & Spa, Penrith reflects the rugged beauty of the Lake District. Local stone, natural wood and open log fires create a genuine 'away from it all' environment in this exclusive 4 star resort hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about North Lakes Hotel & Spa

Address: Ullswater Road, Penrith CA11 8QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Price Range: $170 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North Lakes Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your North Lakes Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Lakes Hotel And Spa
North Lakes Penrith
North Lakes Hotel & Spa Penrith, UK - England
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Penrith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from North Lakes Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Wolsingham, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from North Lakes Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“with it's location I can't imagine any room having a spectacular view, but don't be put off”
 of 5 bubbles joycebJ632UX, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The suite is brilliant value with complimentary minibar”
 of 5 bubbles cazla2015, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Arrive early and use facilities on the day of check in and utilise late checkout.”
 of 5 bubbles edenamy, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If a couple, choose a family room for more space (worth the extra cost)”
 of 5 bubbles 922alimary, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not applicable, we only had lunch!”
 of 5 bubbles 849ericp, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5